Canadian Cyclist


July 21/01 10:47 am - Tour Stage 13

Posted by Editor on 07/21/01

Tour de France

It looks like Lance Armstrong has taken over the yellow jersey after a stage with 4 category 1 climbs, one category 2 and a finish atop a Hors Category (Beyond Category) climb. The day began with a break containing Laurent Jalabert and Stefano Garzelli going away at the 26 kilometre mark. Jalabert dropped his breakaway companions and went solo until Armstrong motored by him with 5 kilometres to go on the final climb. Armstrong and Ullrich had worked together chasing down first Garzelli and then, with 6 kilometres left, Armstrong attacked and, as we have seen multiple times in this Tour, Ullrich could only watch.

Ullrich finished at 1 minute. Joseba Beloki beat Armstrong's team mate Roberto Heras for third at 1:46. Garzelli hung on for 5th at 2:29. Igor Gonzalez De Galdeano was 6th at 2:52, and a struggling Jalabert 7th at 3:12 (he has taken over the Climber's Polka Dot Jersey). Andrei Kivilev finished 10th at 4:02, and will remain in second, to new leader Armstrong, while Ullrich will move into fourth, just behind former leader Francois Simon.

Stage 13 - Foix to Saint-Lary-Soulan 194 km

1 Lance Armstrong (USA) US Postal Service 5:44:22
2 Jan Ullrich (Ger) Telekom at 1:00
3 Joseba Beloki (Esp) ONCE-Eroski 1:46
4 Roberto Heras (Esp) US Postal Service s.t.
5 Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step 2:29
6 Igor Gonzalez De Galdeano (Esp) ONCE-Eroski 2:52
7 Laurent Jalabert (Fra) CSC - Tiscali 3:12
8 Marcos Serrano (Esp) ONCE-Eroski 3:15
9 Inigo Chaureau (Esp) Euskaltel-Euskadi 3:25
10 Andrei Kivilev (Kaz) Cofidis 4:02
11 Santiago Botero (Col) Kelme-Costa Blanca 4:46
12 Oscar Sevilla (Esp) Kelme-Costa Blanca 5:46
13 Francisco Mancebo (Esp) 6:03
14 Alexandre Botcharov (Rus) Ag2R-Prevoyance s.t.
15 Didier Rous (Fra) Bonjour 6:59
16 Alexandre Vinokourov (Kaz) Telekom s.t.
17 Michael Boogerd (Ned) Rabobank 7:14
18 Daniel Atienza (Esp) Cofidis 7:29
19 Jose Luis Rubiera (Esp) US Postal Service 7.42
20 Giuseppe Guerini (Ita) Telekom 8:59


1 Lance Armstrong (USA) US Postal Service 57:49:26
2 Andrei Kivilev (Kaz) Cofidis at 3:54
3 Francois Simon (Fra) Bonjour 4:31
4 Jan Ullrich (Ger) Telekom 5:13
5 Joseba Beloki (Esp) ONCE-Eroski 6:02
6 Igor Gonzalez De Galdeano (Spa) ONCE-Eroski 10:42
7 Oscar Sevilla (Esp) Kelme-Costa Blanca 13:24
8 Santiago Botero (Col) Kelme-Costa Blanca 15:00
9 Marcos Serrano (Esp) ONCE-Eroski 17:23
10 Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Mapei-Quick Step 17:26


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.