Canadian Cyclist


April 14/03 2:42 am - Rollin 3rd in France, Trinidad Track Report, Blizzard Bike Club report

Posted by Editoress on 04/14/03

Prix de St-Julien les Villas France
April 13

110 km

1. Jonathan Ferrand, UVCA Troyes, 2:42:33
2. Franck Basso, AS Corbeil-Essonnes, at 0:50
3. Dominique Rollin, UVCA Troyes
4. David Jungles, ESC Meaux
5. Cyril Mordelet, AS Corbeil-Essonnes, all s.t.

West Indies vs the World Cycling Series Trinidad
CourtesyKeith Bruneau

After the first week of competition in Trinidad the world team has been all but demolished. The racing is suited to those who could care less about skin loss and more about a couple of dollars.The world team is comprised of riders for around the world including Columbia, Britain, Czech Republic, Scotland, Belgium, Switzerland and of course Canada. Our contingent includes Alex Maurais, Glen Rendell and Keith Bruneau. The West Indies consists of Cuba, Barbados, Trinidad, Guyana and Jamaica.

In the three days of track racing at Skinner park we (The World) have only been able to put one rider on the podium, this was Glen in the 30 lap race. He seems to be the only one able to do anything so far, with the rest of us having to deal with pack finishes. A quick side note, the first year of this race, Kurt Innes wouldn't let the Canadians race on this track. Last year the race was set up so not to injure anyone and that raised some problems. This year it was flat out scary racing no holds barred.

Next weekend we move on to Barbados where we will be joined by Pavel Buran and others from the Czech republic.

Well it's off to the beach for a deserved rest, for all riders!!

Blizzard Bike Club Fort St. John, BC, April 13
Courtesy Pat Ferris

King of Spring/Queen of Spring trophy's

Robert Martens won the King of Spring trophy for a record fifth time Sunday after an epic battle with 29 riders. He edged out Stephen Ferris by a half a bike length in the sprint to pick up the win with a time of 1:10:10 hours for the 40 km Upper Pine circuit. Trevor McDonell came in two seconds later for third place.

Tammy Howes won the "Queen of Spring' trophy, for her first time, with a time of 1:21:12 hours. Last years winner Angela Maull was second with 1:36:02 and Angela Ripley with 1:40:35.

It was a hard fought contest, from start to finish. Twenty-nine riders started the event under cool and breezy conditions.

At the five-kilometer mark, Pat Ferris went out for a breakaway attempt. His lead was as much as a couple of minutes but the pack pulled him in at the 25-kilometer mark.

The pack started to split up at the 30 km. mark as Stephen Ferris broke away. Robert Martens and Trevor McDonell soon joined him and pulled away from the remaining four riders.

The group of Pat Ferris, Dave Damery and Mike Hientzman could not catch up. Vaughn Hildebrand had mechanical trouble and was dropped. Dave Damery broke away and made a last ditch attempt to catch up to the leaders but could not quite catch them.

Dave Damery came in fourth at 1:10:58 hours. Pat Ferris was fifth 1:11:30, Mike Hientzman 1:11:45, Richard Howes 1:13:08, Gary Hilderman edged out Andrew Kovacs in the sprint for 8th with 1:13:33 and Eric Snucins overcame a turnaround crash to get 10th with 1:14:40.

Roger St. Jean was 11th with 1:18:02, 1998 trophy winner Tim Ferris (GP) outsprinted Rod Lewis for 12th at 1:20:18, Tammy Howes 1:21:12, Ken Nix 1:21:33, Rob Sipe 1:21:33, Gilbert Bilodeau 1:21:50, Gord Harris 1:22:17, Adam Currie 1:28:32, Ross Garbutt 1:28:40, Angela Maull 1:36:02, Dean Lowry 1:36:06, Richard Wood 1:37:09, Art Ramsay 1:39:26, Angela Ripley 1:40:35, Francis Plum (GP) 1:40:35 and Angus Gourley 1:40:43.

Coming up:
Start of the Spring Stage Race:
• Thursday: Stage #1 - ITT - Baldonnel time trial - 6:30 pm
• Friday (Good) Stage #2 - RR - Top south Montney hill to Montney store and return - 2 pm
• Saturday: Stage #3 - RR - Baldonnel School 10:00 am - 2 laps
• Sunday: Stage #4 - Cecil Lake road race - 10:00 am
• Monday: Stage #5 - Beatton Hillclimb - 2:00 pm


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.