Canadian Cyclist


March 17/04 11:01 am - B.C. Races, Canadians in U.S., Tirreno Final

Posted by Editor on 03/17/04

dEVo/Powerbar Spring Races Update
Courtesy Jeremy Storie

The March 20 and 21 dEVo/Powerbar Spring Races will have a much increased cash omnium for the A and B groups this weekend. Through the kind sponsorship of Open Road Communications, Realmortgage Services Inc., Ritter Aalhus Construction Mgt. Ltd., and Westlam Industries both the A and B groups will race for their regular prize purse on both Saturday and Sunday but as well there will be an overall omnium competition for the two races. The A group Omnium will battle it out, with the top 5 overall spots going for their share of a minimum $1000. The B group will do the same for at least $400. Entry fee will remain the same for all categories. Please visit for race details and maps.

Victoria MTB Race
Courtesy Barry Beck

On April, 25th, 04, the Schwalbe CC of Victoria will be hosting the second annual "Down n' Dirty at the Dump" mountain bike race. This year's edition will be known as "Dumpster Reloaded". The Hartland Mountainbike Park is located next to the Hartland Landfill. This wonderful mountainbike park is close to Victoria and is one of the only Municipal MTB parks in Canada. The park is stewarded by the Southern Island Mountain Bike Society.

Race information can be found at Race fees remain the same as last year's event: $10.00. This assumes that the racer is either a Cycling BC licensed or a member of a CBC affiliated club. We will have club membership sign-up on race day.

Sign-on at 10:00, racing at 12:00. This is a grassroots, no frills, race as you are, affair. We provide outstanding racing value and endeavor to encourage newcomers and experienced riders alike. The race course is perhaps the best all-around loop in B.C., and last year's attendees raved about it. We look forward to a large turn-out again, and maybe we will exceed last year's numbers (140).

Barry Beck

Canadians in U.S.
Courtesy Don Addison

Newark Grand-Prix, N-J - March 6-7, 2004

Stage 1 - 44 miles, 87 starters
1 Raphael Urzedwoski Navigator( H/G) 1:37:42
2 Ed Beman Navigator (H/G) s.t.
3 Mike Rosemhaus Northeasr Hadware s.t.

8 Marc-Wayne Addison SG/Espoirs de Laval at 0:22

Stage # 2 - Bethel, CT 65km (70 min + 5 laps), 72 starters
1 Timothy Unkert Quad Cycles 1:27:04
2 Andrew Ruiz CCB/Volkswagan at 0:03
3 Brian Wirtz Bethel CSC 0:05
4 David McCutcheon Kingston Cyclery 0:08

8 Marc-Wayne Addison SG/Espoirs de Laval s.t.

Tirreno-Adriatico - Italy

Stage 7 - San Benedetto Del Tronto 162km

1 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 4:43:29
2 Erik Zabel (Ger) T-Mobile Team
3 Gabriele Balducci (Ita) Saeco
4 Danilo Hondo (Ger) Gerolsteiner
5 Andrus Aug (Est) Domina Vacanze
6 Marco Zanotti (Ita) Vini Caldirola-Nobili Rubinetterie
7 Massimo Strazzer (Ita) Saunier Duval-Prodir
8 Alexandre Usov (Blr) Phonak Hearing Systems
9 Oscar Freire Gomez (Esp) Rabobank
10 Guido Trenti (USA) Fassa Bortolo

13 Paolo Bettini (Ita) Quick.Step-Davitamon
19 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Cofidis, le credit par Telephone
30 Igor Astarloa (Esp) Cofidis, le credit par Telephone
48 Michael Boogerd (Ned) Rabobank
77 Peter Van Petegem (Bel) Lotto-Domo
112 Johan Museeuw (Bel) Quick.Step-Davitamon at 0:12

Final GC

1 Paolo Bettini (Ita) Quick.Step-Davitamon 33:47:06
2 Oscar Freire Gomez (Esp) Rabobank at 0:05
3 Erik Zabel (Ger) T-Mobile Team 0:11
4 Igor Astarloa (Esp) Cofidis, le credit par Telephone 0:18
5 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Cofidis, le credit par Telephone 0:21
6 Michael Boogerd (Ned) Rabobank 0:22
7 Rolf Aldag (Ger) T-Mobile Team 0:26
8 Giuliano Figueras (Ita) Ceramiche Panaria-Margres s.t.
9 Angel Vicioso Arcos (Esp) Liberty Seguros 0:27
10 Joaquin Rodriguez Oliver (Esp) Saunier Duval-Prodir 0:28

22 Peter Van Petegem (Bel) Lotto-Domo s.t.
68 Johan Museeuw (Bel) Quick.Step-Davitamon 12:03
75 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 13:36
95 Guido Trenti (USA) Fassa Bortolo 21:26

Points Classification

1 Erik Zabel (Ger) T-Mobile Team 46 points
2 Paolo Bettini (Ita) Quick.Step-Davitamon 43
3 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Fassa Bortolo 40
4 Oscar Freire Gomez (Esp) Rabobank 39
5 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Cofidis, le credit par Telephone 31

Mountains Classification

1 Rolf Aldag (Ger) T-Mobile Team 15 points
2 Igor Pugaci (Mda) De Nardi 13
3 Rubens Bertogliati (Sui) Saunier Duval-Prodir 13
4 Patrick Calcagni (Sui) Vini Caldirola-Nobili Rubinetterie 8
5 Andreas Klier (Ger) T-Mobile Team 5


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.