Canadian Cyclist


October 5/01 9:15 am - Team Rona, 'Cross (Alberta, Ontario, Sask.), Canadian World Record

Posted by Editor on 10/5/01

Team Rona Signs Freedman

According to her website, Nicole Freedman, 2001 U.S. National Criterium champion, has signed with Team Rona.

Courtesy Jim Perry -

Alberta 'Cross
Courtesy Andy Holmwood

The Alberta cyclo-cross season gets underway this Sunday with the Juventus Cyclo-cross race in Edmonton. The provincial calendar features five races this season, culminating with the National Championships, November 4th in Edmonton. Riders will again this year be competing for the coveted Alberta Cyclo-cross Cup, with each provincial event awarding points in the various categories.

Juventus Cyclo-cross
Sunday, October 7
Argyll Velodrome, Edmonton

First Start - 10:00 am
Master 'cross (cyclo-cross bikes only)
Mountain 'cross (mountain bikes only)

Second Start - 11:00 am
Junior 'cross ('cross and mountain bikes)
Women 'cross ('cross and mountain bikes)

Third Start - 12:00 pm
Open 'cross ('cross bikes only)

Entry Fee - $15
Sign-on opens at 9:00 am.

2nd Annual Oakville Cycling Club Cyclo-Cross Series - Ontario
Courtesy Joe Marangi

Event # 1 ˆ Sunday October 14

Hilton Falls
Registration is at 9:30am, race starts at 10:00am (proceed to front entrance)
Race Duration is 1 hour
Must be a member of an OCA affiliated club or have OCA insurance through a valid Race license.
For directions see:

Event #2 ˆ Sunday October 21

Bronte Creek Provincial Park

Registration is at 9:30am, race starts at 10:00am (please proceed to parking lot C)
Race duration is 1 hour
Must be a member of an OCA affiliated club or have OCA insurance through a valid Race license.
For directions see:

- Entry fee is $10 per event
- Prizes will be determined by field. 50% of entry fees will be distributed out as cash prizes.
- Guaranteed entry for members of Oakville, Hamilton and Brampton Cycling Clubs. All others must RSVP .
- To RSVP please e-mail with your info and which event(s) you would like to enter.
- As a courtesy to other riders, please only RSVP for the events that you know you can attend.

We are not asking for any pre-race $. Your word will suffice.

- RSVP's are on a first come, first served basis.
- Maximum number of guests will be 40 riders.
- Mountain Bikes will be permitted.
- You will receive a confirmation or decline via e-mail.

Saskatoon Cyclo-cross Series

CX3: Diefenbaker Park

A Race (50 min + 1 lap)
1Robin BaillieSaskatoon1:00:04
2Shawn BunninSaskatoon1:00:54
3Jimmy OneschukSaskatoon1:03:43
4Kevin WilliamsSaskatoon1:03:49
5Bob HawboldtSaskatoon1:04:26
6Gordie BoykoSaskatoon1:04:46
7Newell HedstromSaskatoon1:05:43
8Brad KerrRegina1:01:27+1 lap
9Mark RussellSaskatoon1:01:47+1 lap
10Mike McIntyreRegina1:02:09+1 lap
11Dan DyckSaskatoon1:04:04+1 lap
12Jim ReidSaskatoon1:07:00+1 lap
13Roger BlumSaskatoon1:07:32+1 lap
14Sarah RobbinsSaskatoon1:07:48+1 lap
15Kevin WoodardRegina1:08:02+1 lap
16Brenda ReidSaskatoon1:07:48+1 lap
17Shane BurwellSaskatoon1:00:19+2 laps
18Carl BunninSaskatoon1:02:12+2 laps
19Eugene TimmermansWarman1:04:36+2 laps
20Sarah WilliamsSaskatoon1:05:37+2 laps
21Chris JensenSaskatoonDNF
B Race (30 min + 1 lap)
1Andria DyckSaskatoon40:58
2Bonnie GrattonSaskatoon42:16
3Hans RoegerSaskatoon42:50
4Erica MusyjSaskatoon46:40
5Andrea BunninSaskatoon49:56
6Patty TetseaultPrince Albert41:52+1 lap
7Alana CassidyPrince Albert41:54+1 lap
8Martha GuySaskatoon42:36+1 lap
9Phillip KarnesSaskatoon43:52+1 lap
10Susan ClarkeSaskatoon45:54+1 lap
C Race (2 laps)
1Lilianna LipkaSaskatoon27:03
2Andrea GrzesinaPrince Albert29:28
3Heather FitzSaskatoon30:02

Sam Whittingham Beats World Cycling Speed Record
Courtesy Gavin MacPhail

Quadra Island native and Victoria B.C. resident, Sam Whittingham, has unofficially shattered his own world record at the 2001 World Human Powered Speed Challenge, travelling the incredible speed of 76.6 mph.

Sam was piloting the Varna Diablo created by George Georgiev of Gabriela Island.

Competitors at this year's event include Sydney Olympic gold and silver medallist Jason Queally of Great Britain. Queally won the 1 km time trial and was second in the team pursuit.

For more details check


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.