Canadian Cyclist


April 6/03 10:39 am - Van Petegem Takes Flanders

Posted by Editor on 04/6/03

Tour of Flanders World Cup #2 - Belgium

Peter Van Petegem (Lotto-Domo) has won the second round of the men's road World Cup, the 255 kilometre 87th Ronde van Vlaanderen. This race is considered one of the toughest of the spring classics, with 19 climbs - nearly half of them cobbled. The race began with the obligatory early break at the 5 kilometre mark, containing Michael Rich (Gerolsteiner) Thomas Liese (Team Coast), Vincent van der Kooij (BankGiroLoterij) and Jacky Durand ( Despite reaching a maximum gap of nearly 15 minutes, there was no doubt that the break would be caught, with Liese finally be reeled in with 45 kilometres to go. A flurry of attacks took place over the next 30 kilometres, with Johan Museeuw (Quick Step-Davitamon) particularly active - reflecting both his own favoured status and that of his teammate Paolo Bettini, the World Cup overall leader. However, both riders did not make the crucial break, with 30 kilometres to go. Besides Van Petegem, Viatcheslav Ekimov (USPS), Serguei Ivanov (Fassa Bortolo), Mirko Celestino (Saeco), Nico Mattan (Cofidis), Stuart O'Grady (Credit Agricole), Frank Vandenbroucke (Quick Step-Davitamon), Fabio Baldato (Alessio) and Michael Boogerd (Rabobank) were in the front group. At 12 kilometres to go Vandenbroucke attacked over the Bosberg climb and only Van Petegem was able to match him. The two Belgiums worked together to extend their gap to 40 seconds by the line, with Van Petegem, the acknowledged stronger sprinter, coming around Vandenbroucke to take the win. O'Grady took the group sprint for third, ahead of Baldato and Mattan. Bettini should hang on to the overall lead.

Preliminary Results

1 Peter Van Petegem (Bel) Lotto-Domo 6:29:57
2 Frank Vandenbroucke (Bel) Quick.Step-Davitamon
3 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Credit Agricole
4 Fabio Baldato (Ita) Alessio
5 Nico Mattan (Bel) Cofidis
6 Frederic Guesdon (Fra)
7 Serguei Ivanov (Rus) Fassa Bortolo
8 Viatcheslav Ekimov (Rus) US Postal-Berry Floor
9 Michael Boogerd (Ned) Rabobank
10 Dave Bruylandts (Bel) Marlux


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.