Canadian Cyclist


June 16/01 3:46 am - Beauce Classic, Vars Dual Cancelled, Dauphine

Posted by Editor on 06/16/01

La Classic du GP de Beauce - Quebec

This one day UCI ranked 160 kilometre classic was won a short time ago by Mapei-Quick Step's Elio Aggiano. Full results and story to follow.

1. Elio Aggiano (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step
2. Zbigniew Piatek (Pol) Mroz Supradyn Witaminy
3. Raimondes Vilcinskas (Pol) Mroz Supradyn Witaminy
4. Gord Fraser (Can) Mercury
5. Dominique Perras (Can) Team G.S. Ficonseils

More News from Vars Dual

Hi again from France. A poorly designed dual course turned into a muddy quagmire this evening as several storms rolled through. Fed up with the inconsistency of dual course standards, many of the riders held an emergency meeting at the bottom of the course to discuss a possible boycott. In the end they decided to race . . . but after only a few qualifying runs lightning and heavy rain started (memories of Bromont) so the second round of the 2001 World Cup Dual has been cancelled. This may mean that the final round in Ste.Anne will count for double the points.

The downhill course is holding up well in the rain, and should be fun to watch. Nico Vouilloz said that he is looking forward to a wet race because the course was fairly boring in the dry. Till tomorrow,

Warwick Patterson

Criterium du Dauphine Libere - France

Stage 6 - Pontcharra to Briancon 193 km

1 Iban Mayo (Esp) Euskaltel-Euskadi 5:40:01
2 Pavel Tonkov (Rus) Mercury-Viatel at 0:01
3 Christophe Moreau (Fra) Festina s.t.
4 Guennadi Mikhailov (Rus) Lotto-Adecco 1:23
5 Benoit Salmon (Fra) Ag2R Prevoyance s.t.
6 Sven Montgomery (Sui) La Francaise Des Jeux 1:31
7 Ruben Gonzalez (Chi) Euskaltel-Euskadi 1:40
8 Andrei Kivilev (Kaz) Cofidis 2:35
9 Denis Menchov (Rus) 2:40
10 Unia Etxebarria (Esp) Euskaltel-Euskadi s.t.

15 Axel Merckx (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites 6:49
47 Bobby Julich (USA) Credit Agricole 32:03


1 Christophe Moreau (Fra) Festina 25:20:54
2 Pavel Tonkov (Rus) Mercury-Viatel at 0:01
3 Benoit Salmon (Fra) Ag2R Prevoyance 1:58
4 Sven Montgomery (Sui) La Francaise Des Jeux 2:48
5 Andrei Kivilev (Kaz) Cofidis 4:00
6 Denis Menchov (Rus) 4:17
7 Unai Etxebarria (Ven) Euskaltel-Euskadi 4:39
8 Inigo Chaurreau (Esp) Euskaltel-Euskadi 6:27
9 Ruben Gonzalez (Chi) Euskaltel-Euskadi 7:09
10 Leonardo Piepoli (Ita) 7.11

11 Axel Merckx (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites 9:24
27 Chann McRae (USA) Mercury-Viatel 42:40
34 Bobby Julich (USA) Credit Agricole 49:32


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.