Canadian Cyclist


July 18/22 17:36 pm - Cycling Canada Announces Team for BMX Worlds

Posted by Editor on 07/18/22

Cycling Canada has named a team of 12 Junior, Under-23 and Elite athletes to represent Canada at the upcoming UCI BMX World Championships, which will be held in Nantes, France, on July 26-31.

After a successful 2021 Championship that saw Teigen Pascual claim silver in the Junior women's race, Canadian athletes are looking forward to showcasing their skills again this year. Highlighting the team will be Olympian James Palmer, Under-23 World Cup gold medallist Molly Simpson and 2021 Elite National Champion Ryan Tougas, as well as 2021 Junior Canadian Champions Teigen Pascual and Max Ganakovsky.

"As the veteran on a team full of young guns, I'm thrilled to be selected for the World Championships," said Palmer. "This year has been an uphill battle getting back to the level I expect out of myself, but race by race we've been able to make strides forward and things are trending in the right direction which has me really excited for the opportunity to compete in France at the end of the month. With the new inclusion of the U23 class, I'm looking forward to watching and supporting our young superstars compete for the coveted rainbow stripes."

Challenge classes will be competing on July 26-29, while the Junior, U23 and Elite categories will be competing in the qualification and 1/8 rounds on Saturday, July 30th, with the Finals scheduled for Sunday.

Team Canada

Junior Women
Keira Murphy - Nanaimo, BC
Abygale Reeve - Airdrie, AB

Junior Men
Max Ganakovsky - Calgary, AB
Carson Kowaski - Innisfail, AB
Dylan Tremel - Calgary, AB

U23 Women
Teigen Pascual - Squamish, BC
Molly Simpson - Red Deer, AB

U23 Men
Edouard Brisebois - Saint-Marcelline-de-Kildare, QC
Curtis Krey - Etobicoke, ON
Ryan Tougas - Pitt Meadows, BC

Elite Men
Riley Lavorato - Lethbridge, AB
James Palmer - North Vancouver, BC

Coach - Adam Muys
Coach - Daina Tuchscherer
Medical - Jenn Turner


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.