Canadian Cyclist


October 22/01 9:23 am - Burnaby Velodrome Update, Herald Sun Tour, New Brunswick, New Zealand

Posted by Editor on 10/22/01

Burnaby Velodrome Update

Hello everybody. Just wanted to update and encourage any and all that are interested in showing solidarity in support of saving the velodrome at the Harry Jerome Sports Centre. On Monday evening, Oct 22 there will be a Burnaby City Council meeting at 6:30 PM. All are asked to arrive as close as possible to this time as there are preliminary items with the meeting starting promptly at 7PM. The meeting is located at Burnaby City Hall. You can access this from HWY#1 by taking the Kensington Ave South exit when coming from the east and the Sprott Rd exit ( directly on to Norland ) when coming from the west. Both ways will lead you to Canada Way and you want to head west on Canada Way to the intersection of Canada Way and Norland then head south on Deer Lake Park Pl. Burnaby Central School will be on your right and the City Hall is directly across the street. Park in the school lot if the City Hall lot is full. The address of the City Hall is 4949 Canada Way.

The group working to save the velodrome has a 10 minute presentation that will be made by a maximum of two spokespeople already chosen. While you will not be allowed to comment at the meeting your letters of support will be included in the documents we will submit to council and your presence will be invaluable in helping to save this unique cycling facility so crucial to the development of our sport.

Thanks, Jeremy Storie

Herald Sun Tour - Australia

Stage 7 - Yarrawonga to Echuca 180 km

1 Henk Vogels (Aus) Jayco 4:12:45
2 Dave McCook (USA) Australia Post
3 Bart Heirewegh (Bel) Foster's Lightice
4 Bart Hickson (Aus) Caravello
5 Remigius Lupeikis (Ltu) Echuca-Moama
6 David McCann (Irl) Latrobe City all s.t.
7 Rik Reinerink (Ned) Southern Grampians at 0:06
8 Baden Burke (Aus) AH Plant - Caffe Paesano 0:37
9 Tommy Evans (Irl) Latrobe City
10 Brett Lancaster (Aus) Jayco

39 Eric Wohlberg (Can) Australia Post all s.t.


1 Peter Wrolich (Aut) Ballarat-Eureka! 18:13:54
2 Steve Williams (Aus) NSW Institute Of Sport at 0:34
3 Zbigniew Piatek (Pol) Echuca-Moama 3:13
4 Peter Dawson (Aus) Foster's Lightice 5:37
5 Remigius Lupeikis (Ltu) Echuca-Moama 5:57
6 Tomas Buchacek (Cze) Custom Fleet 7:36
7 Trent Wilson (Aus) Custom Fleet 7:48
8 Peter Milostic (Aus) Active For Life 8:22
9 David McKenzie (Aus) Jayco 10:14
10 Tommy Evans (Irl) Latrobe City 10:20

16 Eric Wohlberg (Can) Australia Post 11:39

VeloNB Annual General Meeting
Courtesy Aaron Hershoff

This past weekend VeloNB held its AGM, in Dieppe at the Training Centre.

The primary purpose of this meeting was to elect positions on the Board and report to the membership on the management of the organization.

The following people were re-elected to their positions:

President - Aaron Hershoff
Technical Director (Coaching and Commisaire) - André Ouellette
Secretary - Jill Lloyd

VeloNB would like to welcome the following people to its board:

Marketing and Publicity - Rachelle Dupuis
Transportation and Recreation - Bob Lloyd

The Board positions not up for election this year included:

Vice President - Brad Fulford
Road Chair - Brian Mckeown
MTB Chair - Bev Bunker
Women's Voice - Jane McKeown
Treasurer - Darlene Munn

More information and items presented at the AGM to be outlined on the VeloNB web site shortly.

New Zealand News

Sheri Ja sent us a note:

Here is some New Zealand cycling news with a Canadian slant:

Meshy Holt ( Rona) has won both the National ITT and RR. Brendon Cameron ( has won the National ITT (he was a DNF in the road race).


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.