Canadian Cyclist


April 21/04 10:37 am - Flèche Wallonne: Palmer 4th

Posted by Editoress on 04/21/04

Flèche Wallonne Belgium
Team Genesis Report

Sue Palmer-Komar finished a strong 4th in today's Flèche Wallonne

An early break by Lyne Bessette (CDN National) and Fabiana Luperini (Let's Go Finland) looked to be a solid one with the gap reaching over a minute. There was not a lot of interest by the pack at this point. As the two approached the 3rd last climb. Cote de Bohisseau, Geneviève Jeanson (RONA) attacked from the pack and started to bridge. This move got the pack quite "agitated" and started to chase as well. TWO Canadians in a break would be something to worry about.

Jeanson caught them at the top of the climb and Bessette countered. But by then the field was closing in. At the top of the 2nd last climb, Cote de Ahin, they were all back together.

Across the flats on the top, Sonia Huguet (French National Team and leader of the French cup after last Sunday's race that was won by Palmer-Komar), attacked and took a gap of 30 seconds. The pack was not QUITE able to bring her back and her gap at the finish line in Huy was 9 seconds.

1. Sonia Huguet (Fra) French National Team, 2:44:04
2. Hanka Kupfernagel (Ger) Vlaanderen-T-Interim Univega Ladies Team, at 0:09
3. Edita Pucinskaite (Ltu) S.C. Michela Fanini Record Rox, 0:18
4. Sue Palmer-Komar (Can) Canadian National Team, 0:20
5. Judith Arndt (Ger) Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung
6. Oenone Wood (Aus) Australian National Team
7. Trixi Worrack (Ger) Equipe Nürnberger Versicherung
8. Nicole Brandli (Sui) Michela Fanini
9. Olivia Gollan (Aus) Australian National Team
10. Barbara Heeb (Sui) Leitzsport Cycling, all s.t.
11. Sara Carrigan (Aus) Australian National Team, 0:29
12. Theresa Senff (Ger) German National Team
13. Priska Doppmann (Sui) Swiss National Team, both s.t.
14. Annette Beutler (Sui) Leitzsport Cycling, 0:31
15. Arenda Grimberg (Ned) Therme Skin Care, 0:32
16. Sharon Vandromme (Bel) Vlaanderen-T-Interim Univega Ladies Team, 0:34
17. Zoulfia Zabirova (Rus) Team Let's Go Finland, 0:37
18. Anita Valen (Nor) Team S.A.T.S.
19. Lyne Bessette (Can) Canadian National Team
30. Geneviève Jeanson (Can) RONA. 0:44

36. Deidre Demet-Barry (USA) Mixte Basis Aude T-Mobile, 1:00
55. Amy Moore (Can) Canadian National Team, 3:27
98. Manon Jutras (Can) Team S.A.T.S., 8:22
103. Nicole Demars (Can) Canadian National Team, 8:30
115. Katherine White (Can) Mixte Basis Aude T-Mobile, 12:27


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.