Canadian Cyclist


April 1/04 9:33 am - De Panne Stage 3, Canadians at AMBC #2, U.S. Teams

Posted by Editor on 04/1/04

Three Days of De Panne - Belgium

Stage 3 - De Panne 116 km

1 Marco Zanotti (Ita) Vini Caldirola-Nobili Rubinetterie 2:36:06
2 Baden Cooke (Aus)
3 Tom Boonen (Bel) Quick.Step-Davitamon
4 Steven De Jongh (Ned) Rabobank
5 Magnus Backstedt (Swe) Alessio-Bianchi
6 Michel Van Haecke (Bel) MrBookmaker-Palmans
7 Andris Nauduzs (Lat) Domina Vacanze
8 Yuri Metlushenko (Ukr) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
9 Christoph Roodhooft (Bel) MrBookmaker-Palmans
10 Luciano Pagliarini (Bra) Lampre

26 George Hincapie (USA) US Postal Service
34 Antonio Cruz (USA) US Postal Service
44 David Clinger (USA) Domina Vacanze
48 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) US Postal Service
68 Stijn Devolder (Bel) US Postal Service
83 Johan Museeuw (Bel) Quick.Step-Davitamon
101 Pavel Padrnos (Cze) US Postal Service
103 Benoit Joachim (Lux) US Postal Service all s.t.
132 Guennadi Mikhailov (Rus) US Postal Service at 2:33


1 Baden Cooke (Aus) 13:12:08
2 Danilo Hondo (Ger) Gerolsteiner at 0:10
3 George Hincapie (USA) US Postal Service 0:16
4 Gerben Lowik (Ned) Chocolade Jacques Wincor-Nixdorf 0:18
5 Juan Flecha Giannoni (Esp) Fassa Bortolo 0:20
6 Bert Grabsch (Ger) Phonak Hearing Systems
7 Marcus Ljungqvist (Swe) Alessio-Bianchi
8 Lorenzo Bernucci (Ita) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago
9 Leon Van Bon (Ned) Lotto-Domo
10 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) US Postal Service

11 David Clinger (USA) Domina Vacanze
19 Stijn Devolder (Bel) US Postal Service all s.t.
23 Tom Boonen (Bel) Quick.Step-Davitamon 0:59
25 Johan Museeuw (Bel) Quick.Step-Davitamon 1:00
40 Antonio Cruz (USA) US Postal Service 1:01
63 Benoit Joachim (Lux) US Postal Service
73 Pavel Padrnos (Cze) US Postal Service both s.t.
85 Peter Van Petegem (Bel) Lotto-Domo 3:34
113 Guennadi Mikhailov (Rus) US Postal Service 8:26

Young Rider Classification

1 Lorenzo Bernucci (Ita) Landbouwkrediet-Colnago 13:12:28
2 Ryder Hesjedal (Can) US Postal Service
3 Xavier Florencio Cabre (Esp) Relax-Bodysol
4 Fabian Cancellara (Sui) Fassa Bortolo
5 Stijn Devolder (Bel) US Postal Service all s.t.

Canadians at AMBC #2 - Columbia, Tennessee
Courtesy Terrance Grant

Matt and Jamie continue to wreak havoc on the Americans. Matt wins AMBC #2 while Jame takes a solid 5th in the Pro/Semi-Pro cat.

1 Matt Hadley 1:50:09
2 Andy Johnston at 0:54
3 Brian Schworm 2:09
4 Steve Carwile 2:56
5 Jamie Lamb 3:09

U.S. Team for Pan Am MTB Championships
Courtesy USA Cycling

Colorado Springs, Colo. (March 31, 2004)--USA Cycling announced today the mountain bike team that will represent the United States at the 2004 Pan American Championships in Baños, Ecuador April 22-25.

In the elite women's category, Alison Dunlap (Colorado Springs, Colo.) received an automatic nomination based on her placing as the first American at the 2004 NORBA National Mountain Bike Series opener in Waco, Texas. Sue Haywood (Davis, W.Va.) also received an automatic nomination as a result of her fifth place finish in Waco. Mary McConneloug (Fairfax, Calif.) received a discretionary nomination and will also compete in Ecuador.

