Canadian Cyclist


March 10/02 3:48 am - More Visalia News, Paris-Nice, Murcia

Posted by Editor on 03/10/02

Visalia News

We had a quick call from Sue Palmer and her husband Chris Komar (who was managing the Talgos squad at Visalia), to fill us in on some details of yesterday's road race.

Saturn sent Ina Tuetenberg off early, to force other teams to chase, and set the stage for a later, bridging effort by Lyne Bessette. Things didn't work out quite as planned, when no teams except Diet Rite would chase.

Teutenberg's gap was a 'safe' two minutes, however, the peloton was moving so slowly that the Cat. 3 men began to catch them, and the field was neutralized. Teutenberg wasn't neutralized, so the gap zoomed to 5 minutes.

Bessette made her expected attack on the final lap, and Palmer and 4 others broke away in the chase. Canadians Nicole Demars and Cybil DiGuistini, plus Patricia Chew and Tina Mayolo-Pic were the other members of the chase. By the top of the main climb of the 14 kilometre lap, the gap was 25 seconds between bessette and the chasers, with the peloton a further 20 seconds behind. DiGuistini, in the words of Komar "buried herself" in an effort to bring her Diet Rite teammate Mayolo-Pic into contention, and the gap hovered at the 40-50 second mark.

On the final 1.5 kilometre climb (approximately 4 kilometres before the finish), Palmer set the pace, with DiGuistini coming off. Bessette could not be reeled in, however, and finished second behind her teammate Teutenberg. Mayolo-Pic, as expected won the sprint for second, with Palmer finishing 6th and Demars 4th. Palmer's teammate Anne Samplonius finished 12th. Missing from the race was Rona (except for Nicole Freedman). The thinking is that they are concentrating on preparation for Redlands - expect a battle royal here and at Sea Otter between Genevieve Jeanson and Lyne Bessette.

Paris-Nice - France

Prologue - Issy-les-Moulineaux ITT 5.2 km

1 Laszlo Bodrogi (Hun) Mapei-Quick Step 6:56
2 Didier Rous (Fra) Bonjour s.t.
3 Javier Pascual (Esp) at 0:04
4 Nico Mattan (Bel) Cofidis
5 Juan Carlos Dominguez (Esp) Phonak Hearing Systems
6 Andreas Kloeden (Ger) Team Telekom
7 Alberto Martinez (Esp) Euskaltel-Euskadi all s.t.
8 Dario Frigo (Ita) Tacconi Sport 0:05
9 Nicolas Jalabert (Fra) Team CSC Tiscali
10 Alex Zuelle (Sui) Team Coast
11 Mikel Pradera (Esp) ONCE-Eroski all s.t.
12 Inigo Cuesta (Esp) Cofidis 0:06
13 Laurent Jalabert (Fra) Team CSC Tiscali
14 Max Van Heeswijk (Ned) Domo-Farm Frites both s.t.
15 Robbie McEwen (Aus) Lotto-Adecco 0:07
16 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 0:08
17 Angel Vicioso (Esp) Kelme 0:09
18 Laurent Brochard (Fra) Jean Delatour 0:10
19 Peter Luttenberger (Aut) Tacconi Sport
20 Alexandre Vinokourov (Kaz) Team Telekom both s.t.

21 Jens Voigt (Ger) Credit Agricole 0.11
22 Peter Van Petegem (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
23 Bobby Julich (USA) Team Telekom both s.t.
46 Axel Merckx (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites 0:17
76 Richard Virenque (Fra) Domo-Farm Frites 0:23
78 Fernando Escartin (Esp) Team Coast 0:24
89 Cadel Evans (Aus) Mapei-Quick Step 0:25

Vuelta a Murcia- Spain

Stage 5 - Murcia ITT 12.9 km

1 Rene Andrle (Cze) ONCE-Eroski 15:22
2 Rubens Bertogliati (Sui) Lampre-Daikin at 0:02
3 Victor Hugo Pena (Col) U.S. Postal 0:09
4 Jan Hruska (Cze) ONCE-Eroski 0:10
5 Grischa Niermann (Ger) Rabobank 0:16
6 Thomas Liese (Ger) Team Nurnberger 0:18
7 Levi Leipheimer (USA) Rabobank 0:19
8 Oscar Camenzind (Sui) Phonak Hearing Systems s.t.
9 Javi Pascual Llorente (Esp) Kelme-Costa Blanca 0:21
10 Claus Michael Moller (Den) Milaneza-MSS 0:26
11 Iker Camano (Esp) Phonak Hearing Systems 0:28
12 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Saeco-Longoni Sport 0:30
13 Abraham Olano (Esp) ONCE-Eroski
14 Gabriele Missaglia (Ita) Lampre-Daikin both s.t.
15 Roberto Heras (Esp) U.S. Postal 0:33
16 Gorka Beloki (Esp) ONCE-Eroski 0:36
17 Jose Ivan Gutierrez (Esp) 0:37
18 Torsten Hiekmann (Ger) Team Deutsche Telekom 0:40
19 Xavier Florencio (Esp) ONCE-Eroski s.t.
20 Rafael Diaz (Esp) ONCE-Eroski 0:43

26 Jose Luis Rubiera (Esp) U.S. Postal 0:54
60 Kevin Livingston (USA) Team Deutsche Telekom 1:31
85 Marco Pantani (Ita) Mercatone Uno 2:02
108 Matthew White (Aus) U.S. Postal 4:32

Final GC

1 Victor Hugo Pena (Col) U.S. Postal 16:49:36
2 Jan Hruska (Cze) ONCE-Eroski at 0:05
3 Oscar Camenzind (Sui) Phonak Hearing Systems 0:10
4 Grischa Niermann (Ger) Rabobank 0:11
5 Levi Leipheimer (USA) Rabobank 0:14
6 Javi Pascual Llorente (Esp) Kelme-Costa Blanca 0:16
7 Danilo Di Luca (Ita) Saeco-Longoni Sport 0:17
8 Claus Michael Moller (Den) Milaneza-MSS 0:18
9 Gabriele Missaglia (Ita) Lampre-Daikin 0:25
10 Angel Edo (Esp) Milaneza-MSS 0:26
11 Jose Ivan Gutierrez (Esp) 0:32
12 Alessandr Spezialetti (Ita) Saeco-Longoni Sport 0:46
13 Francisco Cabello (Esp) Kelme-Costa Blanca s.t.
14 Matthias Kessler (Ger) Team Deutsche Telekom 0:47
15 Victoriano Fernandez (Esp) Milaneza-MSS 0:48
16 Jose Luis Rubiera (Esp) U.S. Postal 0:49
17 David Etxebarria (Esp) Euskaltel-Euskadi 0:50
18 Benjamin Noval (Esp) Colchon Relax-Fuenlabrada 0:53
19 Jens Heppner (Ger) Team Deutsche Telekom 0:57
20 Joan Horrach (Esp) Milaneza-MSS 1:11

23 Abraham Olano (Esp) ONCE-Eroski 1:56
29 Roberto Heras (Esp) U.S. Postal 2:28
57 Marco Pantani (Ita) Mercatone Uno 12:49
88 Matthew White (Aus) U.S. Postal 23:04
92 Kevin Livingston (USA) Team Deutsche Telekom 24:46


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.