Canadian Cyclist


May 11/23 12:06 pm - Top-10s for Johnston, Woods & Punchard in Opening MTB World Cup Race

Posted by Editoress on 05/11/23

The 2023 Mountain Bike World Cup began on Thursday evening at the traditional opening venue of Nove Mesto na Morave, Czechia, with the Short Track (XCC) for the Under-23 categories. Canadian riders put in strong performances, with Emilly Johnston (Trek Future Racing) finishing sixth in the women's race and Carter Woods (Giant Factory) eighth in the men. Cole Punchard was just behind Woods in ninth, while Owen Clark was 34th.

The women raced nine laps of this roughly 20 minute race, with Johnston always staying close to the front, and leading in the early laps. With her sixth place, two seconds behind Swiss winner Ronja Blochlinger (Liv Factory), Johnston picked up valuable UCI World Cup points and assured herself a spot on the front row for the start of Saturday's cross-country (XCO).

The men's race ran one lap longer than the women's, with Woods at or near the front for much of the race. With a lap and a half to go, the Canadian took the lead, before being overtaken with a lap to go after a huge surge by France's Adrien Boichis (Trinity Racing), who hung on for the win. Woods still managed to take eighth, and the final spot on the front row for Saturday's XCO. Punchard, after starting quite far back, managed to move up to the top-20 in the first few laps before dropping well back in the 30s. However, he then steadily worked his way back to the front group and, with his ninth place finish, will have a second row start on Saturday.


U23 Women, 9 laps
1 Ronja Blöchlinger (Sui) Liv Factory Racing 0:20:13
2 Noëlle Buri (Sui) Bixs Performance Race Team at 0:01
3 Heby Sofie Pedersen (Den) Wilier-Pirelli Factory Team XCO 0:01
4 Ella Maclean-Howell (GBr) 0:01
5 Kira Böhm (Ger) Cube Next Generation XC 0:01
6 Emilly Johnston (Can) Trek Future Racing 0:02
7 Adéla Holubová (Cze) Rouvy Specialized 0:02
8 Sina Van Thiel (Ger) Lexware Mountainbike Team 0:02
9 Madigan Munro (USA) Trek Factory Racing XC 0:02
10 Noemie Garnier (Fra) Scott Creuse Oxygene Gueret 0:03
11 Ginia Caluori (Sui) Thömus Akros-Youngstars 0:04
12 Tamara Wiedmann (Aut) Trek Future Racing 0:07
13 Rosa Van Doorn (Ned) 0:08
14 Samara Maxwell (NZl) 0:09
15 Bailey Cioppa (USA) 0:10
16 Giuliana Salvini Morgen (Bra) Sense Factory Racing 0:14
17 Matylda Szczecinska (Pol) Mmr Factory Racing Team 0:16
18 Flavie Guille (Fra) Team Performance Cycling 0:16
19 Monique Halter (Sui) Thömus Akros-Youngstars 0:17
20 Zuzana Safarova (Cze) Rouvy Specialized 0:23
21 Luisa Daubermann (Ger) 0:23
22 Gaia Tormena (Ita) 0:28
23 Clara Sommer (Aut) 0:28
24 Lucia Bramati (Ita) Trinx Factory Team 0:28
25 Lucia Gomez Andreu (Esp) MMR Factory Racing Team 0:29
26 Lea Huber (Sui) Trek Future Racing 0:29
27 Giulia Challancin (Ita) Scott Racing Team 0:29
28 Olivia Onesti (Fra) Rockrider Ford Racing Team 0:35
29 Sara Cortinovis (Ita) Santa Cruz Rockshox Pro Team 0:36
30 Finja Lipp (Ger) Ghost Factory Racing 0:41
31 Amélie Vazeille (Fra) Team Vosges KTM 0:44
32 Zoe Cuthbert (Aus) 0:45
33 Katharina Sadnik (Aut) KTM Factory MTB Team 0:47
34 Akari Kobayashi (Jpn) 0:49
35 Estibaliz Sagardoy Zunzarren (Esp) 0:57
36 Aneta Novotná (Cze) 1:09
37 Csenge Anna Bokros (Hun) 1:21
38 Eleftheria Giachou (Gre) 1:31
39 Isobel Elena Mcgorum (GBr) 1:41
40 Naomi Luria (Isr) 1:58
U23 Men, 10 laps
1 Adrien Boichis (Fra) Trinity Racing MTB 0:18:55
2 Riley Amos (USA) Trek Factory Racing XC at 0:02
3 Vedersø Oliver Sølvhøj (Den) 0:02
4 Bjorn Riley (USA) Trek Future Racing 0:03
5 Dario Lillo (Sui) Scott Davos MTB Project 0:03
6 Mathis Guay (Fra) KTM Factory MTB Team 0:05
7 Ole Sigurd Rekdahl (Nor) KMC MTB Racing Team 0:06
8 Carter Woods (Can) Giant Factory Off-Road Team-XC 0:06
9 Cole Punchard (Can) 0:07
10 Peter Joseph Blackmore (GBr) 0:07
11 Gustavo Xavier De Oliveira Pereira (Bra) 0:07
12 Lukas Malezsewski (Bel) Scott Creuse Oxygene Gueret 0:07
13 Jan Zatloukal (Cze) 0:08
14 Luke Wiedmann (Sui) Thömus Maxon 0:09
15 Jente Michels (Bel) Alpecin-Deceuninck 0:09
16 Luca Martin (Fra) Orbea Factory Team 0:10
17 Finn Treudler (Sui) Jb Brunex Superior Factory Racing 0:12
18 Oleksandr Hudyma (Ukr) KMC MTB Racing Team 0:12
19 Jakob Söderqvist (Swe) 0:13
20 Paul Schehl (Ger) Lexware Mountainbike Team 0:13
21 Matthew Wilson (NZl) Team Talley's-Kiwi MTB Collective 0:13
22 Tobias Lillelund (Den) Trek Future Racing 0:14
23 Heby Gustav Pedersen (Den) Wilier-Pirelli Factory Team XCO 0:14
24 Alex Junior Malacarne (Bra) Trinity Racing MTB 0:14
25 Alberto Barroso Gomez (Esp) 0:17
26 Francesc Barber Arguimbau (Esp) 0:22
27 Brayden Johnson (USA) 0:23
28 Jarne Vandersteen (Bel) 0:26
29 Lucas Grieco (Fra) Scott Creuse Oxygene Gueret 0:26
30 Mario Bair (Aut) Trek Future Racing 0:28
31 Janis Baumann (Sui) Team BMC 0:28
32 Caleb Bottcher (NZl) 0:57
33 André Eriksson (Swe) 1:02
34 Owen Clark (Can) 1:03
35 Viktor Lindqvist (Swe) 1:21
36 Nathan Cornillon (Fra) Creuse Mainsat Evaux 1:21
37 Duvan Nelson Peña Franco (Col) Hubbers-Polimedical Racing Team -1 Lap
38 Niko Heikkilä (Fin) -3 Laps
39 Jan Sáska (Cze) Massi -6 Laps
DNF Ethan Rose (NZl) Team Talley's-Kiwi MTB Collective


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.