Canadian Cyclist


October 15/04 4:47 am - Giuseppe Ferrara Nominated for Award, Cycling BC Awards Athletes of the Year

Posted by Editoress on 10/15/04

Giuseppe Ferrara Nominated for Tourism Hamilton Award

Giuseppe Ferrara, one of the original bid founders for the 2003 World Cycling Championships to the city of Hamilton, has been nominated for the award of Sport Event Tourism Ambassador.

The award will be presented at the Annual Tourism Hamilton Awards of Excellence banquet on Wednesday, October 20th. The Gala event brings together many of Hamilton's tourism industry representatives to celebrate outstanding contributions to Hamilton's important and growing tourism industry. Hamilton's own glass artist, Shirley Elford, creates the prestigious award, The Golden Fountain, which provides the honoured recipients with a unique symbol of recognition for their achievements.

Tickets are available through Tourism Hamilton and may be ordered by phone at 905-546-2666.

Cycling BC's Athletes of the Year

Cycling BC honoured the top athletes of 2004 last night in Vancouver:

BMX Female Cyclist of the Year is Ridge Meadows' Paige Zarazun. Paige is the 2004 Canadian Champion and was second at the 2004 World Championships, for 10 Expert Girls.

BMX Male Cyclist of the Year is Ridge Meadows' Tory Nyhaug. Tory is the 2004 Canadian Champion and World Champion, 12 Expert Boys, in both 20" and cruiser classes. Tory adds these World Championship titles to his 11 Expert Boys World Championship of last year.

MTB Female Cyclist of the Year is Giant Canada's Danika Schroeter, who repeated as the Canada Cup Downhill Champion in 2004, having now swept an unprecedented 9 straight Canada Cups over the past 2 years. Danika was also 9th at the 2004 World Championships, Canada's best DH performance in at least 10 years.

MTB Male Cyclist of the Year is Neal Kindree, who swept all 5 races to capture the SISU BC Cup Cross-Country crown for junior expert men.

Road Female Cyclist of the Year is Trek-VW's Sara Neil, who dominated the SISU BC Cup Road Championships this year, winning the overall title by a large margin.

Road Male Cyclist of the Year is Symmetrics Cycling's Cam Evans, who prevailed to take the SISU BC Cup Road Championships crown in a hard fought series.

International Cyclist of the Year for 2004 is Alison Sydor, Canada's pre-eminent XC cyclist and perpetual motion machine, currently ranked the no. 3 XC woman in the world. Alison was 4th at the Athen's Olympics and 3rd at the 2004 World Championships. She finished in the top ten in all six World Cups that she entered in 2004 and had no fewer than 7 wins in NORBA and Swisspower Cup races this year, as well as capping her season by winning the prestigious Roc D'Azur.


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.