Canadian Cyclist


July 7/01 10:33 am - Track Nationals Day 2

Posted by Editor on 07/7/01

2001 Tim Hortons National Track Championships - Day 2
Courtesy Fiona Morrow - CCA

Edmonton, AB - Day 2 of the Tim Hortons National Track Championships, at the Argyll velodrome, produced Champions of all ages, under brilliant sunny skies.

A number of Alberta riders enjoyed top performances today, including Jim Fisher (senior men), Ryan McKenzie (junior men) and Gary Alexander (master "A" men) in the Kilo.

A number of other Championship events were decided today, including the junior and senior men's Olympic sprint, the senior men's team pursuit, the junior men's points race, and individual pursuits for senior men, junior women and master "B" men (full results below).

Tomorrow, the action continues with the finals in the 3000m Individual pursuit for junior men, master "A" men, and senior women. The final three points race categories will be the focus of the afternoon session. As well, Saturday we will see the remaining 2 rounds of the match sprints for all categories. The initial rounds have been extremely exciting. Edmonton's Lori-Ann Muenzer and Steen Madsen have both exhibited top form, and appear to be the early favourites to reach the championship round.

The weather predictions continue to look promising for the remaining 2 days of competition.

Friday (July 6)

500 ITT - Master B Men
Gold- Rob Good, ON
Silver-Mark Emery, BC
Bronze- Ted Ritter, BC

Kilo-Junior Men
Gold- Ryan McKenzie, AB
Silver- Cameron Evans, BC
Bronze- Nick Corcoran, AB

Kilo - Master "A" Men
Gold- Gary Alexander, AB
Silver- Jay Murray, BC
Bronze- Colin Walsh, AB

Kilo - Senior Men
Gold- Jim Fisher, AB
Silver- Tyler Hansen, BC
Bronze- Keith Bruneay, BC

Points Race - Junior Men
Gold- Cameron Evans, BC
Silver- Olivier Trempe
Bronze- Ryan Macnamara

Individual Pursuit - Senior Men
Gold- Mark Ernsting, BC
Silver-Alex Cloutier, QC
Bronze- Robert Veroba, AB

Individual Pursuit - Junior Women
Gold- Laura Yoisten, AB
Silver-Genevieve Leblanc, QC
Bronze- Magalie Boulay, QC

Individual Pursuit - Master "B" Men
Gold - Ted Ritter, BC
Silver- Mark Emery, BC
Bronze - Tom McKee, AB

Olympic Sprint - Junior Men
Gold- Alberta: Cameron MacKinnon, Ryan McKenzie, Nick Corcoran
Silver- Quebec: Frederick Millette, Olivier Trempe, Pascal Tetreault
Bronze- Olympic Oval: Eric Holland, Andrew Davidson, Spencer Atkinson

Olympic Sprint - Senior Men
Gold- Alberta: Paulo Ongaro, Jim Fisher, Doug Baron (Lars Madson)
Silver- Composite Team: Brooks Rapley, Mike McCorkell, Travis Smith
Bronze - PVL Forte: Keith Bruneau, Tyler Hansen, Sam Whittington

Team Pursuit - Senior Men
Gold - Quebec: Alex Cloutier, Cedric Giroux, Pierre-Olivier Boily, Martin Gilbert
(*Only 2 teams were entered for this event.)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.