Canadian Cyclist


October 31/02 8:56 am - Alberta 'Cross Standings, Birthday

Posted by Editor on 10/31/02

Pedalhead Road Works Alberta Cyclo-cross Cup
Courtesy Andy Holmwood

The inaugural "Pedalhead Road Works Alberta Cyclo-cross Cup" wrapped up this past weekend with the Provincial Championships, held near Calgary. This season witnessed the continued growth of Cyclo-cross in Alberta, and most definitely the wettest, slimiest conditions in years.

Several riders will represent Alberta at the National Cyclo-cross Championships near Quebec City this coming weekend, including Jamie Sparling (junior men), Samantha Nicholson (elite women), Roddi Lega (elite men), Ted Dahms (master b men) and defending National Champion Sean Barr (master a men).

* Team standings based on combined point totals of each club's top three riders in each category.

Team Standings *
1United Cycle265 points
2Bow Cycle/CMC202
5Olympic Oval141
6GS Campione110
10St. Albert Trailraiders62
13Calgary Cycle40
16Singletrack Cycle24
17GP Wheelers19
18Rundle Mountain CC15
19The Bike Shop8
Open MenTotal Pointshop 'n hurlwervel stormfiets crosspsycho - crosserjuventusbici cross
1Roddi LegaUnited Cycle771515151220
2Sean BarrVelocity7010121081515
3Mark WebsterBicisport3012612
4Byron DavisPedalhead20686
5Nicholas JendzjowskyJuventus20686
6Stuart HughesBow Cycle/CMC186102
6Geoff JohnsGS Campione18810
6Matthew DecoreHardcore Racing Club18810
9Robin BaillieSaskatchewan/Cycledelia1515
10Shawn BunninSaskatchewan/Cycledelia1212
10Jesse ColinsBicisport1212
12Keir PittmanSynergy Racing1010
13Tom ZidekBikeshop88
14Shaun BergenGP Wheelers44
14Peter TothERTC44
14cp WalshSynergy Racing44
14Jeff SmithBow Cycle/CMC44
14Dave EllisPedalhead44
14Cameron McKnightERTC44
Masters MenTotal Pointshop 'n hurlwervel stormfiets crosspsycho - crosserjuventusbici cross
1cp WalshSynergy Racing6015151020
2Marty MachacekSynergy Racing5412121515
3Andy AchuffPedalhead39151212
4Ted DahmsPedalhead341010662
5Ross AndersenCalgary Cycle288884
6Paul MacdonaldJuventus271512
7Craig GoodSynergy Racing2610610
8Peter TothERTC241086
9Mark RumseyHardcore Racing Club1212
10Peter YezJuventus88
11Craig McLarenSingletrack Cycle844
12Bob HawboldtCycledelia88
13Vaughn HildebrandBlizzard66
13Bruce PennerUnited Cycle66
15Chris CheckPedalhead44
15Michael JohnsBow Cycle/CMC44
15Ed GarvinSingletrack Cycle44
Sport MenTotal Pointshop 'n hurlwervel stormfiets crosspsycho - crosserjuventusbici cross
1Michael SarneckiUnited Cycle661212151215
2Brys FrancisUnited Cycle588151520
3Harald NybruUnited Cycle246810
4Tracey ShearerSt. Albert Trailriders226610
5Bob McKerrellBow Cycle/CMC20128
6Shaun BergenGP Wheelers1515
6Scott ManktelowRundle Mountain CC1515
8Ed GarvinSingletrack Cycle1212
9Brett WoottonCalgary Cycle1212
10Brennan BagdanHardcore Racing Club1010
10Tim DeschenesVelocity1010
10Greg YanickiBicisport1010
10Jeff ConroyIndependent1010
14Jeremy MyersCove88
15Paul IgnatiukRedbike44
15Marcello LafeuntePedalhead44
15Jan SacharukPedalhead44
Junior MenTotal Pointshop 'n hurlwervel stormfiets crosspsycho - crosserjuventusbici cross
1James SparlingBow Cycle/CMC66151515156
2Philippe AbbottOlympic Oval5710151220
3Per StromTerrascape37101215
4Jeff SparlingOlympic Oval3412688
5Steve CochranePedalhead2861012
6Cam MacKinnonOlympic Oval221012
7Kevin BowserOlympic Oval18810
8Bjorn NybruUnited Cycle1688
9Ryan AndersonSt. Albert Trailraiders14410
10Alan WhittenHardcore Racing Club1212
10Zach GrantSt. Albert Trailraiders1266
12Terry McKallIndependent88
12Mike BidniakJuventus844
14William MonteathHindgrinders66
15Rene RegimbaldOlympic Oval44
16Brian BainBow Cycle/CMC22
WomenTotal Pointshop 'n hurlwervel stormfiets crosspsycho - crosserjuventusbici cross
1Samantha NicholsonBow Cycle/CMC8212815121520
2Jessica DemarsGS Campione74101012151215
3Lisa LicisHardcore Racing Club271512
4Annette SvederusUnited Cycle18810
5Jennifer BarrVelocity16664
6Annie TykwinskiPedalhead1515
7Nicole LavoieSt. Albert Trailraiders1486
8Amy WoodwardOlympic Oval1212
9Kim ChurchillPedalhead1248
10Lisa BoweOlympic Oval1010
11Sarah RobbinsCycledelia1010
11Janka HegedusJuventus1046
11Petrina TulissiGS Campione1010
14Nola ZwarichGS Campione88
14Sian BarracloughJuventus88
16Erica VirtueOlympic Oval66
17Rebecca MorrisBow Cycle/CMC66
18Kristen CampbellPedalhead44

Happy Birthday To...

Jeannie Longo Ciprelli - October 31st, 1958. Normally we only do Canadian birhtdays, but we thought Longo's incredible longevity deserves some notice:

Olympic road gold medalist: 1996
Road world champion: 1985, 1986, 1987, 1989, 1995
World champion, Pursuit: 1986, 1988, 1989
World champion, Time trial: 1995, 1996, 1997
Winner of the Women's Tour de France: 1987, 1988, 1999
French national Road Champion: 1979, 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1992, 1995
French national Pursuit champion: 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1987, 1988, 1989, 1992, 1993
French national Points champion: 3 times
French national Cross-country champion: once
French national Time-Trial champion: once
World speed records: 4


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.