Canadian Cyclist


February 25/04 8:59 am - Jeanson Takes U.S. Licence, Geelong Tour Final

Posted by Editor on 02/25/04

Jeanson Gets Licence in U.S.

Simon Drouin of Montreal's La Presse newspaper is reporting today that Genevieve Jeanson has received a racing licence in the United States, after delays in Quebec caused her to miss the Valley of the Sun race in Arizona earlier this month.

As we reported yesterday, Jeanson has experienced delays in obtaining a licence through the FQSC. The Quebec association has delayed her application, stating that they could not issue a licence until a final report was issued from the meeting Jeanson held with the CCA and FQSC in December to discuss the high hematocrit level she recorded at the Road Worlds, which led to her exclusion from the women's road race.

According to the La Presse report, the report was delayed because one of the committee members felt that there was not enough information to formulate a scientific opinion as to the causes of Jeanson's high reading. FQSC Director General Louis Barbeau said to La Presse that this meant that they (the FQSC) could not ensure the health of Jeanson, and therefore could not issue a licence.

This rather unusual, since riders who have high hematocrit readings normally take their 15 day "rest period", retest (to prove their hematocrit is back in the acceptable range), and then start competing again.

The delay by the FQSC appears to be more related to an ongoing battle for dominance between the associations (both FQSC and CCA) and Jeanson and her coach Andre Aubut. Jeanson and the associations have clashed for years over her participation in national team projects and Aubut's role at events such as world championships and Olympics.

A Rona spokesperson, Daniel Larouche, told La Presse that the UCI "suggested" the U.S. route, and that the CCA provided "support and approval".

The U.S. licence has no bearing on Jeanson's ability to represent Canada, and is normally the way foreign-based riders obtain licences when they live outside of their own country for the majority of the year. Jeanson's licence will still identify her as a Canadian.

Guy Maguire has posted the La Presse story here, and a brief summary appears on the Cyberpresse website here.

Geelong Tour - Australia

Stage 4 - Lara 115km

1 Sarah Ulmer (NZl) New Zealand 3:04:27
2 Nicole Freedman (Isr) World
3 Petra Rossner (Ger) Nurnberger
4 Miho Oki (Jpn) Japan
5 Katie Mactier (Aus) Jayco
6 Tanja Hennes (Ger) World
7 Rachel Heal (GBr) Great Britain
8 Sara Carrigan (Aus) QAS
9 Alison Wright (Aus) Nobili-Fanini
10 Hayley Rutherford (Aus) Nobili-Fanini

14 Mirjam Melchers (Ned) World
21 Dede Barry (USA) T-Mobile
24 Manon Jutras (Can) S.A.T.S.
28 Kimberly Bruckner (USA) T-Mobile
36 Amber Neben (USA) T-Mobile
40 Tina Mayola (USA) Jayco
43 Kristin Armstrong (USA) T-Mobile
47 Trixi Worrack (Ger) Nurnberger
54 Judith Arndt (Ger) Nurnberger
66 Jessica Phillips (USA) Nurnberger all s.t.
68 Stacey Peters (USA) T-Mobile 0:28
78 Meredith Miller (USA) S.A.T.S. 7:12
84 Cathy Marsal (Fra) Nobili-Fanini s.t.
dnf Melissa Holt (NZl) New Zealand

Final GC

1 Oenone Wood (Aus) AIS 6:13:50
2 Katie Mactier (Aus) Jayco at 0:06
3 Katherine Bates (Aus) NSWIS 0:08
4 Louise Yaxley (Aus) Jayco 0:18
5 Sarah Ulmer (NZl) New Zealand 0:21
6 Sara Carrigan (Aus) QAS 0:30
7 Kathy Watt (Aus) Freedom Machine 0:31
8 Margaret Hemsley (Aus) Nurnberger 0:35
9 Dede Barry (USA) T-Mobile s.t.
10 Kristin Armstrong (USA) T-Mobile 0:36

12 Mirjam Melchers (Ned) World 0:40
13 Manon Jutras (Can) S.A.T.S. 0:40
14 Amber Neben (USA) T-Mobile s.t.
15 Judith Arndt (Ger) Nurnberger 0:43
20 Tina Mayola (USA) Jayco 0:51
26 Kimberly Bruckner (USA) T-Mobile 0:57
32 Nicole Freedman (Isr) World 1:07
37 Jessica Phillips (USA) Nurnberger 1:14
39 Trixi Worrack (Ger) Nurnberger 1:15
41 Stacey Peters (USA) T-Mobile 1:17
54 Petra Rossner (Ger) Nurnberger 1:42
65 Cathy Marsal (Fra) Nobili-Fanini 8:21
66 Meredith Miller (USA) S.A.T.S. 8:25


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.