Canadian Cyclist


May 15/02 9:10 am - Lange Leads in Korea, Ontario Track Champs, Hamilton Weekly Series, Adams Podium Photo

Posted by Editoress on 05/15/02

Tour de Korea
Courtesy Cory Jay

Cory Lange is racing in the Tour of Korea, a UCI 2.5 stage race from the 11th to the 17th of May, After the first Mountain stage, he holds the leaders Jersey by 25 seconds, He won the stage solo, after attacking on the final climb 15kms from the finish.

Details are few, but there remains 1 mtn stage today, If he can hold for today, He should hang on for the overall.

Ontario Track Championships
Courtesy Rob Good

With sanctions complete, the organizing committee is pleased to announce that the Ontario Track Championships will be held Saturday July 27th.

Location: Delhi Velodrome in Wind-del Centre Outside of Delhi Ontario.
Registration: Opens at 8:15am, warm-up 8:15 - 8:55am

Mandatory Riders Meeting & Introductions 8:55am
Racing begins 9:00am sharp.

Check this site for the schedule of events in the next few days.

The Track Championships are open to any licensed rider in Ontario. Riders will compete in 4 Categories, Senior, Junior, Women, Masters.

Events: Kilo TT, Pursuit TT, Sprint, Points Race. 2 Demonstration races include - Olympic Sprint (3 rider teams), 40 Lap Madison (Minimum 5 Teams)

For more information on the Championships & Accommodation
Contact: Rob Good 1-888-508-3944

Hamilton Cycling Club's Tuesday Evening Criterium May 14, 2002
Courtesy Sandy Chesky

We had a total of 18 participants on this partly cloudy, cool, windy evening.
The format is the same as last summer with a $5.00 prime on lap 24 and a 3-point prime on lap 12. This week saw Sean Scott win the $5.00 and Mirek Mazur win the 3 points. Ryan DeBoer, Mirek Mazur and Sean Scott broke away early on in the ride and stayed away to finish first, second and third respectively, with Desi Desrochers fourth and Jeff Sharafbayani fifth. Congratulations to Ian Fisher who finished sixth tonight!!

Ryan DeBoer, 6 points
Mirek Mazur, 5 points + 3 prime points = 8 points
Sean Scott, 4 points
Desi Desrocher, 3 points
Jeff Sharafbayani, 2 points

Overall Standings

1. Mirek Mazur, 16 points
2. Ryan DeBoer, 7 points
3. Michael Moore
3. Jeff Sharafbayani, 6 points
4. Sean Scott, 5 points
5. Desi Desrochers, 4 points

Dustin Adams 3rd at Big Bear, NORBA #1

Giant Canada sent along this photo of Dustin Adams on the podium at Big Bear.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.