Canadian Cyclist


April 26/04 12:00 pm - Blizzard Bike Club News

Posted by Editoress on 04/26/04

Blizzard Bike ClubFort St. John, BC
Courtesy Pat Ferris

April 25th

Stephen Ferris edged out Mike Hientzman in a close sprint finish, Sunday, to win the Cecil lake 40 km event. Pat Ferris was a few lengths back in third. They had a time of 1:13:56 hours. Roger St. Jean was 4th at 1:15:18. Sam Keats edged out Tessa Bilodeau by a few inches at the line to win the bunch sprint for 5th at 1:17:32.

Nineteen riders started the race under very windy conditions. The pack stayed together until the 10 km mark. Gord 'The Hammer' Harris pulled away for a lead that lasted until the 20 km turnaround. The pack caught him and regrouped.

The pack stayed together in the fierce headwind until about the 30 km mark. Mike Hientzman and Stephen Ferris pulled away to from a good lead. Pat Ferris and Roger St. Jean managed to bridge the gap. The four developed a good lead, from there.

Roger St. Jean was dropped in the last few kilometers after an acceleration on the Trans-Pine hill. Mike Heintzman lead out a few attacks, then lead out the sprint. Stephen Ferris came around him on the sheltered side for a half-length sprint win. Pat Ferris was a few lengths back from them. They had a time of 1:13:56.

Roger St. Jean had 4th at 1:15:18. Sam Keats held off Tessa Bilodeau to get the 5th place sprint at 1:17:32. Gary Hilderman came in a few seconds later for 7th. Ross Garbutt beat Gord Harris in the sprint for 8th at 1:17:54. Keith Koebel came in a few seconds later for 10th. Steve Sparling had 1:18:24. Adam Currie edged out Mark Demkiw and Lisa Verbisky for 12th at 1:23:25. Trisha Gladysz had 1:34:18, Jack Gladysz 1:37:36 and Darren Guliov fixed a flat tire and came in with 1:37:56.

Tania Bell and Cayle Bell each 1:12:58 hours for the 20 km event.

Coming Up: Thursday night Baldonnel time trial at 6:30 pm.

Sunday is the 21st running of the 15 Mile Time Trial Blizzard Trophy, at Pineview. The Phoenix Trophy for Women and the Under 19 trophy available for the Juniors.

Mike Hientzman and Stephen Ferris will certainly be after the Blizzard Trophy. Pat Ferris has won this event eleven times but has not won since 2000. Tessa Bilodeau and five time past winner Lisa Verbisky will vie for the Phoenix.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.