Canadian Cyclist


September 11/01 8:19 am - 2003 Road Worlds Board Announced

Posted by Editor on 09/11/01

2003 World Road Cycling Championships

It has been a busy day with cancelled flights and press conferences keeping us hopping. So we are working at catching up.

Rob and I were both able to attend the press conference in Hamilton today, where the Minister of Canadian Heritage, Sheila Copps announced the Board of Directors and the Board of Governors for the 2003 World Road Cycling Championships. Hein Verbruggen, President of the UCI, was also on hand for the announcement and a tour of the course. Rob spoke with Mr Verbruggen and will post his interview tomorrow.

The Board of Governors will be responsible for providing general guidance and advice and for acting as high-profile ambassadors for the event.

The Board of Directors - will be responsible for overseeing the day-to-day coordination of the Championships.


Giuseppe Ferrara, businessman
Giancarlo Serrafero, businessman

The Board of Governors

Israel Harold Asper, businessman
Brad Clark, Provincial Minister of Transportation
Sheila Copps, Minister of Canadian Heritage
Charmaine Crooks, IOC member, Olympic Athlete
André Desmerais, businessman
Francis Fox, businessman
Curt Harnett, former Olympic Athlete
Ron Joyce, businessman
Eugene Levy, actor
Harrison McCain, businessman
Jim Pattison, businessman
Heather Reisman, businesswoman
Serge Savard, former NHL hockey player
Martin Short, actor/comedian
Belinda Stronach, businesswoman
Dave Thomas, actor/writer/filmaker
Robert Wade, Mayor of Hamilton
Donald J.P. Ziraldo, businessman

Working Board of Directors

Terry Anderson, Founder of Anderson Insurance Brokers
David Braley, President of Orlick Industries and owner of B.C. Lions CFL Football Team
Steve Bauer, former professional and Olympic cyclist
Raffaella Candiotto, Manager of Community Relations for the Mayor's Office of Hamilton
Cecelia Carter Smith, four-time Canadian Champion in Athletics and former teacher
Jim Crosscombe, President of the OCA
Ron Foxcroft, President of Fluke Transport and Warehousing, and inventor of the Fox-40 pealess whistle
Brian Jolly, President of the CCA
Marie Moliner, Ontario Regional Executive Director, Department of Canadian Heritage
George Papadopoulos, Associate at Buzzelli & Company, Chartered Accountants in Hamilton
Thérèsa Quigley, Director of Athletics and Recreation, McMaster University
Larry Russel, President of Russco Ltd.

According to David Braley, the Board of Directors may increase to as many as 20 members. The Board will put together sub-committees to deal with such functions as Finance.

(left to right) - Board Chair David Braley, Minister Sheila Copps, rider Michael Barry, UCI President Hein Verbruggen and CCA Director of National Racing Programs Pierre Hutsebaut.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.