Canadian Cyclist


January 3/03 6:38 am - US Worlds 'Cross Team Announced

Posted by Editor on 01/3/03

U.S. Worlds Cyclo-cross Team Announced
Courtesy USA Cycling

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. - USA Cycling announced Friday its full team of athlete nominations to represent the U.S. at the 2003 World Cyclo-cross Championships, Feb. 1-2 in Monopoli, Italy. Twelve discretionary nominations join the group of automatic athlete nominations announced Dec. 18, 2002.

The 20 athletes nominated earned their berths on the World Championships team based on results at the Shimano-USCF U.S. Cyclo-cross National Championships in Napa, Calif. (Dec. 14-15, 2002), their rankings on the USA Cycling cyclo-cross points list, and results in recent UCI international and domestic races. The team is headlined by newly-crowned national cyclo-cross champions Ann Grande (Des Moines, Washington), Jonathan Page (Northfield, N.H. - who rode to a top-10 finish against a strong international field in a UCI international cyclo-cross race Friday in Holland), Adam Craig (Corinth, Maine) and Jesse Anthony (Beverly, Mass.).

"The group of American athletes that USA Cycling has assembled to compete at the 2003 World Cyclo-cross Championships is one of the strongest ever," said Steve Johnson, COO & Director of Athletics for USA Cycling. "The team represents a great balance of experienced riders and young, fresh athletes who are getting their first taste of international competition. Exposing young riders to a strong international field is a key component of developing a strong, American cyclo-cross program."

The following athletes will represent the U.S. at the 2003 World Cyclo-cross Championships:

Elite Women
Ann Grande (Des Moines, Wash.)
Carmen D'Aluisio (Watsonville, Calif.)
Rachel Lloyd (San Anselmo, Calif.)
Gina Hall (Richmond, Calif.)
Christine Vardaros (Sunnyvale, Calif.)

Elite Men
Jonathan Page (Northfield, N.H.)
Marc Gullickson (Boulder, Colo.)
Andy Jacques-Maynes (Berkeley, Calif.)
Johannes Huseby (Medford, Mass.)
Jackson Steward (Los Gatos, Calif.)

Junior Men
Jesse Anthony (Beverly, Mass.)
Konrad Lebas (Ansonia, Conn.)
Zak Grabowski (Lafayette, Colo.)
David Fleischauer (Olympia, Wash.)
Steve Cozza (Petaluma, Calif.)

Espoir Men
Adam Craig (Corinth, Maine)
Josh Anthony (Beverly, Mass.)
Barry Wicks (Portland, Ore.)
Ryan Trebon (Ft. Bragg, N.C.)
Alan Obye (Mendon, Vt.)

Competition at the 2003 World Cyclo-cross Championships commences on Feb. 1 with the junior and espoir men's races. The elite men and women will compete on Feb. 2.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.