Canadian Cyclist


March 13/02 5:17 am - Jeanson Wins Redlands Stage 1, Paris-Nice

Posted by Editor on 03/13/02

Jeanson Takes Lead at Redlands

Genevieve Jeanson (Rona) has taken the lead at the Redlands Classic after winning the 5.7 kilometre first stage time trial. Jeanson beat German Judith Arndt (Saturn) by approximately 41 seconds, with Saturn's Lyne Bessette third. Another Canadian, Sue Palmer-Komar (Talgo America) was 5th.

"I was surprised about my time", said Jeanson. "It was faster then last year (by 22 seconds). I set my goal (to be faster), but I thought that it would be very hard. The course is a great one, very exciting with lots of turns, some climbing and a descent."

Jeanson skipped some of the other races leading up to Redlands, such as Visalia, but she thinks it was the right decision. "I thought about it (doing the other races), but I decided it was best to prepare the same way as last year (when she completely dominated the race). Now we (her Rona team) has to get ready for tomorrow, so that we can protect our position."

1. Genevieve Jeanson (Can) Rona 9:25
2. Judith Arndt (Ger) Saturn 10:06
3. Lyne Bessette (Can) Saturn 10:18
4. Petra Rossner (Ger) Saturn 10:22
5. Sue Palmer-Komar (Can) Talgo America 10:23

The men are on course now.

Paris-Nice - France

Stage 3 - Saint-Etienne 147.5 km

1 Laurent Jalabert (Fra) Team CSC Tiscali 3:59:29
2 Didier Rous (Fra) Bonjour
3 Aitor Osa (Esp) both s.t.
4 Peter Van Petegem (Bel) Lotto-Adecco at 0:10
5 Jo Planckaert (Bel) Cofidis
6 Alexandre Vinokourov (Kaz) Team Telekom
7 Paolo Bossoni (Ita) Tacconi Sport
8 Laurent Dufaux (Sui) Alessio
9 Dario Frigo (Ita) Tacconi Sport
10 Samuel Sanchez (Esp) Euskaltel-Euskadi
11 Peter Luttenberger (Aut) Tacconi Sport
12 Cadel Evans (Aus) Mapei-Quick Step
13 Denis Menchov (Rus)
14 Dave Bruylandts (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites
15 Chris Peers (Bel) Cofidis
16 Jens Voigt (Ger) Credit Agricole
17 Stephane Heulot (Fra) Bigmat.Auber 93
18 Richard Virenque (Fra) Domo-Farm Frites
19 Juan Carlos Dominguez (Esp) Phonak Hearing Systems
20 Christopher Jenner (NZL) Credit Agricole

24 Axel Merckx (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites
28 Alex Zuelle (Sui) Team Coast
31 Fernando Escartin (Esp) Team Coast all s.t.
107 Bobby Julich (USA) Team Telekom 8:38


1 Didier Rous (Fra) Bonjour 13:11:13
2 Laurent Jalabert (Fra) Team CSC Tiscali at 0:02
3 Javier Pascual Rodriguez (Esp) 0.20
4 Juan Carlos Dominguez (Esp) Phonak Hearing Systems
5 Andreas Kloden (Ger) Team Telekom both s.t.
6 Dario Frigo (Ita) Tacconi Sport 0:21
7 Alex Zuelle (Sui) Team Coast s.t.
8 Inigo Cuesta (Esp) Cofidis 0:22
9 Aitor Osa (Esp) 0:24
10 Angel Vicioso (Esp) Kelme 0:25
11 Peter Luttenberger (Aut) Tacconi Sport 0:26
12 Alexandre Vinokourov (Kaz) Team Telekom s.t.
13 Jens Voigt (Ger) Credit Agricole 0:27
14 Peter Van Petegem (Bel) Lotto-Adecco
15 David Moncoutie (Fra) Cofidis both s.t.
16 Laurent Dufaux (Sui) Alessio 0:28
17 Mario Aerts (Bel) Lotto-Adecco 0:29
18 Luis Perez (Esp) Team Coast 0:30
19 Christopher Jenner (NZL) Credit Agricole 0:32
20 Stephane Heulot (Fra) Bigmat.Auber 93 s.t.

24 Axel Merckx (Bel) Domo-Farm Frites 0:33
35 Richard Virenque (Fra) Domo-Farm Frites 0:39
36 Fernando Escartin (Esp) Team Coast 0:40
38 Cadel Evans (Aus) Mapei-Quick Step 0:41
99 Bobby Julich (USA) Team Telekom 8:55


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.