Canadian Cyclist


September 11/02 10:20 am - Canadians on Sea Otter Board, US Road Worlds Team

Posted by Editor on 09/11/02

Canadians On Sea Otter Advisory Board

Two Canadians will participate in the Advisory Board the organizers of the Sea Otter Classic has set up. Linda Jackson, the retired road racer who lives and works in San Francisco as an investment banker, and Lesley Tomlinson, the road and mountain bike (and recently XTerra and 24 Hour...) racer, are among the 9 people named to the Board. The Sea Otter Classic is a unique season-opener for North American racers, both on and off road. It appears to have been struggling in the last couple of years to decide whether it is an elite event, or a festival and mass-participation event. For 2003 the organizers announced recently that the dates will be pushed back to April from the usual March schedule.

Here is the text of the release:

MONTEREY, Calif. (Sept. 10, 2002) - Sea Otter Classic Co-Founders Rick Sutton and Frank Yohannan announced today the formation of its first Board of Advisors, as a major step in the development of a long-term strategy for growth.

"For the better part of 12 years, we've dedicated our efforts to the creation of a family-style festival, celebrating the unabashed joys of the sport of bicycling," said Sutton. "Today, we take a significant step toward our future growth. The Classic is proud to announce a distinguished Board of Advisors. Our intent is to maximize the background and expertise that each of these leaders brings to our developmental plan for future success. Our long-range goal is to create world class competition for world class athletes."

The newly formed Sea Otter Board of Advisors will work closely with present management's operational team. This Board of Advisors includes:

PAM DERDERIAN Pam Derderian has been one of America's most successful marketing entrepreneurs for 20 years. Her client list includes some of this countries most well known companies and athletes, including Martina Navratilova, Citibank, Subaru of America, and Puma. In 1987, Pam and her partner, Nancy Becker co-founded "15 Minutes" Inc. a Philadelphia-based agency that specializes in event marketing for some of the country's largest consumer events. In 1995, Derderian and Becker partnered with Martina Navratilova to co-found DO TELL, Inc. a full-service agency that specializes in niche marketing in the gay and lesbian community.

LEIGH DONOVAN Leigh Donovan remains the only athlete to win the National Championship Downhill title, the Dual Slalom title, and the Downhill World Championship in the same season, a feat she accomplished in 1995. She has captured 17 National Dual Slaloms, nine National Downhills, and three World Cups.

LINDA JACKSON Linda Jackson is one of Canada's greatest female road cyclist. She was honored by VeloNews as North American Female Cyclist of the Year in both 1997 and 1998, one of a few athletes to ever win this award in back-to-back years. A Bronze Medallist at the 1996 World Championships, Jackson has since retired from competition and now works as an investment banker in San Francisco.

MARY MONROE Mary Monroe was formerly sports marketing director at Trek Bicycles, the world's largest bicycle company. Monroe has also served on the board of National Off Road Bicycle Association and the International Mountain Bike Association. She also worked as Marketing Director for USA Cycling before returning to her own consulting business, The Bike Evangelist.

BETSY BRUNTON PETERS Betsy Brunton Peters is a strategic marketing specialist with over 10 years experience in the Outdoor media market. She has worked for ESPN, the Outdoor Life Network, and Cox Communications creating brands for passionate lifestyle audiences. As the General Manager, COX Communications' Great Outdoors, she was responsible for content programming, design, sales, marketing and business development for the Outdoor Life Network online site. Currently she is helping to guide ESPN in extending their Global X and Outdoors properties into consumer products and retail environments.

BRUCE RYAN Bruce Ryan has an economics degree from Harvard University and graduate law and business degrees form Stanford University. He joined Microsoft in 1989 and worked in a variety of strategic roles during his 11 years with the company, including launches of home software products, interactive television software, Microsoft Network (MSN), Microsoft Network Japan, and Internet software for mobile phones. While in Japan, Ryan was appointed to the Board of Directors of Speednet Japan Ltd., a high-speed Internet joint venture.

ANDREW H. SWARTZ, ESQ. Andrew Swartz is a prominent Monterey County business attorney with extensive experience at the local, county, and state levels. Swartz has served as Chairman of the State of California's Standing Committee on Professional Responsibility and Conduct.

LESLEY TOMLINSON A two-time Canadian Olympian, Lesley Tomlinson is one of Canada's most prestigious all-around competitors. Her athletic horizons have stretched into the world of adventure racing and long-distance cycling. Recently, she completed the Trans Alp, a grueling eight-day mountain bike race from Germany to Italy.

DAVID WIENS Mountain Bike Hall of Famer David Wiens is perhaps best known as the 1993 National Champion. Wiens was honored in 1998 with the Richard Long Sportsmanship Award and inducted into the Mountain Bike Hall of Fame n 2000. He has served on the Board of USA Cycling and currently is the Rider/Manager for Team RLX Polo Sport.

The 13th Annual Sea Otter Classic Powered by SRAM will be held April 10-13, 2003 at the Laguna Seca Recreation Area in beautiful Monterey, California. Athletes are invited to call the Sea Otter Classic event hotline at 530. 661.9500 with entry inquiries. For more information visit

US Road Worlds Team
Courtesy USA Cycling

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. (Sept. 10) - USA Cycling announced Tuesday it's full
team of athlete nominations representing the U.S. at the 2002 World Road Cycling Championships, Oct. 8-13, in Zolder, Belgium. Thirteen discretionary nominations join the group of automatic athlete nominations announced Friday (Sept. 6) to complete the team.

The following athletes will represent the U.S. at the World Road Cycling Championship:

Junior Men Road Race: Josh Kerkhoff (Fort Worth, Texas); Tyler Farrar (Wenatchee, Wash.); Nathan Mitchell (Allentown, Pa.); Oliver Stiler-Cote (Arundel, Maine);

Junior Men Time Trial: Zak Grabowski (Lafayette, Colo.); Tyler Farrar;

Junior Women Road Race/Junior Women Time Trial: Megan Long (Oklahoma City, Okla.); Larssyn Staley (Beaverton, Ore.);

U23 Road Race: Mark Fitzgerald (Norfolk, Va.); Jonathan Retseck (Doylestown, Pa.); Shawn Milne (Gloucester, Mass.); Mike Creed (Colorado Springs, Colo.); Will Frishkorn (Boulder, Colo.);

U23 Time Trial: Mike Creed; Will Frishkorn;

Elite Women Road Race: Kimberly Bruckner (Boulder, Colo.); Amber Neben (Santa Ana, Calif.); Dede Demet-Barry (Boulder, Colo.); Laura VanGilder (Cresco, Pa.); Tina Mayola-Pic (Dahlonega, Ga.); Mari Holden (Colorado Springs, Colo.);

Elite Women's Time Trial: Kimberly Bruckner; Amber Neben;

Elite Men's Road Race: Freddy Rodriguez (Emeryville, Calif.); Chris Horner (Bend, Ore.); Dylan Casey (Walnut Creek, Calif.); Mike Sayers (Sacramento, Calif.); Antonio Cruz (Long Beach, Calif.); Jeff Louder (Salt Lake City, Utah); Guido Trenti (Natick, Mass.);

Elite Men's Time Trial: Chris Horner; Dylan Casey.

Jessica Phillips (Boulder, Colo.), who had earned an automatic nomination to the World Championships team, has declined to accept the nomination.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.