Canadian Cyclist


July 1/97 22:20 pm - Nova Scotia and Ontario News

Posted by Editor on 07/1/97

Nova Scotia News The Nova Scotia Provincial Mountain Bike Championships will be held on July 5th and 6th (downhill on the 5th and XC on the 6th). For more information please contact Marc Kazmirski at (902) 798-8241 or visit your local bike shop. Cobourg Race Hello Canadian Cyclist, Thank you for all the great coverage of Canadian Cycling. It would be much appreciated if you could post our info on the August 2- 4 womens (all categories) and Vet A B C's stage race. The information follows: Thanks Rob Naish Saturday Aug 2 9:00 a.m. Sign in 40Km Crit in Cobourg (20 Km for the Women) 3:00 p.m. Sign on 16 Km TT in Casleton Sunday, Aug 3 9:00 a.m. Sign on 75 Km. Road Race in Warkworth 4:00 p.m. Sign on 7 Km TT in Warkworth Monday, Aug 4 9:00 a.m. Sign on 50 Km Road Race in Warkworth The Cobourg Cycling Club is proud to present a 3 day stage race for women and veterans. There are 5 stages, one criterium, two time trials and two road stages. Total distance of 190 Km (vets) and 170 Km. (women). The women and vets will ride separately for the criterium, and together for the road stages. Classification will be determined on a points basis, rather than time, and there will be separate classifications for vets and women. All the racing will take place in Northumberland county, with Warkworth being the main centre. The race is sponsored by Bicycles Plus in Oshawa. FEE: $90.00 before July 15, 1997 or $110.00 after Registration at Cobourg Motor inn Friday August 1st 8:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m. No Registration on Saturday August 2nd For further Info Call: Dave Naish (905) 372-9502 email: Website: Effingham Road Race, Ontario (thanks to Keith Davidge) Senior 1/2 1. Mark Walters (Jeep/Eagle) 2:10:55 2. John Powell (Woodbridge Italia) at 2:20 3. Jason Crookham 2:25 4. Darko Ficko (Woodbridge Italia) 2:59 5. Andrew Pinfolds 3:01 Women 1. Suzanne Rushton (Wolverine) 2:05:03 2. Kathleen Millar at 0:09 3. Linda Gilligan (Silent Sports) 0:14 4. Ann Turrin (Lakeshore) 0:32 5. Sophie Radecki 2:42 Veteran Men 1. Greg Cavanagh (Oak Velo CC) 1:32:15 2. Desi Desrochers (Schwinn Canada) at 0:02 3. Steven Narachek (Schwinn Canada) 0:11 4. Gary Cluett (Ziggy‚s) 5. Brad Day (Ziggy‚s) both s.t. Junior/Senior 3 1. Rob Rice (Timmins) S3 1:20:35 2. Peter Mazur (D‚Ornellas) Jun at 0:06 3. Josh Laieunesse (Polonius R.T.) JUN 0:14 4. John Treacy (Maple Leaf) Jun 5. Tamus Baumgartner S3 both s.t.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.