Canadian Cyclist


March 16/04 9:36 am - Burnaby Velodrome Grant, Waco Final Results

Posted by Editor on 03/16/04

Burnaby Velodrome Receives Grant
Courtesy Gordon Ross

The Burnaby Velodrome Club (BVC) is pleased to announce their successful infrastructure grant application under the Canada- BC Infrastructure Program. Under terms of this federal/provincial grant BVC will receive approximately $367,000 in grant funding to be matched by BVC's one-third contribution of $183,000. This $550,000 total funding will be used to make capital upgrades/improvements to the Harry Jerome Sports Centre including: spectator seating, improvements to the wooden track, improvements to the change room and washroom facilities and other improvements throughout the facility.

Through a separate arrangement, all grant money obtained for infrastructure can be applied to BVC's annual rent, effectively reducing BVC's annual rent payments by two-thirds over the next five years.

BVC will fund their portion of the infrastructure contribution through a combination of operating revenues and loans. The BVC Board is pleased to announce that the successful grant, along with steadily increasing numbers of riders and members over the past 18 months, solidifies their long-term business plan.

BVC looks forward to the benefits stability will bring, including the ability to make long term investments in new cycling programs from the community to elite levels. As the only indoor track cycling facility in Canada, the Burnaby Velodrome provides a unique opportunity to all the youth of Burnaby and the Lower Mainland who might be pursing an Olympic or World Championship dream.

BVC would like to thank the City of Burnaby; the BC Provincial Government including the Ministry of Small Business and Economic Development, and Sports Branch and Gaming Branch; the Federal Government; the Winter 2010 Bid Corporation; Cycling BC; the Canadian Cycling Association; members of the media; and the BVC membership for all of their hard work over the past months. BVC would also like to thank Volleyball BC who not only runs excellent volleyball programs out of the Harry Jerome Sports Centre, but has also worked with BVC over the past months to maximize utilization of this unique indoor facility.

Official press releases by the Canada-British Columbia Infrastructure Program can be found at:

Norba National XC #1 - Waco, Texas

Official stage 3 cross country and final general classification results

Pro Women
1 Alison Dunlap (Luna) 1:22:18.15
2 Alison Sydor (Rocky-Business Objects) 1:22:18.49
3 Katerina Hanusova (Luna) 1:24:33.32
4 Willow Koerber (RLX Ralph Lauren) 1:25:08.95
5 Susan Haywood (Trek-VW) 1:25:27.31
6 Chrissy Redden (Subaru-Gary Fisher) 1:25:47.28
7 Kiasra Bisaro ( 1:25:55.13

8 Kelli Emmett (Specialized) 1:26:35.61
9 Kerry Barnholt (Subaru-Gary Fisher) 1:27:30.59
10 Sarah Noble (Rocky-Business Objects) 1:28:51.50

11 Trish Sinclair ( 1:28:52.67

Final GC
1 Alison Sydor (Rocky-Business Objects) 2:01:46.30
2 Alison Dunlap (Luna) 2:02:00.50
3 Katerina Hanusova (Luna) 2:04:21.06
4 Willow Koerber (RLX Ralph Lauren) 2:05:25.05
5 Susan Haywood (Trek-VW) 2:05:25.26
6 Kiasra Bisaro ( 2:05:33.04
7 Chrissy Redden (Subaru-Gary Fisher) 2:05:55.58

8 Kelli Emmett (Specialized) 2:07:04.25
9 Kerry Barnholt (Subaru-Gary Fisher) 2:08:15.81
10 Trish Sinclair ( 2:09:32.42

11 Sarah Noble (Rocky-Business Objects) 2:09:42.46

Pro Men
1 Jeremiah Bishop (Trek-VW) 1:45:44
2 Geoff Kabush (Maxxis) 1:45:46
3 Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (RLX Ralph Lauren) 1:46:33
4 Ryder Hesjedal (Subaru-Gary Fisher) 1:47:03
5 Max Plaxton (Rocky-Business Objects) 1:47:08

6 Jason Sager (Thunderbird) 1:47:31
7 Liam Killeen (Subaru-Gary Fisher) 1:47:40
8 Andreas Hestler (Rocky-Business Objects) 1:48:10
9 Roland Green (Trek-VW) 1:48:20
10 Seamus McGrath (Haro) 1:48:25

11 Chris Sheppard (Haro) 1:50:22
16 Jesse Jakomait ( 1:52:46
17 Mathieu Toulouse ( 1:52:50
29 Peter Wedge (Kona-Clarks-Les Gets MTB) 1:54:57
33 Kris Sneddon (Kona-Clarks Factory) 1:55:04

Final GC
1 Geoff Kabush (Maxxis) 1:45:46
2 Ryder Hesjedal (Subaru-Gary Fisher) 1:47:03

3 Jeremiah Bishop (Trek-VW) 1:45:44
4 Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (RLX Ralph Lauren) 1:46:33
5 Max Plaxton (Rocky-Business Objects) 1:47:08
6 Seamus McGrath (Haro) 1:48:25

7 Liam Killeen (Subaru-Gary Fisher) 1:47:40
8 Jason Sager (Thunderbird) 1:47:31
9 Andreas Hestler (Rocky-Business Objects) 1:48:10
10 Roland Green (Trek-VW) 1:48:20

11 Chris Sheppard (Haro) 1:50:22
13 Mathieu Toulouse ( 1:52:50
15 Jesse Jakomait ( 1:52:46
22 Peter Wedge (Kona-Clarks-Les Gets MTB) 1:54:57
31 Kris Sneddon (Kona-Clarks Factory) 1:55:04


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.