Canadian Cyclist


June 1/04 12:17 pm - Tour du Grand Montreal: Stage 2

Posted by Editoress on 06/1/04

Tour du Grand Montréal Montreal

Stage 2: Petite Italie Criterium, 50 km
report by Giana Roberge

The second stage of the Tour of Montreal was held in a dynamic area of Montreal called Little Italy. The perfect setting for a downtown criterium, the course was one kilometer of flat and fast bumpy roads. The crowd was huge, with the noise level making it almost impossible for the riders to hear the orders from their directors on the race radios.

There was a Leader's Jersey at stake, with the morning stage winner's lead being less than a second. Tina Mayolo Pic and her Genesis Scuba Team had their work cut out for them defending the slight lead over T-Mobile's Dede Demet Barry and Quark's Lyne Bessette - both very good criterium riders in the their own right. Only three seconds behind Mayolo was also Petra Rossner, and with only a three second gap to the lead and nine seconds of bonus seconds, Rossner could have yellow by night's end.

The race began fast and furious with a series of attacks from the Rona and Quark Teams. However, with such a high caliber field, there was plenty of horse power to keep any breaks in check. The $100 and $200 primes kept the pace high, and by the end, as the bell kept ringing it was clear a field sprint would be inevitable.

Having captured the mid-way time bonus sprint for three seconds over Mayolo, Rossner has the lead in her sites. With two laps to go, her Nurnberger teammate, Judith Arndt went to the front and strung the field to the breaking point. Coming out of the final corner, Rossner jumped hard on the pedals, clearing the field. Regina Schleicher (Safi-Past Zara Manhattan) tried to come to terms with the German, but she was unable to close the gap. Rossner had plenty of time to celebrate her victory as she soared across the line.

Rossner's win of both the stage and the midway time bonus moved her into the lead, however, tomorrow's 120 very hilly road race will certainly test her climbing abilities, and may compliment her teammate Arndt. Bessette is not far behind Rossner, and Demet Barry is still well within striking range. With tomorrow's forecast for wet and cold, the stage promises to be yet another showdown in the roads of Montreal.

