Canadian Cyclist


September 23/03 12:24 pm - Men's & Women's Road Teams Announced for Worlds

Posted by Editor on 09/23/03

The Canadian Cycling Association has announced the team selection for the Elite Mens and Women’s road races at the Road World Championships in Hamilton. For the men the team will consist of Dominique Perras, Eric Wohlberg, Michael Barry and Mark Walters. For the women it will be Genevieve Jeanson, Lyne Bessette, Sue Palmer-Komar, Amy Moore, Manon Jutras and Erinne Willock.

There are no surprises in the men’s selection; these riders are the obvious choices. On the women’s side, the first three were pretty much guaranteed, and Manon Jutras, based on her season until her crash (and subsequent broken collarbone) at Road Nationals was also a strong candidate. Similarly, Amy Moore has had a strong season as a teammate of Bessette, and has shown that she can be a team rider. After the retirement from cycling of Clara Hughes, this opened a spot up, which has now gone to Erinne Willock instead of either Cybil DiGuistini or Anne Samplonius. Willock is a young rider who has shown a lot of progress this year, so it appears that the goal is to introduce her to the next level of competition for the future.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.