Canadian Cyclist


June 11/04 7:11 am - Victoria Cycling League, Blizzard Bike Club Report

Posted by Editoress on 06/11/04

Victoria Cycling League Newton Heights, June 9th
Courtesy David McKinney

A-18 laps
1. Nick Rowe (Bayside)
2. Craig Richey (UVIC Tri)
3. Daniel Goncalves (Trek)
4. Kevin Morrison (Team Coastal)
5. Scott Martin (Oak Bay Bikes)
6. Eric Holland (Bow Cycle)
7. Chris Reid (Oak Bay Bikes)
8. Ryan McNamara (Team Coastal)
9. Chuck Detheridge (Sidney Velo)
10. Vinko Podroguvac
11. David Hillhorst (Oak Bay Bikes)

B-15 laps
1. Andrew McCartney (Victoria Wheelers/Oak Bay Bikes)
2. Steve Mikleus
3. Leithen McGonige
4. Eric Gowland (Victoria Wheelers/Oak Bay Bikes)
5. Matt Pucsek (Victoria Wheelers/Oak Bay Bikes)
6. Robin Gwynne (Victoria Wheelers/Oak Bay Bikes)
7. Scott Dagnall (Victoria Wheelers/Oak Bay Bikes)
8. Luke Sunderland (Victoria Wheelers/Oak Bay Bikes)
9. Shawn Litster (Rider Cycles)
10. Jeff Clarkson (Teen Speed)
11. Matt Bartilucci (AMC)
12. Paul Brend (Peninsula Plodders)

1. Alena Radomsky (Oak Bay Bikes)
2. Kirsten Sweetland (Victoria Wheelers/Oak Bay Bikes)
3. Skye Larlee (Victoria Wheelers/Oak Bay Bikes)
4. Sonya Reuter (Victoria Wheelers/Oak Bay Bikes)
5. Micheline Ouimet (Soliton)

Blizzard Bike ClubFort St. John, BC
Courtesy Pat Ferris

June 10th

Stephen Ferris put in a 'super' performance, on the Baldonnel time trial circuit, Thursday night. Despite the wind he turned in a time of 24:55 minutes, almost a minute ahead of second place Pat Ferris who did a 25:43. Rod "the Rocket' Lewis did 26:14 for third and Ed Fornelli 28:08 for 4th. Keith Koebel had 29:03 for 5th.

Tim Gladysz had 29:35 for 6th, Kevin Sparling 30:53 for 7th, Ken Nix 30:54, Richard Wood 30:56 and David Ferris 31:39 for the top ten times.

Steve Sparling had 31:50 for 11th, Adam Currie 31:52, Jack Gladysz 32:26, Barb Polehoykie 33:13, Matt Sparling 34:02, Trisha Gladysz 34:40, Owen Giebelhaus 35:33 and Dawn Gladysz 45:26.

Val Lewis won the 8 km with 15:32. Debbie Gardiner 16:14 for second and Marg Evens 16:50 for third. Patricia Emery had 18:57 and Cayle Bell 19:29.

Fort St. John is hosting the seventh annual Tri-Co-op Triathlon, this Sunday. Over 70 triathletes from all over the Peace Country will attend this Sprint Distance event. Event organizers have been working hard on this event since January.

This event started back in 1998, on a Saturday, with 73 competitors out in the baking hot sun for a 1 km swim, 26 km bike and a 7 km run. That year, only five competitors were from out-of-town. That number has increased to the point where half the competitors are from other towns. Local Duncan Banks was the overall winner in 1998.

Seventy athletes took part in 1999. This event was, coincidentally, held on June 13th, same as this 2004 version.

Pro-Triathlete Joe Radench of Grande Prairie made his first appearance in 2000. He easily won with a time of 1:24:03 hours. That time was nine minutes faster than second place Steve Patterson of Grande Prairie. Lisa Verbisky of Fort St. John won the Women's that year. She went on to also finish two Penticton Ironman events.

Gruesome weather plagued the 2001 edition. The cold rain fell and the wind blew, chilling all competitors. Duncan Banks was the fastest man and Lisa Verbisky won the Women's.

Joe Radench was the dominator in 2002 with a win of 1:22:24, ten minutes faster than second place Vaughn Hildebrand of Fort St. John.

There were 73 competitors in 2003 and a new bike course featuring a circuit and no train! Dale Tuck of Grande Cache won with 1:10:45 hours, edging out Vaughn Hildebrand by 5 and half minutes. Sandra Bertrand of Dawson Creek won the women's with 1:36:25.

Race time is 9:00 am Sunday morning from the swimming pool. Athletes will go from the end of their swim to their bikes in the pool parking lot, near the west side door exit. They cycle out of town and out to Baldonnel and return to the pool. They leave their bikes for a run around the North Peace High School side of town to finish in the North Peace Rec. Center parking lot.

Check out for more information.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.