Canadian Cyclist


June 16/01 4:49 am - Beauce Classic Story

Posted by Editor on 06/16/01

La Classique de Quebec
with files from Kris Westwood & organizers

This one day race was held today around the island of Orleans, just outside of the city of Quebec. The riders headed out from Quebec to complete two loops around the island before heading back to the city, for a total of 165 kilometres. On the second loop of the island a group of 14 riders formed, including Canadians Gord Fraser (Mercury), Dominique Perras (Team G.S. Ficonseils), Eric Wohlberg (Saturn), Czeslaw Lukaszewicz (Team Canada) and Mark Walters (Navigators), plus Elio Aggiano (Mapei-Quick Step), Zbigniew Piatek and Raimondes Vilcinskas (both Mroz Supradyn Witaminy). The group was further split in the final kilometres when Vilcinskas, Piatek and Aggiano broke away on their own. With Mroz having a 2-man advantage at the front, they looked to be in good shape for the finish, until Vilcinskas flatted in the town of Beauport and received a slow change. In the final sprint, the Italian Aggiano proved to be too powerful for Piatek. Vilcinskas came in solo for third, and Fraser won the sprint in the chase group for fourth, followed by Perras.

1. Elio Aggiano (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step 3:32:48
2. Zbigniew Piatek (Pol) Mroz Supradyn Witaminy at 0:02
3. Raimondes Vilcinskas (Ltu) Mroz Supradyn Witaminy 0:19
4. Gord Fraser (Can) Mercury 0:33
5. Dominique Perras (Can) Team G.S. Ficonseils 0:35
6. Eric Wohlberg (Can) Saturn 0:45

7. Eugen Wacker (Ger) Mroz Supradyn Witaminy
8. Czeslaw Lukaszewicz (Can) Team Canada
9. Mark Walters (Can) Navigators all s.t.

10. Christophe Gauthier (Fra) Saint- Quentin Oktos 0:49

15. Ross Hooker (Can) Team Canada 7:02
23. Pierre-Olivier Boilly (Can) Equipe du Quebec 9:33
27. Andrew Pinfold (Can) Team Canada
29. Dominique Rollin (Can)
40. Martin Gilbert (Can) Volkswagen
45. Svein Tuft (Can) Team Canada all s.t.
50. Marc-Andre Salois (Can) Equipe du Quebec 9:47
51. Jacob Erker (Can) Team Canada
54. Mathieu Beliveau (Can) Equipe du Quebec
57. Josh Hall (Can)
60. Martin Nuckle (Can) Volkswagen
61. Alexandre Lavallee (Can) Team Canada
63. Corey Gladisch (Can) Volkswagen
66. Min Van Velzen (Can) Team Canada
67. Philippe Viau-Dupuis (Can) Equipe du Quebec
71. Francois Parisien (Can) Volkswagen
79. Andrew Randell (Can) 7 Up-Colorado Cyclist
84. Alexandre Cloutier (Can) Equipe du Quebec
87. Jean-Francois Racine (Can) Equipe du Quebec
89. Jean-Philippe Houle-Paradis (Can) Equipe du Quebec all s.t.
103. Jay Cory (Can) Volkswagen 10:19
107. Charles Dionne (Can) 7 Up-Colorado Cyclist 11:10
108. Bruno Langlois (Can) Volkswagen 11:27
DNF Chad Grochowina (Can)
DNF Martin St-Laurent (Can) Volkswagen

Tour of Luxembourg

Stage 4 - Bettembourg ITT 14.5 km

1 Raivis Belohvosciks (Lat) Lampre-Daikin 17:24
2 Serguei Ivanov (Rus) Fassa Bortolo at 0:13
3 Bart Voskamp (Ned) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus 0:18
4 Jorgen Bo Petersen (Den) Team Fakta s.t.
5 Levy Leipheimer (USA) U.S. Postal Service 0:20
6 Michael Blaudzun (Den) CSC-World Online 0:32
7 David Zabriskie (USA) U.S. Postal Service s.t.
8 Eddy Seigneur (Fra) Jean Delatour 0:35
9 Fred Rodriguez (USA) Domo-Farm Frites 0:39
10 Tony Bracke (Bel) Collstrop-Palmans s.t.

11 Benoit Joachim (Lux) U.S. Postal Service 0:41
14 Steffen Kjaergaard (Nor) U.S. Postal Service 0:46
21 Antonio Cruz (USA) U.S. Postal Service 0:57
54 Julian Dean (NZL) U.S. Postal Service 1:51
70 Jamie Drew (Aus) Mercury-Viatel 2:05
71 Erik Zabel (Ger) Team Deutsche Telekom s.t.
86 Johan Museeuw (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites 2:24
100 Peter Van Petegem (Bel) Mercury-Viatel 2:49


1 Jorgen Bo Petersen (Den) Team Fakta 12:13:51
2 Raivis Belohvosciks (Lat) Lampre-Daikin at 0:12
3 Fred Rodriguez (USA) Domo-Farm Frites 0:35
4 Benoit Joachim (Lux) U.S. Postal Service 0:51
5 Ivailo Gabrovski (Rus) Jean Delatour 0:55
6 Corey Sweet (Aus) Bankgiroloterij-Batavus 0:57
7 Steffen Kjaergaard (Nor) U.S. Postal Service 0:58
8 Rolf Aldag (Ger) Team Deutsche Telekom 1:07
9 Serguei Ivanov (Rus) Fassa Bortolo s.t.
10 Marcel Duijn (Ned) Rabobank 1:09

30 Antonio Cruz (USA) U.S. Postal Service 6:35
53 Julian Dean (NZL) U.S. Postal Service 7:29
61 Jamie Drew (Aus) Mercury-Viatel 7:44
62 Erik Zabel (Ger) Team Deutsche Telekom s.t.
72 Johan Museeuw (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites 8:02
79 Peter Van Petegem (Bel) Mercury-Viatel 8:27
83 Levy Leipheimer (USA) U.S. Postal Service 8:56
85 David Zabriskie (USA) U.S. Postal Service 9:08


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.