Canadian Cyclist


May 29/01 5:01 am - Montreal World Cup, Mississauga Midweek, Somerville, Giro

Posted by Editor on 05/29/01

Montreal World Cup on TV

CBC will be broadcasting the Montreal Women's World Cup Road race which goes this weekend. The 90 minute show will be broadcast two weeks after the event on June 16th. Check local listings for the time.

Curt Harnett and myself will call the race and have featured interviews with Genvieve Jeanson, Lynne Bessette and other international riders taking part in the race.

Hope all your readers tune in.

Mark Connolly
CBC Sports Edmonton

La Bicicletta Midweek Novice Series 2001

Sponsors: Schwinn Canada, Trillium Foundation, City of Mississauga
Event # 4 01 05 28 Hershey Centre 34.0 km avg:33.3 km/h
Conditions: Cool, Sun and Cloud 13 deg C, wind: N 25 km/h

1. Rob GoodWaterlooMB1:01:15
2. Monir TahaInd.3at 2"
3. Gary HirschPavanMDst.
4. Bruce TelferInd.MAst.
5. Stuart McKayGears3st.
6. Anita LaglerSchwinnWst.
7. Hank VerhovenInd.3at 1:04
8. Steve HamiltonMadonnaMAst. (1 lap)
9. Ian BellInd.MAat 1:56 (1 lap)

1) Rob Good 2) Stuart McKay 3) Monir Taha
1) Rob Good 2) Stuart McKay 3) Monir Taha
1) Stuart McKay 2) Gary Hirsch 3) Monir Taha
9 Starters - 9 Finishers

Rain threatened but held off for the nine brave starters of the fifth Midweek Novice Race of the season. Waterloo Vet B Rob Good took the first two primes and sat in the pack allowing Stuart McKay to take the Gambler's Prime with a lap to go. After his strong effort to take the final prime Stuart faded in the last lap opening up the door for the first true sprint finish of the season. Rob Good took the victory after sprinting strongly during the entire race.

Reminder: There will be a Novice race at Downsview this Wednesday (May 30th) registration 5:30, start 6:00. There will be a race as usual at the Hershey Centre next Monday (June 4th) 7:00 pm start.

Thanks to Rider coach Pierre Perrin and to Peter McCaffery for help with putting on the race. Thanks to Sponsors La Bicicletta and Schwinn Canada for prizes and continued support.

O-Cup #3 - Welland Rose Festival
Tim Lefebvre

Date: Sunday June 3rd
Location: Chippawa Park Welland, Ontario ( 6 corner circuit race, slight uphill finish)

Start Times
Junior/Senior 3 - 9 a.m - 50km
Women/Masters - 10:15 a.m - 50km
Senior 1/2 - 11:30 a.m 85km

Spaghetti dinner and Awards ceremony to follow at church

Entry Fees : 20$ Cadet, 25$ Junior, 35$ all other categories

For more info please phone Willy Coyle @ 905 732 9704 or Tim Lefebvre @ 905 688 1296

More Somerville News
Courtesy P. Rowland

Canadians Stephanie and Andrea Hannos joined their USA team (Verizon Wireless - in full strength for the national criterium classic - Tour of Somerville - yesterday. With Julia Farrell "on loan" for the summer, the 3 Canadians provided aggressive attacks and did the yeoman's share of the load in keeping the other teams in check. After a long break initiated by Verizon Wireless rider Cindy Bauwens (BEL) and joined by Kristy Scrymgeour of Saturn was reeled in, Stephanie Hannos hammered at the front to keep sister Andrea and National Champion Laura Van Gilder in a safe and cozy spot; with a little bobble near the finish that sent a few riders tumbling to the pavement. Laura Van Gilder returned the favor of her teammate's hard efforts with a third place podium spot to Christi Underwood's win. Andrea was 8th, with four more riders "in the money". Julia Farrell took a tumble earlier, but her injuries did not require doctor's care (I'm ok mom).

The two sisters warmed up for Somerville in Hartford, CT on Sunday where they formed a sandwich around another Verizon Wireless rider (Yvonne Ilton) to go 1,2,3 in the women's open crit.

After top ten crit finishes at both the BMC Austin and Athens Twilight, Andrea Hannos has come to the US to duke it out with the best - look for her next week in Washington DC while Stephanie and the other half of the team competes in the Montreal World cup with a little help from Darnelle Moore and Julia Farrell, who will then do the New York Women's Challenge and the Philadelphia World Cup the following week.

Giro d'Italia

Stage 10 - Lido Di Jesolo to Ljubljana 212 km

1. Denis Zanette (Ita) Liquigas-Pata 5:16:21
2. Mario Manzoni (Ita) Alexia Alluminio at 0:03
3. Isidro Nozal Vega (Esp) O.N.C.E.-Eroski s.t.
4. Fabio Sacchi (Ita) Saeco Macchine Per Caffe 0:15
5. Andrej Hauptman (Slo) Tacconi Sport
6. Davide Casarotto (Ita) Alessio
7. Eddy Serri (Ita) Alexia Alluminio
8. Michele Gobbi (Ita) Mobilvetta Design
9. David Navas Chica (Esp) all s.t.
10. Renzo Mazzoleni (Ita) Team Colpack-Astro 5:17
11. Zoran Klemencic (Slo) Tacconi Sport 10:06
12. Massimo Strazzer (Ita) Mobilvetta Design
13. Stefano Casagranda (Ita) Alessio
14. Matteo Tosatto (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
15. Dario Frigo (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
16. Jan Hruska (Cze) O.N.C.E.-Eroski
17. Jeroen Blijlevens (Ned) Lotto-Adecco
18. Davide Bramati (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
19. Abraham Olano (Esp) O.N.C.E.-Eroski
20. Jose Azevedo (Por) O.N.C.E.-Eroski

35. Marco Pantani (Ita) Mercatone Uno-Stream TV
70. Jan Ullrich (Ger) Team Deutsche Telekom all s.t.


1. Dario Frigo (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 47:41:22
2. Jose Azevedo (Por) O.N.C.E.-Eroski at 0:03
3. Abraham Olano (Esp) O.N.C.E.-Eroski 0:14
4.. Gilberto Simoni (Ita) Lampre-Daikin 0:15
5. Wladimir Belli (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 0:19
6. Jan Hruska (Cze) O.N.C.E.-Eroski 0:30
7. Andrea Noe (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step 0:44
8. Giuliano Figueras (Ita) Ceramiche Panaria-Fiordo 0:45
9. Unai Osa Eizaguirre (Esp) 0:48
10. Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Cantina Tollo s.t.
11. Oscar Camenzind (Sui) Lampre-Daikin 0:59
12. Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
13. Pietro Caucchioli (Ita) Alessio both s.t.
14. Ivan Gotti (Ita) Alessio 1:04
15. Marco Pantani (Ita) Mercatone Uno-Stream TV 1:11
16. Hernan Buenahora (Col) Selle Italia-Pacific 1:15
17. Marco Velo (Ita) Mercatone Uno-Stream TV 1:17
18. Paolo Lanfranchi (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step 1:27
19. Carlos Contreras Cano (Col) Selle Italia-Pacific 1:31
20. Manuel Beltran Martinez (Esp) Mapei-Quick Step 1:37

66. Jan Ullrich (Ger) Team Deutsche Telekom 23:37


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.