Canadian Cyclist


September 24/03 8:49 am - Grand Prix Féminin International du Canada: Prologue Results

Posted by Editoress on 09/24/03

Grand Prix Féminin International du Canada


Canadian time trial champion Lyne Bessette (Team Canada) of Knowlton, Quebec won the prologue of the Grand Prix Feminin International du Canada on Wednesday, taking the Leader's Jersey. Bessette finished the 1.1 kilometre circuit in 1 minute and 28 seconds, one second in front of American Tina Mayolo-Pic, with Germany's Judith Arndt third, at same time.

The GP Feminin is one of the largest internationally sanctioned women's stage races in Canada, attracting a field of 64 riders from 13 countries. The field includes three former world champions, and is being used by many countries as final preparation for the world championships, which will take place in Hamilton, Ontario October 6-12.

Bessette, who is still recovering from a broken collarbone she suffered less than a month ago at a race in Germany, was pleased and surprised with her win.

"No, I wasn't expecting this at all. I came here to get ready for the Worlds, and I am surprised at how good I feel after not racing for three and a half weeks. The break healed way faster than I thought it could, so I am feeling much better about my conditioning. This race is going to be good for me - I need hard racing to finish my preparation, so we will work hard to defend the jersey."

1. Lyne Bessette (Can) Équipe Nationale du Canada1:28
2. Tina Mayolo-Pic (USA) Genesis Scuba/FFCCat 0:01
3. Judith Arndt (Ger) German National Team0:01
4. Sandy Espeseth (Can) Équipe Nationale du Canada0:02
5. Julie Bélanger (Can) Équipe ACC Hamilton 20030:02
6. Magalie Boulay (Can) Équipe ACC Hamilton 20030:02
7. Kate Nichols (Aus) Australian National Team0:02
8. Audrey Lemieux (Can) Équipe ACC Hamilton 20030:02
9. Sharron Van Dromme (Bel) Équipe Nationale de Belgique0:02
10. Émilie Roy (Can) Équipe Québec0:02
11. Jessica Ridder (Aus) Australian National Team0:03
12. Madeleine Lindberg (Swe) Équipe Mixte0:03
13. Svetlana Boubnenkova (Rus) Russia National Team0:03
14. Ekaterina Naumova (Rus) Russia National Team0:03
15. Amy Moore (Can) Équipe Nationale du Canada0:03
16. Candice Blickem (USA) Genesis Scuba/FFCC0:03
17. Theresa Senff (Ger) German National Team0:03
18. Heidi Van De Vijver (Bel) Équipe Nationale de Belgique0:04
19. Miho Oki (Jpn) Équipe Mixte0:04
20. Bogumila Matusiak (Pol) Polish National Team0:04
21. Evy Van Damme (Bel) Équipe Nationale de Belgique0:04
22. Karen Bockel (Ger) German National Team0:04
23. Isabella Wieser (Aut) Équipe Mixte0:04
24. Milda Galdikaite (Ltu) Lithuania National Team0:04
25. Malgorzata Wysocka (Pol) Polish National Team0:04
26. Joanna Ignasiak (Pol) Polish National Team0:05
27. Andrea Graus (Aut) Équipe Mixte0:05
28. Corine Hierckens (Bel) Équipe Nationale de Belgique0:05
29. Paulina Brzezna (Pol) Polish National Team0:05
30. Anna Sipurzynska (Pol) Polish National Team0:05
31. Candice Sullivan (Aus) Australian National Team0:05
32. Veronique Belleter (Bel) Équipe Nationale de Belgique0:05
33. Manon Jutras (Can) Équipe Nationale du Canada0:05
34. Anna Skawinska (Pol) Polish National Team0:05
35. Iona Wynter (Jam) Genesis Scuba/FFCC0:05
36. Christiane Soeder (Aut) Équipe Mixte0:05
37. Iryna Shpilyova (Ukr) Ukraine National Team0:06
38. Olga Zabelinskaia (Rus) Russia National Team0:06
39. Cristal Yap (USA) Équipe Composite Proco0:06
40. Maggie Shirley (USA) Genesis Scuba/FFCC0:06
41. Liza Rachetto (USA) Équipe Composite Proco0:07
42. Modesta Vzesniauskaite (Ltu) Lithuania National Team0:07
43. Valentyna Karpenko (Ukr) Ukraine National Team0:07
44. Mathilde Hupin (Can) Équipe Québec0:08
45. Tina Liebig (Ger) German National Team0:08
46. Stéphanie Bourbeau (Can) Équipe Québec0:08
47. Anna Milkowski (USA) Équipe Composite Proco0:09
48. Julie Hutsebaut (Can) Équipe ACC Hamilton 20030:09
49. Natalia Boyarskaya (Rus) Russia National Team0:09
50. Svetlana Pauliukaite (Ltu) Lithuania National Team0:09
51. Iryna Chuzhynova (Ukr) Ukraine National Team0:09
52. Regina Schleicher (Ger) German National Team0:09
53. Veerle Ingels (Bel) Équipe Nationale de Belgique0:09
54. Hiroko Shimada (Jpn) Équipe Composite Proco0:10
55. Stephanie Williams (Aus) Australian National Team0:10
56. Nataliya Kachalka (Ukr) Ukraine National Team0:10
57. Trixi Worrack (Ger) German National Team0:11
58. Ioulia Martissova (Rus) Russia National Team0:11
59. Jolanta Polikeviciute (Ltu) Lithuania National Team0:12
60. Erinne Willock (Can) Équipe Nationale du Canada0:13
61. Grace Fleury (USA) Genesis Scuba/FFCC0:13
62. Natalya Figurskaya (Ukr) Ukraine National Team0:13
63. Rasa Polikeviciute (Ltu) Lithuania National Team0:14
64. Élisa Gagnon (Can) Équipe Québec0:15


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.