Canadian Cyclist


February 15/05 11:02 am - 2005 Women's Prestige Cycling Series Announced

Posted by Editoress on 02/15/05

2005 Women's Prestige Cycling Series Announced

Organizers of the Women's Prestige Cycling Series have released the 2005 Series calendar. After a successful first year in 2004, the calendar will remain the same in 2005:

Mar 31 - Apr 3: PoolGel Redlands Bicycle Classic
June 8 - 12: Nature Valley Grand Prix
July 25 - 31: International Tour de `Toona
Sept 22 - 25: CD&P Bermuda Grand Prix

The CD&P Bermuda Grand Prix will again be a prize for the teams. The top ten teams following the International Tour de Toona will receive housing and a generous travel subsidy to attend this very popular event.

The Series' individual title will be up for grabs in 2005. Lyne Bessette, who won in 2004, appears to be out of the picture, due to a 2005 program that includes mountain bike racing and racing for a number of different road teams. Runner up Katrina Grove has retired from the sport, leaving third-place finisher Susan Palmer-Komar (Colavita/Cooking Light) as the highest placed rider returning to the Series. However, only 30 points separated third through sixth in 2004, which should make for a much tighter race in 2005. Also look for a challenge from Quark Cycling's new recruit Annette Beutler, winner of the Nature Valley Grand Prix's challenging Stillwater Criterium in 2004.

Gina Grain (Victory Brewing) returns as the defending champion of the sprint competition. Grain won handily in 2004, despite missing the Tour de Å’Toona. She'll face a stiff challenge from Quark Cycling's duo of Laura Van Gilder and Tina Pic. Ina Teutanberg (T-Mobile), who's returning from an injury that limited her 2004 season, may also be a contender.

There's no clear front runner for the Series' Best Young Rider competition. Kate Sherwin (Victory Brewing), winner in 2004, will be 26 in 2005 and so is too "old" for this division. Favorites include Bermuda Grand Prix champion Lauren Franges (Victory Brewing) and Erinne Willock (Webcor Builders), 2nd and 3rd in 2004, and 2004 World Junior silver medalist Rebecca Much (T-Mobile).

The team competition is also wide open in 2005. Equipe Rona dominated in 2004 but was disbanded at the end of the season. Teams that have already committed for 2005 include Quark Cycling, Victory Brewing, Webcor Builders, Ford-Basis Cycling, Colavita/Cooking Light, CRCA/Aquafina, TDS-Schwalbe and Team Diet Cheerwine.

For more information, visit or contact the Series coordinator at


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.