Canadian Cyclist


September 8/02 7:24 am - Cdn win in US, BC award, Manitoulin Eco-Challenge, NS Weekly Time Trial, US Road Worlds Team Announcement

Posted by Editoress on 09/8/02

St. Laurent wins in Rhode Island
Courtesy VW Trek

Martin St-Laurent won the the Cox Charities Cycling Classic held Saturday afternoon on the Kingston University campus on Rhode Island.

A 50 mile criterium, 1.5 miles /lap

Chris Isaack & Martin broke away, Martin beat Isaac in the sprint

1. Martin St-Laurent (VW TREK)
2.Chris Isaack (7Up Nutrafig)
3. ? McCormack (Saturn)
4. Bruno Langlois (VW TREK)

8 Alexandre Lavallée

2002 Lumpy Liedel Memorial Award
Coutesy Brendon Edgar

Junior XC and DH rider Brook Baker won the Lumpy Liedel award on Thursday September 5th in Whistler, BC. This award is for the best junior rider with the best attitude towards the sport of mountain biking with the most success. The award is in Memory of Local mountain bike here Lumpy Liedel.

Previous winners of the award consist of:

Will Routley
Brendon Edgar
Tyler West

Manitoulin 2002 Eco-Challenge

One to run, two to paddle and one to cycle is all the team members you need to participate in the 2nd annual Eco-Challenge being held at 10 AM on Saturday, September 14th on Manitoulin Island.

The challenge begins and ends at Gordon's Park located at 18777 Hwy 6 near Tehkummah and encompasses approximately 40 km's of all-terrain racing including cross country running, open water paddling and cycling on gravel, blacktop and pavement surfaces.

Teams of four must register in advance, be over the age of 16 and have at least one female member. One team member will run, two will paddle and one will cylce and the first team to finish is the winner. A social dinner will follow featuring roasted turkey, baked potato and tossed salad in the licensed Hoot & Howl Pavilion followed by presentations of medals, participation certificates and door prizes. The cost to participate is $25.00 per person and participants can register single or as a team by calling Gordon's Park at 705-859-2470. Invite friends and family to be part of the dinner social and awards presentation. Cost for the dinner is $12.00 per person.

Overnight accomodations including Camping, Bed & Breakfast, Tipi Tenting & Cabins are available at event sponsors including Holiday Haven, Hutchinson's and Gordon's Park.

Holiday Haven: 705-859-3550
Hutchinson's: 705-859-3345
Gordon's Park: 705-859-2470

For more information and to register call 705-859-2470.

Lucas Schinbeckler
Eco-Tourism Coordinator
Gordon's Park

Weekly MTB Time Trial in Halifax
Courtesy Randel Gray

Results of the first two races from "Fight Race", a weekly mountain bike time trial series being held in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.

Meet at Cowie Hill entrance to Wrandees, 6:15pm Tuesdays and duke it out with some of the best mountain bikers in the province on one of the most technical trails in the province.

E-mail: for more info.

Congrats to Mark Foster and Jean Jardine, current holders of the fastest
men's and women's times.

Race #2

Tuesday Sept 3/02

1. Mark Foster 21:42*
2. Terry Tomlin 22:13
3. John Rubinger 24:00
4. Dan Smith 24:34
5. Rob Edsall 25:09
6. Randy Gray 25:29
7. Neil Sinclair 25:35
8. Paul Belhumeur 25:46
9. Eddy Rushton 26:01
10. Jason Martin 29:37
11. Tony Lacopia 32:43
12. Jean Jardine 36:16*
13. Mel Jardine 38:04
14. Dave Beck 38:14
15. Mark Wood 42:10
16. Corey Mood 50:57

*new course records men/women

Race #1
5.02km from Cowie Hill entrance to the end of Roller Coaster(parking lot)


1. Mark Foster                     22:26        100.00pts        (13.37km/hr)
2. Dan Smith                       22.34        99.41
3. Rob Edsall                      25:29         88.03
4. John Rubinger               26:03         86.12
5. Dustin MacBurnie          26:28        84.76
6. Neil Sinclair                  26:39          84.18
7. Randy Gray                   27:08          82.68
8. Jason Martin                 29:34          75.87
9. Greg Kerr                      29:37           75.75
10. Geordie Bell              32:19           69.42
11. Mike Ritter                  35:17           63.58
12. Bill Mahr                     35:42           62.84
13. Henk VanVoorst       36:32            61.41
14. Enid Schaller            38:14            58.67
15. Colin Gennoe            39:04           57.42
16. Dave Beck                 39:30            56.79
17. Jean Jardine             41:50            53.63

USA Cycling Announces Automatic Nominations to World Road Championships Team
Courtesy USA Cycling

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Sept. 6) - USA Cycling announced Friday the automatic athlete nominations to compete at the 2002 World Road Cycling Championships, Oct. 8-13 in Zolder, Belgium. These athletes earned their nominations based on performances at the 2002 USCF National Road Cycling Championships and for consistent, outstanding results in international competition.

The nominations include a host of young junior riders, who earned their World Championships berths by winning national titles. This group includes Josh Kerkhof (Fort Worth, Texas), Megan Long (Oklahoma City, Okla.), Zak Grabowski (Lafayette, Colo.), Tyler Farrar (Wenatchee, Wash.) and Larssyn Staley (Beaverton, Ore.). Long recently returned from competition at the World Mountain Bike Championships in Kaprun, Austria (Aug. 27-Sept. 1), where she finished 12th in the junior women's cross county event.

Elite women road riders Deirdre Demet-Barry (Boulder, Colo.), Kimberly Bruckner (Boulder, Colo.) and Amber Neben (Santa Ana, Calif.) earned berths based on podium (top 3) performances at UCI World Cup races this season. Jessica Phillips (Boulder, Colo.) earned a nomination as 2002 National Road Champion.

U23 and elite male athletes nominated to the 2002 World Road Cycling Championships team include: Will Frishkorn (Boulder, Colo.); Mike Creed (Colorado Springs, Colo.); Fred Rodriguez (Emeryville, Calif.); and Chris Horner (Bend, Ore.).

"We're very pleased with the automatic nominations to this year's World Championship Road Team," said Steve Johnson, Chief Operating Officer and Athletic Director for USA Cycling. "Considering the location and time of year, we expect the 2002 Road World Championships courses to present challenging conditions. But this is a strong group of riders, and these World Championships are a great opportunity for our junior athletes to get exposure to elite international competition."

USA Cycling will announce the discretionary team nominations on Tuesday, Sept. 10. These athletes will be chosen based on international World Cup results from this season and performances at the 2002 National Road Cycling Championships.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.