Canadian Cyclist


November 22/02 1:31 am - Dustin Adams Vote, Hell and Back (Ontario)

Posted by Editor on 11/22/02

CC Awards Update

If you have visited the Forums recently, you will see that there has been considerable discussion regarding the inclusion of Canadian downhill champion Dustin Adams in the polling for the Male Canadian Cyclist of the Year.

As we explained, while Dustin had a breakthrough year on the Norba circuit, and a podium finish at a World Cup, we did not feel that his accomplishments were as dominant or significant as the other nominees.

However, many of you disagree with us, so we are taking a poll on the subject. We don't guarantee that we will amend the nomination list for CC of the Year voting, but we are willing to look at the results of the polling and possibly make a change.

Cast your vote on this topic HERE. You can also click on the gold Vote! button on the left side of you browser window.

Hell and Back 2002 - Ontario
Courtesy Tim Porter

TORONTO -- 22 Nov 02 -- The starter's gun for the annual Hell and Back round trip bike ride from the GTA to Lake Simcoe goes off at 8 am, Sunday, December 8th. This gruelling 140 km event over paved roads, gravel back roads, forest trails and old railbeds lends itself to cyclocross bikes.

Conceived in 1999 as the "last hard ride of the century", it was so popular it is now in its fourth year, and is run under the auspices of Peter McCaffery's Midweek Club. McCaffery holds the weekly criterium races around the Hershey Centre in Mississauga and is introducing youngsters to bicycle road racing through a pilot program in Peel Region schools.

Registration is open from 7:30 am at the Box Grove Community Centre, north on Highway 48 from 401, east on Steeles Ave., north on Ninth Line about 1.5 km. Route map and more details on the website

All categories, licensed and unlicensed, ride together. USA and out-of-province riders welcome. Helmets are mandatory. Entry fee: $25 (Juniors and Cadets $15.00). Awards in all categories.

Post Race there will be an awards ceremony, dinner and party at Mitzi's Sister - 1600 Queen St. West, Toronto.

Previous Winners:
1999 Ray Duggan 4:52:27
2000 Josh Hall 5:26:19
2001 Andrew Randall 4:33:14.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.