Canadian Cyclist


September 22/03 8:16 am - Nella Cramaro World Cycling Grand Prix Update, Edmonton Cyclo-cross

Posted by Editoress on 09/22/03

Nella Cramaro World Cycling Grand Prix
Courtesy St. Catharines Cycling Club


The Nella Cramaro World Cycling Grand Prix (UCI 1.13 for Juniors, 1.14 for Espoirs) will take place on Sunday, October 5, 2003.

For safety reasons, the organizers of the Nella Cramaro World Cycling Grand Prix have moved the course to the Town of Pelham, Ontario.(immediately southwest of the original course), approximately 45 minutes east of Hamilton.

Although there are several national teams from three continents currently registered for this pre-worlds race, there is still opportunity for local area teams/clubs and individual riders to enter.

For more information visit or email

Edmonton Cyclo-cross
Courtesy Pedalhead Roadworks

The first race in the Pedalhead Roadworks Cyclo Cross Cup took place under balmy conditions. The Grote Prijs Pedaalkop was held at Tiger Goldstick Park, home of the 2001 Cross Nationals and utilized the Nationals course. Conditions were extremely dry, making for some fast lap times and road tactics. The Open Men's race had defending National Champion Roddi Lega and current Masters National Champion Sean Barr battling it out. Roddi used his bunny hopping skills to create a gap on the always savage Bacardiberg, and take the win.

Last years Cross Cup women's winner Samantha Nicholson attacked from the gun and immediately opened a gap. She would slowly build on that gap and ride to her first win of the Cross season.

Open Men 60 Min.

1. Roddi Lega (United)
2. Sean Barr (Pedalhead)
3. Byron Davis (Pedalhead)
4. Todd Barraclough (Juventus)
5. Cp Walsh (Synergy)
6. Craig Good (Synergy)
7. Peter Toth (ERTC)
8. Steve Martins (Hardcore)
9. Evan Sherman (Hardcore)
10. Mike Sarnecki (United)
11. Andre Sutton (Hardcore)
12. John Twells- Pedalhead)

1 Lap
13. Dave Eliis (Pedalhead)
14. Ross Anderson (Calgary Cycle)
15. Pat Doyle (Dead Goat)
16. Jp Roy (Synergy)
Dnf. Stephen Ferris (Blizzard)

Open Women 45 Min.

1. Samantha Nicholson (Bianchi/Bike Shop)
2. Lisa Licis (Hardcore)
3. Kristin Campbell (Pedalhead)
4. Trish Grajczyk (Deadgoat)
5. Anette Svederus (United)

Master Men 45 Min.

1. Andy Achuff (Pedalhead)
2. Brennan Bagdan (Hardcore)
3. Brian Licis (Hardecore)
4. Greg Achtem (Bow Cycle)
5. Ted Dahms (Pedalhead)
6. Brys Francis (United)
7. Ross Anderson (Calgary Cycle)
8. Bruce Penner (United)
9. Tim Brezsnyak (Dead Goat)
10. John Riess (Ind.)
11. Vaughn Shears (Pedalhead)
12. Derrill Shuttleworth (Pedalhead)
13. Michael Meers (Projek 1)
14. Richard Verveort (Crankmasters)
15. Pat Ferris (Blizzard)

Junior 45 Min.

1. Stephen Ferris (Blizzard)
2. Spencer Smitheman (Juventus)
3. Will Menteeth (Juventus)

Sport 45 Min.

1. Paul Ignatiek (ERTC)
2. Kevin Noble (United)
3. Tracey Shearer (Juventus)
4. James Rasmessen (United)
5. Harley Desprey (Velocity)

1 Lap
Dan Fox
Jan Sachrack
Dan Bradley
Tim Riess
John S.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.