Canadian Cyclist


March 6/05 1:17 am - NORBA #1: Sydor and Kabush Repeat Wins in Short Track

Posted by Editoress on 03/6/05

NORBA #1 Boerne, Texas, USA
Courtesy USA Cycling

Round one of the NORBA National Mountain Bike Series continued today at Tapatio Springs Resort in Boerne, Texas. The rain held off as the pros lined up for the short track event, but the course got muddier as the day progressed. The victories were a repeat of yesterday's first stage with Canadians Alison Sydor and Geoff Kabush showing their strength for the wins.

The men's and women's fields were both packed full of seasoned pros, as the best of the best came out of winter hibernation this weekend for this first stop on the NORBA circuit. The women toed the line first for 20 minutes of pain. The long climbs caused the field to separate early, with an elite front group forming within five minutes. The elite pack included Mary McConneloug, Shonny Vanlandingham , Alison Sydor, Sue Haywood, Willow Koerber, Katerina Hanusova, Alison Dunlap, and Lyne Bessette. Koerber, Dunlap, and Bessette dropped off the back about halfway into the race and were unable to make contact again, despite impressive efforts.

With one lap to go, Sydor took off the front and opened a huge gap on the long climb before coming back around into the start-finish area. Hanusova fought to keep the pace, but the Canadian was too fast. Sydor took the win, just like she did in last season's NORBA opener in Waco. Hanusova claimed second place, while Mcconneloug earned third. Shonny Vanlandingham and Sue Haywood rounded out the podium in fourth and fifth.

"It's not really a technical course, but the climbs were significant," said Vanlandingham afterwards. "The muddy corners got wetter and wetter, but it was good. It made things exciting."

The men's event came down to a race between two powerhouses. Ten minutes into the contest, yesterday's time trial winner Geoff Kabush flew off the front along with Trent Lowe. Kabush let Lowe do the work, while Adam Craig managed to work his way up in the field in an attempt to bridge the gap. Craig became the leader of a chase group consisting of Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski, Brent Miller, and Barry Wicks. The chasers made a determined effort, but the two leaders couldn't be caught. Kabush saved his legs for the final stretch that saw him break away from Lowe to claim the victory.

Short Track

1. Geoff Kabush (Can) MAXXIS
2. Trent Lowe (Aus) Subaru-Gary Fisher
3. Adam Craig (USA) Giant Bicycles
4. Barry Wicks (USA) Kona
5. Brent Miller (Aus) WTB-Fox Shox-Santa Cruz

1. Alison Sydor (Can) Rocky Mountain Business Objects, 24:23
2. Katerina Hanusova (Cze) Luna, at 0:28
3. Mary McConneloug (USA) Seven Cycles, 0:30
4. Shonny Vanlandingham (USA) Luna, 0:33
5. Sue Haywood (USA) Trek VW. 0:34


Return to Canadian Cyclist homepage | Back to Top

 Privacy Policy | Contact | Subscribe to RSS Feed  | Logout
 © Copyright 1998-2022 Canadian Cyclist. All rights reserved.