Canadian Cyclist


January 31/24 14:29 pm - Canada Sends 23 Riders to Cyclo-cross Worlds [UPDATED]

Posted by Editoress on 01/31/24

Cycling Canada has announced a team of 23 riders that will represent Canada across the Junior, U23 and Elite categories at the 2024 UCI Cyclo-cross World Championships in Tabor, Czechia, on February 2-4.

The roster contains five 2023 Canadian Cyclo-cross Champions, including Juniors Rafaëlle Carrier (Women), Jayden McMullen (Men), Isabella Holmgren (Under-23 Women), Ava Holmgren (Elite Women) and Evan Russell (Elite Men), and was chosen following a full season of UCI World Cups and Canadian Championships. Seven Junior and U23 riders spent their holidays in Europe competing for the National Team at numerous international races, including two World Cups in Belgium, gaining valuable international experience.


Rafaelle Carrier


Jayden McMullen

Isabella Holmgren

Ava Holmgren

Ian Ackert

Evan Russell


Eleven National Team veterans - including 2023 Junior Cyclo-cross World Champion Isabella Holmgren, Junior silver medallist Ava Holmgren, 2023 Junior Cross-country Olympic (XCO) bronze medallist Ian Ackert and top-10 World Cup finishers Maghalie Rochette and Sidney McGill - will share their knowledge with their remaining 12 compatriots, for whom Tabor 2024 will be their very first World Championships.

"This is probably the strongest group of riders I've seen representing Canada at a Cyclo-cross World Championships," said National Team Coach Michael Van Den Ham. "I'm excited to see what they can accomplish not only this year but with so many new athletes, I’m excited to see how these Championships lay the foundation for the future as well."

Racing starts on February 2nd with the Team Relay and continues with individual races over the weekend.

Junior Women
Rafaëlle Carrier - Lac-Beauport, QC
Aislin Hallan - Peterborough, ON
Nico Knoll - Calgary, AB
Lily-Rose Marois - Lac-Beauport, QC
Dorothée Perron - Gatineau, QC

Junior Men
Alix Brunelle - Sherbrooke, QC
Lucas Goertz - Waterloo, ON
Felix-Antoine Leclair - St-Denis-de-Brompton, QC
Jayden McMullen - St. Thomas, ON
Tristan Taillefer - St-Denis-de-Brompton, QC

U23 Women
Jenaya Francis - Edmonton, AB
Ava Holmgren - Orillia, ON
Isabella Holmgren - Orillia, ON
Ella Myers - Calgary, AB
Madeleine Pollock - North Vancouver, BC

U23 Men
Cody Scott - Courtenay, BC
Ian Ackert - Severn, ON

Elite Women
Christiane Bilodeau - St. Albert, AB
Katelyn Walcroft - Collingwood, ON
Maghalie Rochette - Sainte-Adèle, QC
Sidney McGill - Edmonton, AB

Elite Men
Tyler Clark - Mono, ON
Evan Russell - Mill Bay, BC


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.