1. Petra Rossner (Ger) Nurnberger Versicherung 1:09:38
2. Regina Schleicher (Ger) Safi-Pasta Zara Manhattan  
3. Anita Valen (Nor) Team S.A.T.S.  
4. Magali Le Floch (Fra) Quark Cycling Team  
5. Annette Beutler (Sui) Équipe Internationale  
6. Oenone Wood (Aus) Équipe Nationale d'Australie  
7. Mari Holden (USA) T-Mobile Professional Cycling Team  
8. Audrey Lemieux (Can) Quark Cycling Team  
9. Anna Gusmini (Ita) Nobili Rubinetterie Guerciotti  
10. Nicole Freedman (Isr) Basis Aude  
11. Charlotte Goldsmith (GBr) Équipe Nationale de Grande Bretagne  
12. Kori Kelly (USA) Genesis Scuba/FFCC  
13. Alison Wright (Aus) Nobili Rubinetterie Guerciotti  
14. Katy St-Laurent (Can) Basis Aude  
15. Andrea Graus (Aut) Équipe Internationale  
16. Anna Zugno (Ita) Safi-Pasta Zara Manhattan  
17. Julie Hutsebaut (Can) Équipe du QuÉbec  
18. Lara Kroepsch (USA) T-Mobile Professional Cycling Team  
19. Laura Val Gilder (USA) Genesis Scuba/FFCC  
20. Amber Neben (USA) T-Mobile Professional Cycling Team  
21. Katrina Berger-Grove (USA) Équipe Cycliste RONA  
22. Amy Moore (Can) Quark Cycling Team  
23. Modesta Vzesniauskaite (Ltu) Safi-Pasta Zara Manhattan  
24. Chrissy Ruiter (USA) Basis Aude  
25. Candice Blickem (USA) Genesis Scuba/FFCC  
26. Tina Mayolo-Pic (USA) Genesis Scuba/FFCC  
27. Julie BÉlanger (Can) Équipe Nationale du Canada Developpement  
28. Judith Arndt (Ger) Nurnberger Versicherung  
29. Pauline Frascone (USA) Basis Aube  
30. Anne Samplonius (Can) Équipe du QuÉbec  
31. Lyne Bessette (Can) Quark Cycling Team  
32. Erinne Willock (Can) Équipe Cycliste RONA  
33. Diana Ziliute (Ltu) Safi-Pasta Zara Manhattan  
34. Olivia Gollan (Aus) Équipe Nationale d'Australie  
35. Daniela Fusar Poli (Ita) Nobili Rubinetterie Guerciotti  
36. Meredith Miller (USA) Team S.A.T.S.  
37. Laura Yoisten (Can) Équipe Nationale du Canada Developpement  
38. Teodora Ruano Sanchon (Esp) Équipe Nationale d'Espagne  
39. Geneviève Jeanson (Can) Équipe Cycliste RONA  
40. Kim Anderson (USA) T-Mobile Professional Cycling Team  
41. Catherine Marsal (Fra) Nobili Rubinetterie Guerciotti  
42. Sigrid Corneo (Ita) Nobili Rubinetterie Guerciotti  
43. Arantzazu Azpiroz (Esp) Équipe Nationale d'Espagne  
44. Susan Palmer-Komar (Can) Genesis Scuba/FFCC  
45. Dede Demet-Barry (USA) T-Mobile Professional Cycling Team  
46. Christina Peick-Anderson (Den) Team S.A.T.S.  
47. Iosune Murillo Elkano (Esp) Équipe Nationale d'Espagne  
48. Maribel Moreno (Esp) Équipe Nationale d'Espagne  
49. Margaret Hemsley (Aus) Équipe Nationale d'Australie  
50. Christine Thorburn (USA) Webcor Cycling Team Composite  
51. Helen Kelly (Aus) Équipe Cycliste RONA  
52. Rachel Heal (GBr) Équipe Nationale de Grande Bretagne  
53. Katheryn Curi (USA) Équipe Cycliste RONA  
54. Zita Urbonaite (Ltu) Safi-Pasta Zara Manhattan  
55. Jeannie Longo_Ciprelli (Fra) Équipe Internationale  
56. Manon Jutras (Can) Team S.A.T.S.  
57. Leticia Gil Parra (Esp) Équipe Nationale d'Espagne  
58. Trine Hansen (Den) Team S.A.T.S.  
59. Kym Shirley (Aus) Nobili Rubinetterie Guerciotti  
60. Catherine Hare (GBr) Équipe Nationale de Grande Bretagne  
61. Michelle Beltran (USA) Webcor Cycling Team Composite  
62. Joan Davies (USA) Webcor Cycling Team Composite  
63. Émilie Roy (Can) Quark Cycling Team  
64. Barbara Heeb (Sui) Équipe Internationale  
65. Kele Hulser (USA) Basis Aude  
66. Megan Elliott (USA) Quark Cycling Team  
67. Alicia Genest (USA) Verizon Wireless Wheelworks  
68. Élisa Gagnon (Can) Équipe du QuÉbec  
69. Felicia Greer (Can) Webcor Cycling Team Composite  
70. Jessica Phillips (USA) Nurnberger Versicherung  
71. Grace Fleury (USA) Genesis Scuba/FFCC  
72. Leah Toffolon (USA) Verizon Wireless Wheelworks  
73. Madeleine Lindberg (Swe) Nurnberger Versicherung  
74. Emily Sandwith (Can) Équipe Nationale du Canada Developpement  
75. Hiroko Shimada (Jap) Webcor Cycling Team Composite  
76. Tara Ross (Can) Équipe Nationale du Canada Developpement  
77. Anna Milkowski (USA) Équipe Cycliste RONA  
78. Dotsie Cowden (USA) T-Mobile Professional Cycling Team  
79. Yulia Razenkova (Rus) Safi-Pasta Zara Manhattan  
80. Naiara Telletxea Lopez (Esp) Équipe Nationale d'Espagne  
81. Monika Schachl (Aut) Équipe Internationale  
82. Caroline Montminy (Can) Équipe du QuÉbec all s.t.
83. Marie-Pier BÉdard (Can) Équipe Nationale du Canada Developpement 3:19
84. Janine Verstraeten (USA) Verizon Wireless Wheelworks 3:59
85. Rhonda Guzda (Can) Équipe Nationale du Canada Developpement 6:57
DNF. Pauline Frascone (USA) Basis Aube  
DNS. StÉphanie Bourbeau (Can) Équipe du QuÉbec  
DNS. Louise Yaxley (Aus) Équipe Nationale d'Australie  


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.