Canadian Cyclist


March 24/04 4:58 am - Redlands Update, U.S. in Puerto Rico, Setmana Catalana

Posted by Editor on 03/24/04

Redlands Update

Our correspondent Leigh Hargrove ( has just called in a report from the halfway point in the women's 85 kilometre road race. The peloton is all together still, although there was a bit of a split after a crash 35 kilometres into the stage. Everyone appears to be taking it easy until the major climb, which is shortly before the end of the stage. Thus far the riders have contested two Queen of the Mountains sprints, with Genevieve Jeanson (Rona) winning the first and finishing second in the second QoM. Melanie McQuaid (Ford) was second in the first QoM. Sue Palmer-Komar (Genesis-Scuba FFCC) won the second QoM and Lyne Bessette (Quark) was third.

Wells Wins in Puerto Rico
Courtesy USA Cycling

RINCON, Puerto Rico (March 24, 2004) - In an effort to secure valuable UCI points to boost their chances at selection to the U.S. Olympic Team later this summer, Americans Jeremiah Bishop (Harrisonburg, Va.) and Todd Wells (Durango, Colo.) traveled to Puerto Rico to contest the Ultimate Dirt Challenge, a UCI E1 ranked event offering 40 UCI points to the winner.

Wells took the victory over Puerto Rico's Milton Miranda while Bishop placed third.

Under USA Cycling's Olympic Selection Procedures, the two men's start spots in Athens will likely be determined by a combination of UCI ranking and 2004 World Cup standings after the primary selection procedure, a top-three finish at the 2003 Mountain Bike World Championships, went unfulfilled.

The next event on the domestic UCI Mountain Bike Calendar is the Hyundai Sea Otter Classic in Monterey, Calif. April 14-18.

1. Todd Wells (USA)
2. Milton Miranda (PRC)
3. Jeremiah Bishop (USA)
4. Chris Eatough (USA)

Setmana Catalana - Italy

Stage 3 - Castello d'Empuries to Reixac 159 km

1 Isaac Galvez (Esp) Illes Balears-Banesto 3:44:12
2 Erik Zabel (Ger) T-Mobile Team
3 M.A. Martin Perdiguero (Esp) Saunier Duval-Prodir
4 Josep Jufre (Esp) Relax-Bodysol
5 Fabian Cancellara (Sui) Fassa Bortolo
6 Massimiliano Lelli (Ita) Cofidis, le credit par Telephone
7 Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Vini Caldirola-Nobili Rubinetterie
8 Carlos Torrent (Esp) Costa De Almeria-Paternina
9 Vicente Reynes (Esp) Illes Balears-Banesto
10 Alejandro Valverde (Esp) Kelme-Costa Blanca

12 Frank Vandenbroucke (Bel) Fassa Bortolo
38 Alex Zuelle (Sui) Phonak Hearing Systems
44 Roberto Heras (Esp) Liberty Seguros
52 Tom Danielson (USA) Fassa Bortolo
67 Levi Leipheimer (USA) Rabobank all s.t.
77 Jan Ullrich (Ger) T-Mobile Team at 4:07
96 Cadel Evans (Aus) T-Mobile Team s.t.


1 M.A. Martin Perdiguero (Esp) Saunier Duval-Prodir 12:32:49
2 Fabian Cancellara (Sui) Fassa Bortolo
3 Josep Jufre (Esp) Relax-Bodysol
4 Alejandro Valverde (Esp) Kelme-Costa Blanca
5 Beat Zberg (Sui) Gerolsteiner
6 Frank Vandenbroucke (Bel) Fassa Bortolo
7 Stefano Garzelli (Ita) Vini Caldirola-Nobili Rubinetterie
8 Aitor Osa (Esp) Illes Balears-Banesto
9 Alberto Contador (Esp) Liberty Seguros
10 Egoi Martinez (Esp) Euskaltel-Euskadi

19 Alex Zuelle (Sui) Phonak Hearing Systems all s.t.
25 Levi Leipheimer (USA) Rabobank at 0:37
26 Erik Zabel (Ger) T-Mobile Team 1:09
36 Cadel Evans (Aus) T-Mobile Team 5:25
60 Roberto Heras (Esp) Liberty Seguros 18:32
78 Jan Ullrich (Ger) T-Mobile Team 27:24
85 Tom Danielson (USA) Fassa Bortolo 29:40


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2024 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.