Canadian Cyclist


July 9/24 18:33 pm - Tour de France: Stage 10

Posted by Editoress on 07/9/24

Philipsen delivers Stage 10 win in Saint-Amand-Montrond with Help from van der Poel

A sublime finish from Jasper Philipsen gave the Alpecin–Deceuninck rider and 2023 winner of the green jersey an elegant of the bunch sprint in Saint-Amand-Montrond at the end of Stage 10.

Philipsen was expertly led out by his World Champion teammate Mathieu van der Poel to put him in a great position to beat Biniam Girmay (Intermarché-Wanty) and Pascal Ackermann (Israel-Premier Tech) to the line, for his first victory at this year's Tour.

On a relatively relaxed stage for the GC riders the threats of crosswinds strong enough to disrupt the peloton did not materialise and there were no changes amongst the top men.

After ten days of racing, Tadej Pogacar (UAE Team Emirates) remains in control of the Yellow Jersey, still 33s in front of Remco Evenepoel (Soudal Quick-Step) and 1:15 ahead of Jonas Vingegaard (Team Visma | Lease a Bike) in the general classification.

Derek Gee (Israel - Premier Tech) was top Canadisn on the stage, finishing 53rd in the same time as the winner and remains in 9th place in the overall at 4:02 back

Stage 10: Orléans to Saint-Amand-Montrond, 187.3 km
1 Jasper Philipsen (Bel) Alpecin - Deceuninck 4:20:06
2 Biniam Girmay (Eri) Intermarché - Wanty
3 Pascal Ackermann (Ger) Israel - Premier Tech
4 Wout Van Aert (Bel) Team Visma | Lease a Bike
5 Fernando Gaviria (Col) Movistar
6 Sam Bennett (Irl) Decathlon AG2R La Mondiale Team
7 John Degenkolb (Ger) Team dsm-firmenich PostNL
8 Phil Bauhaus (Ger) Bahrain - Victorious
9 Dylan Groenewegen (Ned) Team Jayco AlUla
10 Axel Zingle (Fra) Cofidas
53 Derek Gee (Can) Israel - Premier Tech
101 Guillaume Boivin (Can) Israel - Premier Tech
125 Hugo Houle (Can) Israel - Premier Tech all s.t.
1 Tadej Pogacar (Slo) UAE Team Emirates 40:02:48
2 Remco Evenepoel (Bel) Soudal Quick-Step 0:33
3 Jonas Vingegaard (Den) Team Visma | Lease a Bike 1:15
4 Primoz Roglic (Slo) Red Bull – BORA – hansgrohe 1:36
5 Juan Ayuso (Esp) UAE Team Emirates 2:16
6 Joao Almeida (Por) UAE Team Emirates 2:17
7 Carlos Rodriguez (Esp) INEOS Grenadiers 2:31
8 Mikel Landa (Esp) Soudal Quick-Step 3:35
9 Derek Gee (Can) Israel - Premier Tech 4:02
10 Matteo Jorgenson (USA) Team Visma | Lease a Bike 4:03
55 Hugo Houle (Can) Israel - Premier Tech 42:56
130 Guillaume Boivin (Can) Israel - Premier Tech 1:30:27

Tour de France: Stage 1

Houle 9th on Stage 2 of Tour de France

Tour de France: Stage 3

Pogacar Regains Yellow Jersey with Stage 4 Win

Cavendish's Win of Stage 5 Sets Record

Tour de France: Stage 6

Derek Gee Moves into Top 15 after Stage 7 of TDF

Another Win for Biniam Girmay on Stage 8

Derek Gee 3rd, Moved to 9th in GC after Stage 9 of TDF



Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.