Canadian Cyclist


April 9/04 9:07 am - Canadian Team for Manchester, Blizzard Bike Club News

Posted by Editoress on 04/9/04

Canadian Team for Manchester

The CCA has announced the names of the riders who will compete at the Track World Cup this weekend in Manchester, England. The team of five riders will be led by National Team Coach, Eric Van Den Eynde. The team consists of Lori-Ann Muenzer (Sprint and 500m events), Steen Madsen (Sprint), Mark Ernsting (Point Race and Individual Pursuit), Alex Clouthier (Madison) and Martin Gilbert (Madison, Scratch). This is another chance for our Canadian Team to earn qualifying points for the upcoming Track World Championships to be held in Melbourne, Australia on the final weekend in May. The next and final opportunity for our riders to qualify will be at the final World Cup event which will be held in Sydney, Australia , May 14-16.

Blizzard Bike Club Fort St. John, BC
Courtesy Pat Ferris

April 8, 2004

Joe Radench of Grande Prairie set a season's fastest time in front of a record crowd of 35 riders to win Stage #1 of the Spring Stage Race (SSR). His time of 23:43 was 1:28 minutes faster than second place, three-time SSR winner, Pat Ferris, who had 25:11. Three-time SSR winner Robert Martens was third at 25:20 minutes and Richard Howes 4th at 25:32. Stephen Ferris was 5th at 25:36.

Roubaix Cup winner Mike Hientzman was 6th at 26:02, Blaine Richter (GP) 26:44, Mark Kildaw (GP) 27:39, Rod Lewis 28:21 and Roger St. Jean 29:05 rounded out the top ten.

Ed Fornelli had 29:12 for 11th, Rob Sipe 29:16, Gord Harris 29:41, Wim Kok 30:04, Sam Keats 30:07, Ken Nix 30:19, Brian Maddigan 30:38, Adam Currie 30:41, Doug Framst (Prince George) 31:05, Tara Wallace 31:22, Darren Guliov 31:37, Ross Garbutt 31:38, Jean Guillemette 31:40, Eric Lowry 31:54, four-time SSR winner Lisa Verbisky 32:45, David Ferris 33:25 and Barb Polehoykie 34:24.

Val Lewis won the 8 km time trial with 15:22. Marg Evens was second at 16:42, Debbie Gardiner third 17:16, Kyle Gardiner 17:49, Lois Harris 18:10, Cassie Baker 18:41 and Cayle Bell 21:25.

That all means Joe Radench is the early 'Adventure Bound' yellow jersey holder for the start of Stage #2, the Beatton Hillclimb, Friday morning. Tara Wallace is the Women's event leader and Eric Lowry leads the Under 19's.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.