Canadian Cyclist


March 20/04 11:05 am - Milan-San Remo, Primavera

Posted by Editor on 03/20/04

Milan-San Remo

Oscar Freire (Rabobank) won the bunch sprint to take the Milan-San Remo ahead of Erik Zabel (T-Mobile). A breakaway of 5 riders went clear at 60 kilometres and stayed away for 180 kilometres. Paolo Bettini (Quick.Step-Davitamon) tried to break away on the final Poggio, which worked last year for his victory, but was brought back on the descent, setting the stage for a bunch sprint finish. Freire squeaked by the four-time winner from Germany after Zabel raised his arms in celebration too early!

1 Oscar Freire (Esp) Rabobank 7:11:23
2 Erik Zabel (Ger) T-Mobile
3 Stuart O'Grady (Aus) Cofidis
4 Alessandro Petacchi (Ita) Fassa Bortolo
5 Max van Heeswijk (Ned) USPS-Berry Floor
6 Igor Astarloa (Esp) Cofidis
7 Romans Vainsteins (Lat) Lampre
8 Paolo Bettini (Ita) Quick.Step-Davitamon
9 Miguel Martin Perdiguero (Esp) Saunier Duval
10 Peter Van Petegem (Bel) Lotto-Domo all s.t.

Primavera Rosa Women's World Cup #2

Zoulfia Zabirova (Let's Go Finland) attacked on the Cipressa to come in solo after 118 kilometres. Mirjam Melchers (Farm Frites-Hartol) took second, and World Cup #1 winner Oenone Wood (AIS) took third. Woods will retain the overall leader's jersey.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.