Canadian Cyclist


May 18/03 1:26 am - NORBA Big Bear: Full Results from Mountain Cross

Posted by Editoress on 05/18/03

NORBA #1, Big Bear Snow Summit Resort CA

Capping off an exciting day at the NORBA NCMBS this evening was the fierce and aggressive competition known as Mountain Cross. On the heels of a hotly contested Cross Country event, which saw Alison Dunlap (Colorado Springs, CO, LunaChix) and Ryder Hesjedal (Victoria, BC, Subaru Gary Fisher) take the women's and men's titles respectively, the Mountain Cross proved to be equally entertaining.

After yesterday's qualifying rounds, Brian Lopes (Laguna Beach, CA, GT Hyundai) snagged the top seed ahead of Mick Hannah (San Diego, CA, Haro Lee Dungarees) in the men's event, while Jill Kintner (San Jose, CA, Staats Fox) captured the top spot over Tara Llanes (Corona, CA, Giant Pearl Izumi). Overall, there would be 64 men and 16 women moving on to today's competion.

After the field was narrowed down to the final four throughout the course of the finals, the stage was set for a showdown between Lopes, Chris Powell (Atherton, CA, Profile Racing), Eric Carter (Temecula, CA, Mongoose Hyundai), and Neal Wood (Huntington Beach, CA Tioga Orange). With all the makings for a competitive final run, the four did not disappoint. Out of the gate, it was Carter with a perfect start immediately opening up a bike length lead in the first straight. His lead was bolstered by a tight turn one which saw the other three get tangled causing Wood to hit the dirt, nearly taking Lopes with him. Lopes dropped back to third position but quickly rectified the problem with a classic display of power that distinctly belongs to Lopes. In the end it was enough to move him only into second place as Carter finished with a flawless run, capturing the honors. Asked about his tremendous start, Carter replied "I was a bit bummed by my qualifying position because third is not a good gate, but I caught Lopes sleeping and took his line". I had some unfinished business to take care of from world's last year, so I took care of it", Carter said in reference to the competitive final run at last year's World Championships.

The women's event would prove to be just as hot, as Kintner, Llanes, Tracey Moseley (Great Britian, Kona), and Katrina Miller (San Luis Obispo, Jamis Bicycles) displayed their Mountain Cross grit on the way to qualifying for the final. Showing why she earned the top spot, Kintner led from the gun and never looked back as she cruised to victory over Llanes and Miller who took an extremely close second and third respectively. Kintner, who is coming out of 13 years as a BMX racer, is rapidly growing into a major Mountain Cross force. After winning at the Sea Otter Classic in April, and then here today, she has now has turned her sights onto next week's World Cup event. "This is only my second season on a mountain bike, I rode this series last year, but I was just getting used to the bike, I've practiced a lot and feel real good right now. I feel that being so new, I bring a fresh intensity to the sport." Kintner said of her relative newness to the scene.

Pro Women
1. Jill Kintner (USA) Staats/Fox Shox
2. Katrina Miller (Aus) Jamis Bicycles
3. Tara Llanes (USA) Giant Pearl Izumi
4. Tracy Moseley (GBr) Kona Clarks Fac Team
5. Tai-Lee Muxlow (Aus) Tioga Orange
5. Melissa Buhl (USA) Khs
5. Fionn Griffiths (GBr) Foes Azonic
5. Lisa Sher (USA) Chumba Wumba
9. Mio Suemasa (Jpn) Trek-Volkswagen
9. Michelle Dumaresq (Can) Santa Cruz
9. Gale Dahlager (USA) Astrix Poison Spider
9. Hiroko Inomata (Jpn) Foes/Credit
9. Anka Martin (RSA) Turner Honda
9. Holly Kuhn (USA) Eclipse/Zooyork
9. Maxine Irving (USA) Eco Lips
9. Jessica Vogt (USA) Team Rpm/Yeti
9. Marla Streb (USA) Luna Women Mtb

Pro Men
1. Eric Carter (USA) Mongoose/Hyundai
2. Brian Lopes (USA) Hyundai GT Fox
3. Chris Powell (USA) Profile Racing
4. Neal Wood (Uk) Tioga Orange
5. Colin Bailey (USA) Maxxis Tires
5. Mike King (USA) Team Haro Lee Dungarees
5. Gary Houseman (USA) Intense Tire Systems Santa Cruz
5. John Kirkcaldie (Nzl) Maxxis
9. Curtis Keene (USA) WTB
9. Greg Minnaar (RSA) Global Racing
9. Sam Hill (Aus) Mad Catz Iron Hrs
9. Kirt Voreis (USA) Team Allride
9. David Klaassenvan (USA) Intense/Spy
9. Steve Peat (GBr) Royal Orange
9. Jared Graves (Aus) Mad Cats Iron Hrse
9. Brian Schmith (USA) Mongoose/Hyundai
17. Caile Noble (USA) Staats Bike
17. Robin Baloochi (USA) Sobe Cannondale
17. Joel Panozzo (Aus) WTB/Santa Cruz
17. Travis Collins (USA)
17. Chris Kovarik (Aus) Intense Cycles
17. Ross Milan (USA) Yeti
17. Nathan Rennie (Aus) Mad Catz Iron Hrs
17. John Waddell (Aus) Intense Tires Santa Cruz
17. Dale Holmes (GBr) KHS
17. Mick Hannah (USA) Haro Lee Dungarees
17. Rich Houseman (USA) Intense Tire Systems Santa Cruz
17. Matt Thompson (USA) Big Crank Racin
17. Mikey Day (USA) Staats Bikes
17. Jeff Evans (USA) Intense/Romic/Bolle
17. Scott Sharples (Aus) Yeti
17. Aaron Peters (USA) Supheros Wtb

Junior Men
1. Evan Turpen (USA) Mr Es Racing
2. Cory Gustafson (USA) Foes-Azonic
3. Garrick Anderson (USA) 123bikes.Com
4. Jhon Bonham (USA) Azonic Fox Shox
5. Kyle Strait (USA) Redbull/Oakley
5. Curtis Zamora (USA) Deuce Kustom/Atomic
5. Thomas Aaby (USA) Balanced Rock
5. Brandon Scott (USA)
9. Taylor Sage (USA) Insane Wayne Bomb Squad
9. Cameron Zink (USA) Super Heros
9. David Camp (USA) Bcd
9. James Schwanke (USA)
9. Tyler Jorgenson (USA) No Breaks Racing
9. Tim Kachel (USA) Planet X
9. Michael Ontiveros (USA) The Fix Bike Shop
9. Cole Bangert (USA) Colorado Bike Ser
17. Sean Mcclendon (USA) 123bikes.Com
17. Cameron Mccaul (USA) Mr E's Cyclery
17. Chris Ginzton (USA) Sports Plus
17. Dominick Demaio (USA) Oakley/Hcor.Com
17. Hayden Price (USA) Go Ride Smith
17. Billy Delacroix (USA) Rpm
17. Jeremy Teman (USA) Mr. E's
17. Avery Buch (USA) Evil Bikes/E13
17. Mark Hower (USA) Chumba Wumba-/A
17. Matt Mirell (USA) 123bikes.Com
17. Jeff Brines (USA)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.