Canadian Cyclist


July 10/98 2:43 am - Stage 10 Giro d'Italia Femminile, Linda Jackson falls

Posted by Editor on 07/10/98

Stage 10 Giro d'Italia Femminile- Bibione to Bibione (97.4km)

At Bibione, another brilliant sprint for Wilson
Jackson falls and loses precious seconds

(story courtesy Nica Lewis, Press Officer for the Tour)

Anna Wilson won her third stage in this Giro d‚Italia, but her umpteenth sprint finish was overshadowed by a crash that included Canadian Linda Jackson, second in the overall rankings behind Fabiana Luperini. With four km to go, a crash shattered the main group, which was cruising at high speed towards the finish line. The pink jersey, Luperini, was untouched, but her closest followers, Jackson, Heeb and Pucinskaite lost time.Jackson, in particular (who reached the finish 36 seconds after Wilson) landed hard on her hip, causing a bruise that might seriously affect her chances for tomorrow‚s stage.Fabiana Luperini is counting the hours until the climb in Tambre (in the foothills of the Dolomites), that will probably decide the result of this spectacular Giro d‚Italia. After Thursday‚s stage at Pordoi Pass, where the Tuscan rider took back the pink jersey, the destiny of the Giro hangs on the 45 seconds that were separating the 40-year old Canadian, Linda Jackson of Saeco-Timex from Luperini. But today‚s stage may have reduced that Canadian‚s hopes, who now follows with 1:21.

With tears in her eyes, Jackson said, "I‚m really disappointed. This is the second time that I lose time for reasons not related to my abilities. My back really hurts."In any case, honor for Anna Wilson, the true sprint queen of this Giro. "The race was really fast. I was in the lead group of ten and heard the crash behind me. I wasn‚t sure who was involved. My team mates worked well for me. Kristy Scrymgeour led me out of the final turn. Sara Felloni was on her wheel and, with 200 meters to go, I took off on the left while Felloni went on the right. On the finish line, I didn‚t raise my arms because I thought Felloni and Zocca were right there. I didn‚t realize that Zocca was slowed down by the crash."

All eyes are on tomorrow, for the last act of the Luperini-Jackson contest -- unless there‚s unhappy news from Saeco-Timex‚s medical team

The 11th stage, 97.3 km from Longarone to Tambre, is replete with challenges: there are three Gran Premi di Montagna: the first at Pieve d‚Alpago (676m - 2000 ft), after 32 km, the second at St. Anna Pai (km 51,5 at 1044m ˆ 3100 ft) and third, the toughest, Broz, two km from the finish at Tambre (965m ˆ 2900 ft). The climb to Broz is described as the most difficult ever encountered in women‚s cycling, comparable to the Mortirolo, even though it is seven km shorter than the most famous peak in the Men‚s Giro d‚Italia. It rises 565m (1695 ft) in seven km.

Already for several days now, Fabiana Luperini has been saying that Tambre was going to be "her" stage. And one can be sure that the pink jersey she wears won‚t lessen her intention to attack in her classic style.

Stage 10

1 Wilson Anna (Australia) 92 km in 2:14:46, 40.960 km/h
2 Pregnolato Gabriella (Ita, Mimosa Sprint)
3 Felloni Sara (Ita, Edilsavino) s.t.,
4 Faccin Cinzia (Ita, Mista Verde) s.t.;
5 Longhin Katia (Ita, Fanini Record Rox)
6 Stahurskaia Zinaida (Blr, Mista Verde).7 Chevanne Brunel Elisabeth (Ita, Fanini Record Rox)
8 Pryde Susy (Nzl, Saeco-Timex).
9 Saprykina Oksana (Ukraina)
10 Cappellotto Alessandra (Ita, Acca Due O Lorena) all s.t.

1 Luperini Fabiana (Ita, Mimosa-Sprint) 945.3 km, 24:43:55
2 Jackson Linda (Can, Saeco-Timex) at 1:21
3 Heeb Barbara (Sui, Acca Due O Lorena) at 2:48
4 Pucinskaite Edita (Ltu, Acca Due O) at 4:45
5 Cappellotto Alessandra (Ita, acca Due O Lorena) at 4:47
6 Bandini Barbara (Ita, Edilsavino) at 4:59
7 Somarriba Joana (Esp, Vittorio Veneto Sprint) at 5:14
8 Sundstedt Pia(Fin, Mimosa Sprint) at 6:01
9 Chiappa Imelda (Ita, Edilsavino) at 6:43
10 Polkanova Valentina (Rus, Edilsavino) at 8:09


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.