Canadian Cyclist


July 19/04 11:19 am - CCA Announces Team for Athens

Posted by Editoress on 07/19/04

CCA Names Olympic Team for Athens
Courtesy CCA

Three-time World Champion Alison Sydor will lead a group of twelve athletes to Athens to compete in the Olympic Games next month. Sydor, a native of North Vancouver, BC, will be attending her fourth Olympics. She represented Canada at the 1992 Games in the Women’s Road Race where she finished 12th. In the 1996 Games in Atlanta, she competed for the first time in mountain bike and won the Silver medal. At the Sydney Games in 2000, she finished 5th. She has won an incredible 12 World Championship medals throughout her illustrious career. She was an automatic selection based on her outstanding resume of medal winning performances.

Joining Sydor on the start line for the women’s mountain bike event will be the 2004 National Champion, Marie-Helene Premont, of Chateau-Richer, QC and Kiara Bisaro of Courtney, BC. For both it will be their first Olympic Games experience.

In the men’s mountain bike event, Canada will be represented by the silver medalist from the 2003 Mountain Bike World Championships, Ryder Hesjedal, from Victoria, BC and Seamus McGrath, from Millgrove, ON, winner of the silver medal at the 2002 Commonwealth Games. For both athletes, it will be their first experience at the Olympic Games.

Lori-Ann Muenzer, from Edmonton, AB, will be Canada’s representative in Track cycling. The double medallist from the 2002 World Championships and winner of the bronze medal in the Sprint event from the 2004 World Championships will compete in the 500m Time Trial and the Sprint events. She is the defending National Champion in both events. She represented Canada at the 2000 Olympic Games in Sydney and finished 13th in the 500m Time Trial.

In the road events, Michael Barry, from Toronto, ON will lead the three-man team to Athens to compete in the Individual Road Race. Barry, who finished 7th at the 2003 Road World Championships will be joined by the 2004 Road National Champion, Gord Fraser, from Ottawa, ON and by Eric Wohlberg, from Levack, ON. For Barry, this will be the second time he has represented Canada at the Olympic Games, having participated in the Individual Road Race in 1996 in Atlanta. Fraser and Wohlberg will each be competing at their third Olympic Games. Both competed at the 1996 and 2000 Olympic Games. In 2000, Fraser finished 16th in the Individual Road Race and Wohlberg finished 20th in the Individual Time Trial.

In the women’s Individual Road Race event, the 2004 Road National Champion, Lyne Bessette, from Knowlton, QC, will lead the three-woman team to Athens. This will be her second appearance at the Olympic Games. She participated at the 2000 Olympic Games in Sydney, finishing 22nd in the Individual Road Race. Bessette will be joined by Susan Palmer-Komar, of Hamilton, ON and Manon Jutras, of Montreal, QC. Palmer-Komar, the 2004 National Time Trial Champion, will be attending her second Olympics. She finished 10th in the Individual Road Race at the 1996 Olympic Games in Atlanta. For Jutras, this will be her first Olympic Games experience.

Bessette and Palmer-Komar will also compete in the Women’s Individual Time Trial event in Athens.

Cycling’s coaching staff will be comprised of Yury Kashirin, of Victoria, BC and Eric Van den Eynde, of St. Bruno, QC. Michel Leblanc, of St. Nicholas, QC will serve as an assistant to both of them. Troy Woodburn, of Victoria, BC will fill the role of Team Mechanic. Sean O’Donnell, of Beaconsfield, QC, will act as Team Leader.

Trois fois championne du monde, Alison Sydor mènera un groupe de douze athlètes à Athènes pour participer aux Jeux Olympiques le mois prochain. Sydor, de Nord- Vancouver (BC), assistera à ses quatrièmes Jeux Olympiques. Elle a représenté le Canada en 1992 en course sur route chez les femmes où elle a fini 12ème. En 1996 à Atlanta, elle a participé pour la première fois en vélo de montagne et a gagné la médaille d'argent. Aux Jeux de Sydney en 2000, elle a fini 5ème. Elle a gagné 12 médailles aux Championnats du monde au cours de sa célèbre carrière. Elle était un choix automatique basé sur son ses performances exceptionnelles au niveau international. .

Sydor, qui se joignait sur la ligne de départ pour l'événement, à la championne nationale 2004, Marie-Hélène Prémont, de Chateau-Richer, QC et de Kiara Bisaro de Courtney, CB. Les deux en seront à leur première expérience aux Jeux Olympiques.

Dans l'événement de vélo de la montagne chez les hommes, le Canada sera représenté par le médaillé d’argent des Championnats du monde 2003 de vélo de montagne, Ryder Hesjedal, de Victoria, BC et du Seamus McGrath, de Millgrove, ON, gagnant de la
médaille d'argent aux jeux de Commonwealth 2002. Pour les deux athlètes, ce sera leur première expérience aux Jeux Olympiques.

Lori-Ann Muenzer, d'Edmonton, AB, sera la représentante pour le Canada sur la piste. La double médaillée des Championnats du monde 2002 et gagnante de la médaille de bronze dans l'événement de Sprint aux Championnats du monde 2004 participera
à l’épreuve du contre la montre de 500m et dans le Sprint. Elle est la championne nationale défendante dans ces deux épreuves. Elle a représenté le Canada aux Jeux Olympiques 2000 à Sydney et a fini la 13ème dans l'épreuve de la contre la montre 500m.

Dans les événements sur route, Michael Barry, de Toronto, ON mènera l'équipe de trois hommes à Athènes pour participer à la course individuelle de route. Barry, qui a fini le 7ème aux Championnats du monde 2003 de route sera joint par le champion national de route 2004, Gord Fraser, d'Ottawa, ON et par Eric Wohlberg, de Levack, ON. Pour Barry, ce sera la deuxième fois qu'il a représenté le Canada aux Jeux Olympiques, ayant
participé à la course individuelle de route en 1996 à Atlanta. Fraser et Wohlberg participeront chacun à leurs troisième Jeux Olympiques ayant particpé aux Jeux Olympiques de 1996 et 2000. En 2000, Fraser a fini 16ème dans la course
individuelle de route et Wohlberg a fini 20ème dans l'épreuve individuelle contre la montre.

Dans la course individuelle de route chez les femmes, le champion national de route 2004, Lyne Bessette, de Knowlton, QC, mènera l'équipe de trois femmes à Athènes. Ce sera sa deuxième participation aux Jeux Olympiques. Elle a participé aux Jeux
Olympiques de 2000 à Sydney, finissant le 22ème dans la course individuelle de route. Bessette sera joint par Susan Palmer-Komar, de Hamilton, ON et Manon Jutras, de Montréal, QC. Palmer-Komar, le champion national contre la montre 2004, assistera à ses
deuxièmes Jeux Olympiques. Elle a fini le 10ème dans la course individuelle de route aux Jeux Olympiques 1996 à Atlanta. Pour Jutras, ce sera sa première expérience de Jeux OIympiques.

Bessette et Palmer-Komar participeront également dans l'événement contre la montre individuelle des femmes à Athènes.

Les entraîneurs de l’équipe national Yury Kashirin, de Victoria, CB et Eric Van den Eynde, de St. Bruno, QC dirige l’équipe canadienne. Michel Leblanc, de St. Nicolas, QC servira comme adjoint. Troy Woodburn, de Victoria, CB remplira le rôle de mécanicien d'équipe. Sean O'Donnell, de Beaconsfield, QC, agira en tant que chef d'équipe.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2021 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.