Canadian Cyclist


June 22/01 9:46 am - Ontario News (O-Cup Road), Euro News

Posted by Editoress on 06/22/01

Presented by The London Centennial Wheelers
Courtesy Chris Helwig

Sunday July 8th, 2001
Thorndale (London) Ontario
Further event details to be posted at LCW

Registration opens at 7:30 am

CategoryStart TimeDistanceLapsEntry Fee
Junior Men9:00 am90 km5$20
Sr. 3 Men9:00 am90 km5$25
Cadet (male)9:02 am54 km3$20
Junior Women9:02 am54 km3$20
Women9:02 am90 km5$25
Master B/C/D
Men9:02 am90 km5$25
Sr. 1&2 Men11:40 am126 km7$30
Master A
Men11:42 am90 km5$2525

Chris Helwig Phone: (519) 691-0663


From 401 - Take Highbury Ave North exit 189(London)
Travel through London about 15km to Ballymote and lights at Medway Rd. Turn Right. Medway turns into Thorndale Rd. Continue traveling into Thorndale, Turn left on Fairview Rd. Travel North to Plover Mills Rd. Turn right at Plover Mills Rd. Registration and parking is at Plover Mills Public School on the right hand side of Plover Mills Rd. just after you turn.

Volta Ciclista a Catalunya - Spain

The "Volta" began Thursday with a team time trial, which was dominated by the men of Team ONCE-Eroski. The Spanish team showed their superiority over the 20.5 km course, which was raced in Sabadell. The second best time was posted by French Team Festina, which needed 47 additional seconds to cover the same route. The difficult terrain made things difficult for the teams to work together and brought some surprises. Due to the irregular nature of the route, some teams not known for their prowess against the clock, did better than expected, like in the case of Team Relax Fuenlabrada, which finished with a better time than teams US Postal (Roberto Heras) or Credit Agricole (Bobby Julich). The team with the third best time was Team Kelme.

STAGE 1 & G.C.
1. Marcos Serrano (ESP/Once Eroski) 25:13 for 20.5 km
2. Santos González (ESP/Once Eroski) s.t.
3. Jorg Jaksche (GER/Once Eroski) s.t.
4. Joseba Beloki (ESP/Once Eroski) s.t.
5. Igor González (ESP/Once Eroski) s.t.
6. Angel Luis Casero (ESP/Festina) at 0:47
7. Jaime javier Hernández (ESP/Festina) s.t.
8. Félix García (ESP/Festina) s.t.
9. Sven Teutenberg (GER/Festina) s.t.
10. Luis Pérez (ESP/Festina) s.t.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.