Canadian Cyclist


April 22/02 6:59 am - North Shore Enduro, Quebec Results, Jeanson Wins

Posted by Editor on 04/22/02

North Shore Enduro
Courtesy Richard Juryn

The Lower Mainland and the North Shore are home to some of the most passionate Mountain Bike riders in the country. Despite this, there has been a painful lack of events for this enthusiastic group. With past experience running the highly successful BC High School Mountain Bike Championships, Shore organizer Richard Juryn saw this need and has founded an event to fulfill this pent up demand, the North Shore Enduro

The beauty of an Enduro style event is that it is possible to have an exciting, demanding environment for the fittest endurance athletes while at the same time run an event that is not too challenging for the first time participant.

There will be solo men's and women's categories for the top Mountain Bike riders and adventure athletes, 2 person teams for a fit twosome or couple and 3 person teams for the corporate or casual competitor. With a 6 Hour format and a great 4 km. cross-country style course, the North Shore Enduro is sure to be a popular addition to the BC Mountain Bike calendar.

Hey you shore free riders! This is a great event to come out with your buddies and work on that killer up hill fitness that is so necessary on mountains like Fromme.

The North Shore Enduro is being run on May 26th 2002 on the same course and in the same venue as the BC High School Mountain Bike Championships, Camp Brick in the Seymour Demonstration Forest, North Vancouver.

With a host of sponsors, tons of fun and performance prizing, music, Expo area, a great after event BBQ and a host of other diversions this is an event not to miss! All of the event details including on-line registration are available at or email

Course de Bois de Belle-Rivière
Courtesy Martin Prud'homme

Voici les résultats de la première course de la saison de la FQSC COUPE BOIS de BELLE-RIVIERE organisée par l'équipe André-Lalonde/Bois de Belle-Rivière le 21 avril 2002 à Mirabel / St-Scholastique.

Parcours Plat de 20km au tour
Température: froide 2à5C

Participation totale: 256 coureurs

Merci à nos commanditaires Bois de Belle-Rivière, André-Lalonde, Naya, Ville de Mirabel, Katimavik, ainsi qu'à tous les bénévoles.

Les résultats complets seront disponibles sous peu sur le site de la FQSC.

Senior 1/2 (100km)
1Bruno LangloisVolks/Treknon-disponible
2Yann DeVilleMedico-Sportifnon-disponible
3John MaloisMedico-Sportifnon-disponible
4Martin GilbertVolks/Treknon-disponible
5JP HouleColnagonon-disponible
Senior 3/4 (80km)
1Alexandre NadeauAdopt2:13:38
2Alexis RicherBernard Hinaults.t.
3David MayV Com2:15:32
4Pascal FortinAdopt
5Martin BoisvertSherbrookeboth s.t.
Junior Homme (80km)
1Francois StukeDynamiks2:15:32
2Maxime DesrochersEspoirs Laval
3Guillaume FausseDynamiks
4Xavier NadeauEspoirs Laval
5JS LavoieMedico-Sportifall s.t.
Maitre C/D (60km)
1David RathGHBC1:41:19
2Robert PatryIND1:45:58
3Pierre CloutierMedico-Sportif
4James RosenGHBC
5Leonard LighterMartinSwiss/Sport Expertall s.t.
Maitre B (80km)
1Marc LapointeMedico-Sportif2:02:33
2Laurent GarzonMartinSwiss/Sport Expert
3Gilbert MaroisRouleurs
4James WatkinsV Com
5Alfie PaolettiMartinSwiss/Sport Expertall s.t.
Maitre A (80km)
1Carl DessureaultIND2:03:15
2Paulo SaldanhaMartinSwiss/Sport Expert2:04:50
3Paul MignerMedico-Sportifs.t.
4Yvan DionMartinSwiss/Sport Expert2:05:59
5Yannick CojanMartinSwiss/Sport Experts.t.
Femme Junior (60km)
1Magaly BoulayOpus WC1:45:58
2Mathilde HupinSportif Bromont1:55:20
Femme Vétéran (60km)
1Joelle GreenC Vom1:52:51
2France BordeleauV Com2:03:31
3Nicole Leblanc-BoucherIND2:07:26
Femme Sénior (80km)
1Chantal PoirierEquipe Record2:11:14
2Elisa GagnonTrek
3Véronique MarcotteSherbrookeboth s.t.

Jeanson Wins in Utah
Courtesy Team Rona

Hurricane, Utah, Monday, April 22, 2002 - Geneviève Jeanson, Karen Bockel, Melissa Holt, Andrea Hannos and Amy Jarvis, the five Team RONA members competing in the Chums Classic, grabbed the first five places in the competition held Saturday and Sunday in southern Utah.

The five Team RONA members competed in the Chums Classic, a three-stage race in its 12th year, as part of their preparation for the upcoming Tour of the Gila in New Mexico, where Geneviève Jeanson will defend her title in early May.

Saturday morning, in cool and windy weather, Jeanson and her teammates attacked early in the 60-km race. Jeanson finished solo, about 5 minutes ahead of Bockel, Hannos and Holt, and 12 minutes ahead of the main field, led by Jarvis. Second stage Saturday afternoon was a 7.5-km time trial with the racers facing very strong winds. Jeanson, Bockel and Holt took the first three spots.

Sunday's stage was a 85-km road race. Jeanson attacked after five kilometers and finished solo with an average speed of almost 40 km/h. Her four teammates finished together 4 minutes behind their leader.

Hurricane, (Utah) 22 avril 2002 - Geneviève Jeanson, Karen Bockel, Melissa Holt, Andrea Hannos et Amy Jarvis, les cinq cyclistes de l'Équipe RONA inscrites à la Chums Classic, ont ravi les cinq premières places de cette course qui a eu lieu samedi et dimanche dans le sud de l'Utah.

Pour ces cyclistes, cette course de trois étapes qui en était à sa douzième édition, s'inscrivait dans leur préparation au Tour of the Gila, au Nouveau-Mexique, où Geneviève Jeanson ira défendre son titre au début mai.

Samedi matin, par un temps froid et venteux, Jeanson et ses coéquipières ont attaqué tôt dans la course de 60 kilomètres. Jeanson a fini seule, environ 5 minutes devant Bockel, Hannos et Holt, et 12 minutes devant le peloton, mené par Jarvis. Disputée samedi après-midi, la deuxième étape était un contre-la-montre de 7,5 kilomètres, courue contre des vents très forts. Jeanson, Bockel et Holt ont pris les trois premières places.

L'étape de dimanche était longue de 85 kilomètres. Jeanson attaqua au cinquième kilomètre et termina seule, à la vitesse moyenne de près de 40 km/h. Ses quatre coéquipières finirent ensemble quatre minutes plus tard.

Happy Birthday To...

Chris Sheppard, last Friday.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.