Canadian Cyclist


November 7/02 10:00 am - US 'Cross Cancellation, Prime Alliance 2003, On This Day

Posted by Editor on 11/7/02

US 'Cross Race Cancellation

This Sunday's (November 10th) Delaware Park Cyclocross race in Buffalo NY has been cancelled. The necessary permits were denied to hold the race in a city park.

The Warsaw 'Cross race is still on (1 hour from the Peace Bridge). For information on that race visit the website:

Prime Alliance 2003

November 6, 2002, BOULDER, Colo. - The management of the Prime Alliance Cycling Team is proud to announce the riders and sponsors for the 2003 Prime Alliance Cycling Team.

New to the team for 2003 year will be 2001 Tour de France Team Time Trial winner Jonathan Vaughters (transfer from Credit Agricole) and winner of this year's First Union Invitational David Clinger (transfer from US Postal). The back bone of the current squad will be returning for 2003 being lead by 2001 U-23 Time Trial World Champion Danny Pate and including 2002 U-23 National Time Champion Michael Creed, 2002 Points Race, Madison and Team Pursuit National Champion Jame Carney, Alex Candelario, Jonas Carney, Matt Decanio, John Peters and Svein Tuft. Also coming to the team in February, at the conclusion of the cyclo-cross season, will be all-arounder Jonathan Page.

In 2002, the team won five of North America's eight major stage races with Danny Pate continuing to build on a long list of accomplishments with his brilliant ride at the 2002 US Professional Road Championships. Prime Alliance achieved its major season-long goals with riders finishing first and second in the National Racing Calendar rankings as well as having the team finish second in the team rankings.

The team is very excited to have the added experience and leadership of Jonathan Vaughters, the power and professionalism of David Clinger and the all around ability of Jonathan Page. The team management is also very pleased to have so many members of the 2002 team returning with a desire to continue building the program's reputation and success. The line up for 2003 will be a more balanced team that will have improved ability at the key one-day events while still being a dominant player at all of the major stage races.

2003 Team Roster

Alex Candelario
Jonas Carney
Jame Carney
David Clinger
Michael Creed
Matt Decanio
Jonathan Page
Danny Pate
John Peters
Svein Tuft
Jonathan Vaughters

On This Day...

November 7, 1869: James Moore won the first Paris-Rouen cycliste in 10 h 24 m for 124 km.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.