The trio is currently involved in a campaign to earn valuable UCI points necessary for selection to the 2004 U.S. Olympic Mountain Bike Team. After the first selection criteria, a top-three finish at the 2003 Mountain Bike World Championships, went unfulfilled, the sole woman that will represent the U.S. in Athens will likely be determined by UCI ranking. Under UCI guidelines, continental championships offer 125 points to the winner. Only Olympic Games, World Cups, and World Championships carry a higher available point value.

Each of the three women has already posted impressive results this year. McConneloug took wins in four consecutive early season races in Cyprus while Dunlap followed up her win at the Maxxis Cup in Portugal two weeks ago with a second place finish at the GP Provincia di Lucca in Italy. Meanwhile, Haywood has focused her efforts on training having just completed a heavy block of road racing at the Pomona Valley Stage Race and the Redlands Bicycle Classic as a guest rider of the T-Mobile Professional Cycling Team.

The elite men's team will consist of 2004 U.S. National Mountain Bike Champion, Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Boulder, Colo.), Jeremiah Bishop (Harrisonburg, Va.), Todd Wells (Durango, Colo.) and Adam Craig (Bangor, Maine). Bishop kicked off the 2004 season with a victory in the cross country event in Waco, the first by an American male in three years at a NORBA National.

Horgan-Kobelski and Bishop grabbed automatic nominations while Wells and Craig received discretionary nods. Similar to the women's Olympic selection, one of the two men's mountain bike spots in Athens could possibly be determined by overall UCI ranking. Currently, Horgan-Kobelski holds the distinction of the highest ranked American with Bishop a close second. Those two, along with Wells and Craig, are the likely candidates for nominations to the U.S. Olympic Team. Like the women, the men have been racing often and early in 2004 with great success. Bishop took home a win at the Voroklini International in Cyprus and put in a second place effort at the Ultimate Dirt Challenge in Puerto Rico behind Wells.

At last year's Pan American Championships, the Canadian women placed first and second with Alison Sydor and Kiara Bisaro respectively while Jose Adrian Bonilla (CRC) claimed the men's title.

U.S. U23 National Mountain Bike team member, Sam Schultz (Missoula, Mont.) and Tristen Schouten (Sheboygan, Wisc.) will ride in the U23 category in Ecuador.

Kristi Henne (Plainview, Ark.) and Holly Liskie will contest the junior women's event and Noah Singer (Little Rock, Ark.), Carson Worts (Warner Springs, Calif.), Chris Hinshaw (Winterhaven, Fla.), Alex Hodge (Bend, Ore.) Matt Skeen (Summerfield, N.C.), and Matt Mullican (Indianapolis, Ind.) will comprise the junior men's team.

At just shy of 6000 feet, Baños is located on the eastern slopes of the Andes at the foot of an active volcano 170km outside of Quito.

U.S. Announces Manchester Track World Cup Squad
Courtesy USA Cycling

Colorado Springs, Colo. (March 31, 2004)--USA Cycling announced today the team that will represent the United States at round three of the UCI Track World Cup in Manchester, Great Britain April 9-11.

The men's team will consist of Giddeon Massie (Colorado Springs, Colo.), Marty Nothstein (Orefield, Pa.), Adam Duvendeck (Colorado Springs, Colo.), Christian Stahl (Bethany, Conn.), Colby Pearce (Boulder, Colo.), Jamie Carney (Boulder, Colo.), Walker Starr (San Diego, Calif.), Andy Lakatosh (Trexlertown, Pa.), and Mike Tillman (Santa Monica, Calif.).

The women's team will be represented by Tanya Lindenmuth (Trexlertown, Pa), Jennie Reed (Kirkland, Wash.), Erin Mirabella (Kenosha, Wisc.), Rebecca Quinn (Quakertown, Pa.) and Ashley Kimmet (Trexlertown, Pa.).

Team USA

Giddeon Massie (Team Sprint, Sprint)
Marty Nothstein (Keirin)
Adam Duvendeck (Team Sprint)
Christian Stahl (Team Sprint, Kilometer Time Trial)
Colby Pearce (Points Race, Madison)
Jamie Carney (Madison)
Walker Starr (Scratch Race)
Andy Lakatosh (Sprint, Team Sprint)
Mike Tillman (Individual Pursuit)
Tanya Lindemuth (Sprint, 500M Time Trial, Team Sprint, Keirin)
Jennie Reed (Sprint, Team Sprint, Keirin)
Erin Mirabella (Individual Pursuit, Points Race, Scratch Race)
Rebecca Quinn (Scratch Race)
Ashley Kimmet (Points Race)


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.