Canadian Cyclist


December 28/04 6:28 am - CC Awards Update, 'Cross World Cup, New Year's Day Rides

Posted by Editor on 12/28/04

CC Awards

There are less than four days left to vote for the Canadian Cyclist of the Year Awards. Currently, Lori-Ann Muenzer holds a slim 6 vote lead over Marie-Helene Premont in the Female Cyclist category, while Michael Barry leads Geoff Kabush by less than 40 votes among the Male Cyclists. In the Individual Performance category, it is Lori-Ann Muenzer with a commanding lead - nearly three-times as many votes as Charles Dionne in second place, with Marie-Helene Premont just behind Dionne in third.

Voting closes January 1st at Noon (EST). You can vote by clicking on the banner running throughout the website, or by clicking Here

'Cross World Cup #7 - Hofstade, Belgium

1 Sven Nys (Bel) Rabobank 1:03:23
2 Erwin Vervecken (Bel) Fidea Cyclo-cross team at 0:17
3 Enrico Franzoi (Ita) Saeco s.t.
4 Bart Wellens (Bel) Fidea Cyclocrossteam 0:35
5 Richard Groenendaal (Ned) Rabobank 0:47
6 Davy Commeyne (Bel) - Palmans 1:11
7 Ben Berden (Bel) Saey-Deschacht s.t.
8 Tom Vannoppen (Bel) - Palmans 1:25
9 Christian Heule (Sui) Stevens International Cyclocross Team
10 Wilant van Gils (Ned) Rietveld WTC wielerteam 1:33
11 Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Quickstep - Davitamon 1:40
12 Petr Dlask (Cze) Author Praha 1:50
13 Jiri Pospisil (Cze) Stevens International Cyclocross Team 2:02
14 John Gadret (Fra) Chocolade Jacques 2:06
15 Lars Boom (Ned) 2:40
16 Bart Aernouts (Bel) Rabobank 3:01
17 Gerben De Knegt (Ned) Bejan/AA 3:08
18 Vaclav Jezek (Cze) Author Praha 3:15
19 Francis Mourey (Fra) 3:20
20 Wim Jacobs (Bel) Fidea Cyclocrossteam 3:32
21 Kamil Ausbuher (Cze) Cyklo Team Budvar Tabor 3:40
22 Michael Baumgartner (Sui) 3:51
23 Zdenek Mlynar (Cze) AC Sparta Praha 4:13
24 Ondrej Lukes (Cze) Tatramleko 4:28
25 Ryan Trebon (USA) Kona/Clarks/LesGets 4:32
26 Arnaud Labbe (Fra) s.t.
27 Vladimir Kyzivat (Cze) Johnson Controls AS MB 4:55
28 David Derepas (Fra) 5:08
29 Steffen Weigold (Ger) 6:02
30 Tadeusz Korzeniewski (Pol) 6:10
31 Roman Peter (Sui) 6:15
32 Ralph Naf (Sui) 6:23
33 Eddy van IJzendoorn (Ned) s.t.
34 Jan Ramsauer (Sui) 6:27
35 David Rusch (Sui) 6:36
36 Jan Verstraeten (Bel) Saey-Deschacht 6:53
37 Martin Gujan (Sui) 7:01
38 Jean-Pierre Leijten (Ned) 7:08
39 Finn Heitmann (Ger) Stevens International Cyclocross Team 7:21
40 Joachim Parbo (Den) Cycling Aarhus
41 Martin Zlamalik (Cze) Cyklo Team Budvar Tabor both s.t.
42 Jody Crawforth (GBr) 7:28
43 Barry Wicks (USA) Kona/Clarks/LesGets s.t.
44 Jonathan Page (USA) Cervelo-HotTubes-Adidas-Mavic 7:53
45 Steve Chainel (Fra) 14:53
46 Anders Klinkby (Den) Vejen BC
47 Reto Matt (Ger)
48 Vaclav Metlicka (Svk) CK ZP Sport A.S.
49 Eric Tonkin (USA) Kona/Clarks/LesGets
50 Marco Bianco (Ita)
51 Mike Muller (Ger)
52 Tommy Nielsen (Den)
53 Gusty Bausch (Lux)
54 Peter Presslauer (Aut) Stevens International Cyclocross Team
55 Thorsten Struch (Ger)
56 Jens Reuker (Ger)
57 Tsujira Keiichi (Jpn)
58 Bruno Lafontaine (Can)
59 Greg Reain (Can)

Blizzard New Years Ride - Fort St. John, BC
Courtesy Pat Ferris

It is the 20th anniversary, Saturday, for the Blizzard Bike Club's annual New Years Day Ride. It will be leaving the A & W at 1 pm. This year's ride will be going out to Wim '1200 km' Kok's house, under, hopefully, decent winter conditions.

Jim Peltier and Tim Ferris started the New Years Day Ride back in 1984. It was a 'formal' event with tweed coats mandatory and road bikes optional but those were the days before mountain bikes. Mountain bikes and cyclo cross bikes have taken over as has warmer clothing. The tweeds and caps are history.

Some years have been colder than others. There was a very short ride done in the late 80's in -39 C. conditions. Others have not been quite so cold but were also short. 1985 was so sunny and warm the riders went out for a 40-kilometer ride. The weather was glorious so it was not much of a novelty ride at all.

The turnouts are generally from three to twelve cyclists depending on the weather and how desperate they are to get out for a mid-winter cycle.

Weather rumour has it that Saturday will be a balmy plus 5, which was better than last years' minus 25.

Meet at the A & W at 1 pm. Dress warm, please.

Note: If you have a New Year's Day ride taking place, let us know -


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2023 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.