Canadian Cyclist


May 25/01 1:11 am - l'Aude Report, Giro Stage 6

Posted by Editor on 05/25/01

Tour de l'Aude Report

This report courtesy of the team.

The 63 km stage saw a break of twelve riders attack from the gun. The break, containing's Julie Young along with several threats to the Yellow Jersey, drove hard to establish the early lead. The absence of Edita Pucinskaite (Alfa Lum), who began the stage in the Yellow Jersey 51 seconds ahead of Lyne Bessette, forced the chase from the Alfa Lum team. But the break worked so hard and fluently that it was not seen again. However, 8 riders were eventually dropped from the original break of 12 due to the brisk pace. The remaining 4 riders, Julie Young (, Lyne Bessette (Canadian National), Olga Slioussareva (Carpe Diem) and Judith Arndt (German National), continued their drive to the finish which ended with a 4 up sprint. Judith Arndt barely nipped's Julie Young at the line for the win. Slioussareva was 3rd and Lyne Bessette finished 4th but moves into the Yellow Jersey.

Giro d'Italia

Stage 6 - Nettuno to Rieti 150 km

1 Mario Cipollini (Ita) Saeco
2 Danilo Hondo (Ger) Deutsche Telekom
3 Massimo Strazzer (Ita) Mobilvetta
4 Mauro Gerosa (Ita) Tacconi Sport
5 Jeroen Blijlevens (Ned) Lotto-Adecco
6 Endrio Leoni (Ita) Alessio
7 Marco Zanotti (Ita) Liquigas-Pata
8 Alexis Rodriguez (Esp) Kelme-Costa Blanca
9 Gabriele Missaglia (Ita) Lampre-Daikin
10 Giuliano Figueras (Ita) Ceramiche Panaria-Fiordo all s.t.


1 Dario Frigo (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
2 Abraham Olano Manzano (Esp) O.N.C.E.-Eroski at 0:12
3 Gilberto Simoni (Ita) Lampre-Daikin 0:13
4 Wladimir Belli (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 0:17
5 Jose Azevedo (Por) O.N.C.E.-Eroski 0:19
6 Giuseppe Di Grande (Ita) Tacconi Sport 0:25
7 Jan Hruska (Cze) O.N.C.E.-Eroski 0:28
8 Vladimir Duma (Ukr) Ceramiche Panaria-Fiordo 0:33
9 Oscar Camenzind (Sui) Lampre-Daikin 0:35
10 Gabriele Colombo (Ita) Cantina Tollo 0:38
11 Andrea Noe (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step 0:42
12 Sergej Gonchar (Ukr) Liquigas-Pata 0:47
13 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Cantina Tollo 0:48
14 Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step 0:57
15 Ivan Gotti (Ita) Alessio 1:02
16 Giuliano Figueras (Ita) Ceramiche Panaria-Fiordo 1:03
17 Unai Osa Eizaguirre (Esp) 1:06
18 Marco Pantani (Ita) Mercatone Uno-Stream TV 1:09
19 Marco Velo (Ita) Mercatone Uno-Stream TV 1:15
20 Paolo Lanfranchi (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step 1:25


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.