Canadian Cyclist


March 22/04 8:57 am - Nova Update, St Kits Team, B.C. Results

Posted by Editor on 03/22/04

Desert Nova Classic

Very brief men's results, courtesy Lesley Tomlinson at Rocky-Business Objects.

Stage 3 XC
1 Ryder Hesjedal (Subaru-Gary Fisher)
2 Liam Killeen (Subaru-Gary Fisher)
3 Andreas Hestler (Rocky-Business Objects)
4 Geoff Kabush (Maxxis)
5 Chris Sheppard (Haro-Lee Dungarees)

1 Hesjedal
2 Killeen
3 Hestler
4 Kabush
5 Max Plaxton (Rocky-Business Objects)

St Catherines CC Team
Courtesy Tim Lefebvre

The St. Catharines Cycling Club is pleased to announce the formation of a Senior 1-2 Racing Team for 2004. Already boasting seven riders amidst the Gears and Jet Fuel squads, the SCCC has put together another six riders to fly the green, red and white colors. Supported primarily by the club itself, sponsors include Fonthill Lumber, Rapid City Cycle, Fuji Bicycles, Sidi shoes, Bell helmets and Louis Garneau clothing.

The schedule will include all Ontario O-Cup events and Ontario races, as well as anything in close proximity in the U.S.


Ben DeBray
Stef Kramer
Allen Worozbyt
Eric Stock
Rob Hiscock
Ramon Mira de Orduna
Junior Greg Knapp and Cadet Alex Korten will also be supported through this program.

Victoria Cycling League #2
Courtesy David McKinney

Round two of the Victoria Cycling League kicked off under beautiful conditions. The near 60 competitors were greeted by brilliant sunshine and 14 degree temperatures. The course was Caleb Pike - a 2.9km road course with a steep descent that carries the rider up a steep hill and back down into a fast 90 degree corner. Both the A group and the B group races were fairly animated from the start with attacks and counters.

Thank you to all who participated and a special thanks goes out to the volunteers who made this race possible.

A Group
1. Matt Usborne
2. Steve Bunnin-Cycledia
3. Charles Dethridge-Sidney Velo
4. Ryan MacNamara-Team Coastal
5. Martin Wilock-Victoria Wheelers

B Group
1. Craig Richey-Uvic Tri
2. ?????
3. Dave Perrin
4. David Illegible sign in
5. Lauren Kildaw-Uvic Tri

Top Female Finishers
1. Wendy Simms-Frontrunners
2. Alena Radonsky-Oak Bay Bikes
3. Jenny Trew-Oak Bay Bikes
4. Adriene Steelford-Uvic Tri
5. Shannon Malory-Uvic

Blizzard Bike Club - Fort St. John, BC
Courtesy Pat Ferris

March 21/04

Mike Heintzman won a tough 'Frozen John Roubaix' race on Sunday. He won the 18 km event with a time of 44:22 minutes. Pat Ferris was second at 45:29 and Stephen Ferris third with 47:10.

That leaves 1998 winner Pat Ferris and Mike Heintzman tied for points going into next Sunday's final Beatton Park Roubaix. 2003 co-winner Stephen Ferris is in second spot with 6 points and Gary Hilderman third with 2 points.

A record crowd (for this race) of 12 riders came out under warmish conditions. The gravel section featured a muddy/snowy hill and a fast snowy downhill. The trophy distance was 4 laps.

Pat Ferris led the pace up the fist half of the tough 'Frozen John' hill. Stephen Ferris took over to hold a lead over the top, for the first lap. A small group formed on the pavement with Pat and Stephen Ferris with Mike Heintzman.

Mike then took advantage of a speedy downhill stretch to grab a lead in lap three, which he held until the finish. Pat Ferris came in 1:07 later. Stephen Ferris had 47:10 for 3rd. Gary Hilderman was 4th at 54:51 and Matt Jarnagin 5th at 1:00:12.

Keith Koebel won the two-lap event with 29:44 minutes. Gord Harris was second at 30:16 and Ken Nix third with 32:12. Adam Currie did 34:12 for 4th, Lucie Janosek 5th at 35:04, Barb Polehoykie 6th 35:39 and Lisa Verbisky 7th at 39:40.

It all comes down to next Sunday's Beatton Park Roubaix. It has more pavement but has a lot more hills than the other two. Race time at 2:00 pm.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.