Canadian Cyclist


July 2/04 9:10 am - Blizzard Bike Club Report

Posted by Editoress on 07/2/04

Blizzard Bike ClubFort St. John, BC, July 1st

Pat Ferris won the Baldonnel time trial, Thursday night, with a time of 24:55 minutes. Ed Fornelli did 26:21 minutes to edge out Gilbert Bilodeau by three seconds for second place. Tim Gladysz was 4th at 26:30 and Kevin Sparling 5th at 27:18.

Keith Koebel 6th at 28:04, Dean Lowry was 7th at 28:19, Matt Sparling 28:34, Kevin Fell 29:07 and Tessa Bilodeau 29:42 to round out the top ten times.

Ken Nix had 29:44 for 11th, Steve Sparling 30:07, Adam Currie 30:18, Jack Gladysz 30:36, Lisa Verbisky 30:37, Trisha Gladysz 30:55, Bob Snow 31:48, Jolea Bilodeau 33:35, Debbie Gardiner 37:40, Joseph Gladysz 39:06, Adam Bilodeau 37:42, Marg Evens 39:09 and Dawn Gladysz 40:01.
Patricia Emery won the 8 km event with 18:58 and Tyler-Jason Holland did 22:08 for second spot.

Local triathletes did well in the Fort Nelson Triathlon, last weekend. Tyler Baruta of Dawson Creek was the men's overall winner with Barb Polehoykie of FSJ winning the Women's overall. Dean Lowry won the Men's 40-50, Ed Fornelli 1st in 50-60, Lisa Verbisky 2nd 30-40 and Keith Koebel 2nd in 20-29. Ross Garbutt had an injury and was unable to finish.

Dean Lowry, Gord Harris, Barb Polehoykie and Ross Garbutt are off to do the 'Great White North' half Ironman triathlon, this Sunday, in Edmonton.

Sunday is the 20th running of the S & S Turbines Time Trial Championships. Riders will complete a 16 km time trial and a 40 km one hour later. Best combined times win the day. Top locals such as past winner Mike Hientzman and Stephen Ferris will compete with Prince George's Doug Dewar for the title of fastest time trialer.

Sign on is at 9:30 am from the Cecil lake Hall.

Blitz at Nationals

we came...we saw.....we dehydrated....but had a lot of fun!

Five Blizzard Bike racers rode the National Cycling Championships with 300 other cyclists from all over the country, in Kamloops, this past weekend.

Rod Lewis, Robert Martens, Pat Ferris, Stephen Ferris and Mike Hientzman lived in the hot and fast lane. Events were run in temperatures of 38 degrees.

Thursday's time trial was the hottest and toughest. Pat Ferris had a 41:17 minute 25 km for 15th place in Masters 'C'. Rod Lewis had a 43:33 minute 25 km race for 27th place in Masters 'B'. Stephen Ferris did 50:29 minutes for 30 km for 44th place in Espoirs.

Fridays' road races were very hot but the locals were getting somewhat acclimatized. The circuit featured numerous laps of a hill something similar to the west side of the Beatton hills. Mike Hientzman had an excellent 21st place finish in the Masters "A" class with a time of 4:11:29 hours for the 147 km. distance. He was in contention in the pack until the final lap. Rod Lewis made his 126 km distance for 49th place in Masters B. Pat Ferris had 2:44:01 hours for the 84 km Masters 'C' race, in 28th spot.

How hot was the road race? Even the locals said it was very hot and they are used to it! Pats' handle bar tape started unraveling after the glue melted in the heat. The leading Junior girl was pulled by her coach after she dehydrated badly when she looked like it was her race to win.

Saturday's criterium circuit race was held downtown, also in the heat. Stephen Ferris was lapped in the Elite/Pro race. Robert Martens and ex-Blizzard Dan Wood helped the Masters event be the best race of the day. Various riders tried their hand at breaking away and bringing them back. At the mid way point, a violent dust storm came up, blowing dirt and sand so hard that some riders came in covered with black soot. The wind blew so hard even wooden barriers were being blown over. It did not stop the racers, though. Robert Martens came in 7th in and exciting final sprint finish. Dan Wood was close behind Robert. Pat Ferris was lapped and out.

It was an amazing experience for all the riders. The Kamloops organization did an excellent job and should be congratulated!


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.